Phone Scoop

printed November 26, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=668&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola V635

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.37
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 45678

First Take - Moto v635

 

Jul 5, 2005 by PDXMatt

Okay lets see here.

Pros:
* UI - Not having owned a Motorola in many years, I thought it might be confusing. Not at all.
*ITap - So intuitive. Again, never used, but caught on right away. T9 what?
*Build Quality - Superb. Metal casing and solid feel overall.
* Customizations - Is there anything that you cannot customize on this phone? Way cool.
*Ringers/Tones - Loud, crisp, clear. MP3 tones sound great.
* Media Player - Built in player works better than Java based app player.
* Camera - Great pics, but not as sharp as say the Sharp TM-150. (no pun)
*Bluetooth - I have seen the light. Wireless headset is the only way to go!
*Speakerphone - Loud and clear. People do not know I am using a speaker.
*Memory card - Very easy to transfer files. Tiny little cards are cool.

Cons:
*Browser - Odd and peckers at times.
*Screen - Perhaps I am spoiled to QVGA, but this one seems only average.
*Menu - Can be a bit laggy at times.

Overall, it's very nice so far. I did expect more from the camera, but again I am spoiled. Solidly built, stylish, and functional.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Everything you need

 

Jun 29, 2005 by billy906carlson

This phone is sweet. Its got everything. MP3 player, sharp camera,mobile internet,and bluetooth. The battery lasts an unusually long amount of time which makes it sweet. The speakerphone is very clear and makes it easy to talk on the go or when your doing something else. Overall great phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Almost Perfect!!!

 

Jun 16, 2005 by marco1707

This phone is one of the best that I have ever owned!! I really have only one complaint about the phone. The battery life could be better.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


No Problems Whatsoever

 

Jun 14, 2005 by FrankMP

Great phone.

Only comment and it is not a negative, is the accelerated battery usage when using Bluetooth.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The best phone I've ever owned

 

May 24, 2005 by chukcanuk

Actually only the second one I've had and the first was a Nokia freebie for signing up for my plan. None the less I'm impressed.
Good solid metal body,beautiful screen.
I paid with rebate) in exchange for a three year commitment to continue my relationship with Rogers in Hogtown.
Pro's
-great reception
-speaker phone and voice dial work really well
-easy to navigate menu
-Bluetooth
-32 mb memory
Con
The ONLY reason this does not get a five is that Motorola's connectors suck.My computer had trouble recognizing the phone. I'm sure it has to do with the connector from phone to cable. Charging it I feel like I'm going to break it every time I take it out. Throw away the cable and get a usb Bluetooth key.

The camera is 1.2 mega pixel but its a plastic lens and there is shutter lag. You can upload bigger photo's but the bigger size accentuates the camera's short comings.

MP3 player works well . Through the speaker it sounds like a cheap boom box.
The battery has not gone through three cycles yet. The first one was fast .the second was four days with LOTS of playing around.
I like it and recommend it.
If you decide to purchase it I highly reccomend getting Mobile Phone Tools from the American Motorola site. Its not on the Canadian one. Great for setting up your address book,transfering files and creating ringtunes from your mp3 collection.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Best Phone I've Ever Owned

 

Aug 5, 2008 by 1Misha

I know that this phone is a little old but it is still amazing even by today's standards IMO. I had it for about a year with.. T-Mobile I think.

The reception was AMAZING- I used to get service in basements and where no one else would.

The earpiece and speaker were plenty loud and clear

The UI, in style of the simple motorola Synergy UI (I think)-same as that on the RAZR V3's. Was very simple to use.

This phone also has a MicroSD (transflash) hot-swappable slot. Impressive I think for an older phone.

One of my favorite parts of the phone is the camera. Its 1.3 megapixel but the best part is that it takes pictures relatively quick. Even though the pictures are often a little blurry around the edges, they are great for the most part. Motorola cameras (as far as sub 3megapixel camera phones go) are the best. The pics might be a little blurry but the quality is overall very good and UNIFORM . On other phones, the pics come out extremely sharp or with purple around the edges or patches which look like theres oil on the lens. Many pics I took in daylight were of amazing quality and my current phone (samsung a707 with a 2MP camera) sucks compared to the v635. So if you're looking for a good camera phone which takes amazing candid shots- this is it!

I actually gave the phone to my dad after I got the samsung and regretted it. He's still using it and likes it.

I always wished that Motorola would continue its v-series phones (I used the v400 previously and also loved it). The higher v phones are really downgraded and ugly after the v635- they became low-end bottom line unfortunitely.

Conclusion- It's excellent as a phone, very very good as a camera, has a MicroSD slot, and looks good. If internet browsing and e-mail checking and all that mumbo jumbo doesn't interest you, then you will love this cell phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


solid phone

 

Feb 4, 2007 by zvadim

basically it's a v600 with some bugs ironed out, transflash slot, color outer display and vibe & ring at the same time. I've bought it on eBay unlocked & unbranded and have been using it with Cingular for about 2 years now.

Pros:
aluminum outer construction

good size screen

highly customizable (the web is full of info)
lots of features

mature OS with nice interface

Quad-band & Edge
"flash light"

Cons

shaky reception quality in mixed 850/1900 Cingular areas.

Some users will experience @^ voice mail bug that'll require them to become a phone flash & modify expert :)

Stupid power & data connectors that deteriorate with use. Standard USB would've been awesome.

if you store your phone book on the SIM card you can't have multiple phone numbers for one name

front face plate can slide off too easily at times.

Battery life should be better, I can't really go over two days w/out charging even with little use. Typically a "regular" user would have to charge it every night.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ok

 

Nov 5, 2006 by jaynalbu

Loved it. Programming was a pain in the rear. Tmobile tear level 3 is great for helping with this.
Con
Battery comes loose causing it to cut off.
Pros
Good battery life.
Very resourceful.
Does everything if you can get it programmed.

I would reccommend this phone.

Hope this helps!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The best thing going for on the go!

 

Jun 28, 2006 by w33rdst

When I got this phone I thought it was o.k. Then once I upgrade the software in the phone, the video camera can film as much the memory card permit. The speakerphone, earpiece, and ringer volume I turned up so I can hear it in loud places. Oh yeah I put Itunes on it. So now its a phone with real features! One more thing you can easily configure with any gsm network; just ask a tech!

The only con is nothing!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone!

 

Jun 23, 2006 by frankr_cma

Just got it from ebay, unbranded, works with Cingular in OK. Excellent reception, bluetooth is hassle-free, tons of features. Comparable to RAZR, SLVR and other top of the line phones. Great MP3s, fast EDGE, great battery life. What can I say? For $176 it's a no brainer.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 45678

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1