Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=677&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-X475

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  23  

Average Ratings

3.39
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Great, stylish, compact phone

 

Jul 17, 2005 by pp212

I just bought this phone through T-Mobile as an upgrade from Motorola and I love it. By the way I am in New York City. This is not my first Samsung phone, I've had Samsung phones through Sprint PCS even before camera phones came out, and I love them. When I opened the account with Tmobile, I got the Motorola v180 for free (I hated it) and switched to an older model--Motorola t720i (which was ok, but I missed Samsung).

PROS:
1. Phone is a nice, small size
2. The design is really nice, no antenna so it's different
3. Ringers are loud, I don't have to strain to hear the ringer, even when I download a ringtone from T-Mobile
4. Menu is easy to navigate and scroll through.
5. I didn't have to read the manual to use it, the phone itself is pretty much self-explanatory.
6. Call reception is terrific, callers on the other line hear me perfectly and clearly, I can hear them perfectly and clearly. Honestly, from my experience with Samsung phones and Motorola phones, Samsung just seems to have more voice quality.
7. Haven't experienced any dropped calls yet probably because I'm in the tri-state area.

CONS:
1. when someone calls that is not in my phonebook, the telephone number they are calling from scrolls across the outside screen. It's annoying cuz I just want to see the number.
2. there is no regular standard ring, and the ringers that are defaulted in the phone aren't really great.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


shady hero

 

May 7, 2005 by screwyt

best basic phone i used thusfar. Reception not as good I would hope, but otherwise, every aspect of this phone is wonderful. Absolutely love the size! Love the size! Too bad no bluetooth!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not as good as I had hoped

 

May 6, 2005 by Dennis5900

PROs:
1. Tiny
2. Easy to flip open and view
3. Nice color screen
4. Robust "vibrate"
5. Hands-free earpiece volume good
6. Battery life great - charges up quickly
7. Hands-free can re-dial and answer and end calls. Nice, but makes the plug too sophisticated - see CON #4

CONs:
1. Flat keys make it impossible to dial by touch alone - Need to look at the keypad
2. Earbud falls out of my ear (never had a problem with other earbuds)
3. In car, hands-free mike picks up road noise. I've had to cup the mike in my hand next to my mouth for people to hear me. Can't use my nice Sony hands-free with X475 because of CON #4.
4. Non-standard hands-free socket. Few devices will work with it. Amazon.com says, "There's also a standard jack to accept universal hands-free headsets." - NOT true!
5. Ringer volume should be much easier to adjust than it is. Need to go into menus!
6. Sleekness is good, but almost TOO sleek - terrified I'll drop it someday. There's practically nothing to grip. Surfaces are smooth, slippery and rounded.
7. NO VOICE DIALING. Rep told me X475 was far superior to my Motorola C332, and that phone had voice dialing! This phone - a new, slick phone - should have voice dialing. A major drawback to X475 if you need to drive with it. www.mobiledia.com claims this phone has "voice commands", but 2 calls to carrier have confirmed no voice dialing.
8. Reception cuts in and out - particularly on the road - even in metro area, full battery. Don't know if it's X475 problem or carrier problem. Several miles north of Duluth > no reception at all.

DON'T CARE ABOUT:
Ring tones, IM, "T-Zones" / Internet capability, Games, No camera, No speakerphone Connectivity software.

OTHER:
Got a $10 holster - says "Sydney Harbour" on the belt clip. Great accessory! Keeps phone from getting scratched. I never worry about it falling off my belt. Phone is so small I almost forget I have it on me.

Carrier: T-Mobile
City: Minneapolis St. Paul metro area

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent Phone

 

Jul 12, 2005 by volkswgirl

I had a Motorola V300 that I was very pleased with, but I dropped it in the washer and needed a replacement fast. I spend 100 dollars on this phone mainly due to appearance. I didn't really use the camera on my motorola, so figured something basic but small would be good. I do like this phone, but rather disappointed in the following features:
No outbox on text messaging (huge for a text messaging freak)
Megatone sound quality is horrible
You can't put it on completely silent (has to be vibrate or ringtone (at least that i"m aware of so far))
My ringer doesn't work half the time

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


kick Ass phone!

 

Aug 16, 2005 by sportfan153

I've had this phone for about 2 weeks, and i must say its a great phone! I had recieved tyhis phone for free from t-mobile, and the first thing i noticed about it...Very small! But thats not a bad thing! Very very nice screen.

Pros:
Great size!
Great color screen!
menus are very easy!
Loud ringers!
Great ringers!
Good reception!
buttons are easy to push
Decent Battery Life!

Cons:
Non-Color outer lcd display
Will not download games!
Ear speaker kind of low sometimes.
No Speakerphone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great basic phone

 

Jul 5, 2005 by Degrassi929

the phone was purchased through a tmobile store in atlanta georgia, it was 100% free. no rebates to worry about which was nice. the reception is wonderful, and i love the way it works. the color screen might not be the best on the market, but its vibrant and does its job. i would recommend the phone to anyone who needs a cheap basic phone for tmobile.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE

 

May 14, 2005 by jerbar

I have had this phone for 1 week thru T-Mobil. It is an excellent phone. Ringers are very loud and menus are easy to use. Battery life is good. This is my fourth samsung phone and will continue to use only samsung phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

May 14, 2005 by xaxfoolxforxux

This is a wonderful phone.!I've had it for bout a month now and I have had no problems whatsoever.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Phone Rocks

 

May 2, 2005 by lnatividad

I have been a Samsung phone man for the longest. This phone feels solids, has a very clear and clear screen, and sounds great. I must say that I thought the internal antenna might loose some connectivity, but so far so good, I get signal everywhere. I had the e105 and this is a great upgrade since I do not need a camera phone. The size is another great feature, since there is no external antenna, it fits perfect in my suit and jean pockets. The clamshell design is flawless. I only recommend that the external display had color and also if there was a speakerphone, this phone will get a 5.0. Hopefully Samsung will include a speakerphone soon, but with no camera!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice phone for someone who doesnt need a lot of features

 

Apr 14, 2005 by snoogit

I had a Sony Ericsson t300, so this was a big upgrade for me. So far I like the keypad, its very responsive. I'm also liking the screen it is crisp, and clear and is easy to read. The supplied ring tones are rather bland, but if your the kind of person who likes custom ring tones, your going to be purchasing them anyways, which this phone supports all different types of ring tones.

Battery life is good, and it feels versatile

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2