Phone Scoop

printed October 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=665&r=26171

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG VX-8100

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.68
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1...91011 12 131415...25

Poor!!

 

Jan 20, 2008 by joe1991

This phone was not a good one at all. The singal was very poor.... the phone went into repairs two times and LG did not fix it... it just kept rebooting. I did not have the phone for even one year....

Pros' MP3, Camra

Con's Always reboots, signal is poor, and the battery life is not great, it was too havey, felt like a brick......

over all I am so glad I do not have it anymore.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ewwww

 

Nov 20, 2007 by pimpofavms

its gross and it works terribly i hate this phone and as soon as my 2 yr is up im getting a new phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


MP3 Player what?

 

Nov 16, 2007 by Xotika

Ive had this phone for over 2 years now. Only becasue my mom wanted to be on my plan and well. . .verizon decided to renew my contract when she signed on. THe phone over all is okay. Nothing spectacular about it. But verizon, not so good. I used to work for a cell phone company and I have never been so displeased!

Pros: ~After being dropped a few times its still in tact.
~Sturdy phone
~Expandable memory

Cons: ~WHats an MP3 player for when MP3s are blocked unless you pay verizon a zillion more dollars to download theirs?
~Battery life, Ive gone through 4 batteries. I have to get a new one every 8 months.
~Bluetooth connects on and off.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GOTTA GET THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Oct 17, 2007 by cellphone_diva

I"LL BE HONEST; BEFORE THIS PHONE I WAS NOT AN LG FAN.THE 2000 WAS BORING, THE CHOCOLATE HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS,, BUT A TELUS DEALER TALKED ME INTO BUYING THE 8100- I LOVE THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT SOUNDS GREAT, IT HAS SO MANY BELLS AND WHISTLES - MOST OF WHICH I MAKE USE OF- I SHEDULE MY APPOINTMENTS, HAVE MANY NUMBERS ON SPEED DIAL, PLAY WITH MY VIDEO CAMERA- WHICH IF U HIT "LANDSCAPE" YOU GET A BETTER PICTURE IN PLAYBACK.
PHONE COMPLETELY CHARGED WITHING 30 MIN, - JUST AN AMAZING PHONE

I WOULD LIST THE CONS OF THIS PHONE, BUT THERE AREN"T ANY

LG YOU ARE FORGIVEN!!!!!!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good phone, B+

 

Jul 28, 2007 by xcanttouchthisx

well i've had this phone for about 2 years now and its starting to die out now because of my clumsyness
although its an overall good phone

Pros:

-VERY rugged, its been thrown against walls, dropped on pavement/concrete/tile/other hard surfaces, and still worked fine. lasted 2 years with abuse. =]

-camera takes good pictures in sunlight and you can see yourself in the front screen when taking a pic

-good speaker phone

-can play mp3 music out loud

-good for texting and the buttons are easy to feel and use

-has a screen to view text messages/missed calls on the front. you can even play music using just the front buttons

Cons: (im being very picky here)

-the mp3s cannot be organized, just listed, so if you have many its hard to find the one you want

- you cant use standard headphones for music

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


this phone was alright.

 

Jun 13, 2007 by leggrar

i got this phone last year and at first i thought it was so cool! it had a big screen, big keyboard for texting, HUGE speakers to listen to music, etc.

as the year went on, i was mistaken. first, if i used a picture that i took for a screen savor my phone would freeze and i'd have to take out the battery multiple times. also, whenever i'd go to look at my pictures, sometimes it wouldn't recognize my memory card and would say there were no pictures meaning i had to take out my memory card multiple times until the pictures showed up.

pro's:
+holds up. being a teenager, i drop my phone ALL THE TIME and it held up every time. never did it seriously break.
+good battery life. my first battery wasn't very good but i got a new one and i could go 4 days before i needed to charge it. [i text A LOT and don't talk a lot]
+good speakers. the speakers were huge meaning the music was good and if you put someone on speakerphone you could hear them.

con's:
+volume. when i'd be talking to someone, sometimes the volume would be very loud and other times, it'd be VERY quiet and i couldn't hear them.

hope this helped! :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone is horrible

 

Apr 26, 2007 by gritsec

I have this phone as well as other members of my family. I went through 4 of these phones before I switched to a motorola. Other members went through 3-4 before they decided to accept it for the bad phone it is.

Pros-

Not sure I can think of any

Cons
BATTERY LIFE (we've each been through at least 4 batteries on each phone)
smudges
sound-even when it's on the loudest volume, i can't hear the other person
can't use speakerphone when phone is closed
bluetooth option below par

Regardless of the issue, Verizon refuses to admit it's the phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


not bad, but not great

 

Mar 26, 2007 by jackson5

i rate this phone a 2.5 because it could def. be better, its my fathers phone but use it for texting and sending pictures, the phones memory is not good at all! but receives good reception in my house.

pros

1. good reception
2. loud when you are talking on it.

cons

1. bad camera
2. bad battery
3. Vcast doesnt work right

and for thoughs of you who are like, its not a 5 mega pixel cam. and blah blah blah shut your mouth haha if im paying money for a phone with a camera with a good rep. i want one!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Phone I Have Had

 

Mar 19, 2007 by kerrilee

This phone is probably my 4th phone and I have had the 8100 now for 2 years. My plan is coming up so I can get another one for free but I am going to keep this one forever as a back up. The only thing that is going wrong with it after 2 years is the battery life isn't very long anymore. I would recommend this phone to anyone that can be hard on phones but likes to have all the options most other phones have. The only bad thing I would have to say about this phone is that you can't have MP3 ringers or make your own, you have to buy them and some pictures don't turn out really good but it's only a 1.3 so I wasn't expecting much.
Other than that I have dropped this phone so many times I can't believe it still works! LG did a great job with this phone overall and my sister has the newer one (8300?) and that one has been just as good for her for the past 6 months that she has had it - since the 8100 has been discontinued.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Quite a capable phone

 

Mar 13, 2007 by sphinx13

I've had this phone for about a year now, and I'm just about to buy a Samsung SCH-A990. I've never really had any major problems with this phone, but there is definitly room for improvement.

Pros: Loud stereo speakers, nice crisp display, fairly large external display, mini sd card slot, and pretty good 1.2 mp camera.

Cons: Phone only allows you to record 15 seconds of video even with a gig sd card. Crappy verizon menu system, but that isn't LG's fault. The music player is sometimes slow.

Overall, it's a good phone, but I'm more of a technically oriented person than most, and I've never really been satisfied with the cameras on most phone. I'm hoping that the 3.2 megapixel camera on my next phone sufices.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1...91011 12 131415...25

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1