Phone Scoop

printed September 17, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=685&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola PEBL U6

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.1
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 5678

Great Phone...Killer Design

 

May 14, 2007 by mtemplet

I love this phone. I bought it to replace my Nokia 6230. I thought that Nokia had the market on reception and voice quality...boy was I wrong. This phone sounds like a land line phone and I haven't dropped a call since I got it. It feels perfect in the palm of your hand and the rubber tactile feel is great.

Pros:
Great voice quality
above average battery life
USB charging(can plug into your comp to charge)
One-hand opening-spring loaded hinge
Voice dialing is AWSOME(no need to record YOUR voice...the phone recognizes it and you can edit it as well)
Tactile feel
Rounded edges-NO antenna to break either!

Cons:
No MP3
No SD slot and 5MB of memory ain't much!

OVERALL...a great phone packed with features and a look that makes a statement. Usually, you sacrifice looks for a phone and get no features. This PEBL packs a good one-two punch.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone

 

May 9, 2007 by reelizmpro

This was my first Motorola after using several Sanyo, Samsung phones. I love the design of the phone as well as the magnetic opening mechanism. Call quality is excellent as well with T Mobile in SoCal. Simple phone without too many gadgets. It's very easy to transfer pictures, ringtones to/from the computer using Motorola Phone tools. Using a single mini USB port for charging/data transfer/earset is a big plus.

Pros: Great look, good call quality, MP3 ringtones, feels solid/durable, good battery life, mini USB.

Cons: Internal LCD could have been bigger, no flash for camera, only 5MB memory, software leaves a lot to be desired (same as RAZR, etc).

I have to say that although I like this phone, it did start to act up on me after only 8 months. I started experiencing lagging and blank screens. Then one day both displays went out. Motorola honored their 1 year warranty and I got a new PEBL after 2 weeks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Nice Phone

 

Apr 8, 2007 by Kassie

I just got this phone Thursday and so far it's been great. Before i had the motorola V173, and this is a major upgrade. I bought the Pink Unlocked GSM from the motorola store to use with my cingular SIM card, and it works fine.

Pros:
-Nice design
-Really nice color pink
-Camera is good
-Nice to be able to take video's

Cons:
-5 MB is not enough space
-The outer display could be color...

Overall it's a nice phone, and i love it!! Highly recommended.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My PEBL Review

 

Apr 3, 2007 by LSK6453

I purchased a black PEBL U6 on ebay about 2 months ago after seeing a friend who had one.

My phone came with UK English on it and older firmware. With some reading on line, I was able to download the US English and most recent firmware. I got the phone up to date.

Overall, I love this phone. Having an Unlocked and UnBranded phone is awesome. Every single option is available to you to set as you wish. I highly recommend making sure you are on the most current firmware though. The UK settings did not allow the adjustment of several options, such as auto update of date and time. Once I was on the new firmware, I had everything.

One additional function which was kind of tricky to set up was MMS messaging. Once I got it functional, everything worked great.

Performance:

This phone has the best reception of any phone I have ever owned. Everyone says that I sound very clear on it. I use a M500 bluetooth headset almost 100% of the time and that works great.

I so baby the phone because the black attracts fingers prints, etc. The keypad especially gets greasy. I clean it every night and always carry the phone in one of those "ipod" socks from Apple.

I would recommend this phone to anyone who is not looking to use a phone for more than talking, texting, or taking an occasional picture.

I use this phone on Cingular as well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


not half bad

 

Mar 23, 2007 by phoneguru55

this phone is well ok..... if your looking for something cute this is the phone for you. network and reception wise NO this phone is horrible everything about it is worth nothing

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


WARNING about moto pebl

 

Mar 17, 2007 by tmssalesrep

Ok I work for t-mobile as an authorized dealer; I hate this phone with every fiber in my body. NOT my fav compatible and the magnate on the phone can de magnetize credit cards.

the hinge on the phone is flmsy amough other things, just not a good phone, stay away from moto nothing but head aches.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phon

 

Feb 27, 2007 by bo67

I have the unlocked version of the PEBL in fire red and use it on Cingular's network. Good to be back with Cingular after switching to and from Nextel or Sprint/Nextel, or whatever you prefer, for a while.

Pros:

1. Better signal than RAZR V3i in same locations.
2. Great looking phone.
3. Nice feel.
4. Very compact.
5. Reasonable price. ($145.99 direct from Motorola's website)
6. Good battery life.
7. One hand open feature.
8. Voice dialing.

Cons:

1. Earpiece could be louder.

Overall a great phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good basic phone at first, but NOT RELIABLE!!!

 

Feb 26, 2007 by brad85

I have had my PEBL for almost a year and I have loved it. It is a very basic phone as far as features go, which was perfect for me. I don't need e-mail or anything like that on my phone. I just need to make phone calls and text, and this phone was great for that.

However, Motorola has a history of shoddy technology that doesn't stand the test of time, and after using the PEBL for almost a year, I am sad to report that it is just another cool looking phone that will poop out on you after a little while.

I take very good care of my phone, never dropped it, never got it wet, re-power it every day, etc. But still, just within the past month, it has started acting very strange.

When I open the flip to answer a call, the phone will go completely blank, and sometimes the PEBL will even hang up on the caller. Also when I close the flip to end a call, the call won't end. The phone will be closed, but the person is still there. Even when I push the red bottom, the call won't end. The screen constantly freezes and I have to take the battery out just to turn the phone off and restart it.

My advice, stick to a Nokia. Nokia makes basic phones that don't have a tone of bells and whistles (just like the PEBL), but will last you FOREVER. Sure, it doesn't look as cool as the PEBL, but it is a much better investment for your money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good good

 

Jan 11, 2007 by connory2006

i really thought this was a good phone i was hoping for a 2megapixel camera tho but i like everything else.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not the phone you think it is!

 

Jan 4, 2007 by billyscope

This is just one mans opinion,Ive owned many I mean many phones being in the biz,but I the only negative thing that I can say about this phone is that the volume on the ear piece just doesn't get loud enough for me.I love the magnetic latch for you folks that are on the go and only have one hand to spare,I do often have people asking me if I'm in the office while in my car because of the noise reduction of this phone as opposed to my RAZR not enough memory but I can make do. I would recommend not passing a chance to check this one out while you can!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 5678

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1