Phone Scoop

printed September 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=661

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-A570

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  79  

Average Ratings

3.15
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Exellent value if not looking for camera

 

Jun 8, 2005 by undone

This phone is very simular to the a670, a samsung video phone, and shares the same body style and feel. I like how sturdy, and well built the phone feels, and the small size is nice too.

The external screen is easy to read, in both dark and light conditions, due to its monochrome color, and the internal screen seems a bit better than the older a650, and has nice color saturation, viewing angle and contrast.

Buttons are easy to use, and the entire phone has a real sense of quality.

This phone runs 29.99 w/ 2 year agreement at Radioshack- a really great deal for this phone, especially for those not interested in a camera.

I recomend this to anyone who keeps their phone in their pocket (it has a nice small sleek design), and only uses it for talking, text messaging and light web browsing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nice!

 

Dec 29, 2005 by yeahright

Ok, this phone has no camera, no video, no speakerphone, no bluetooth, no vcast, no changeable faceplates. If any of those things are important to you then this phone is not for you. If you are like many and just want a sturdy solid phone without all the extras this is for you. Voice activated dialing, color display, EXTERNAL DISPLAY! That's it, no bells and whistles, just solid design and build quality with samsung reception. This is for people who had an lg 4400 and loved it or something similar and just want a cheap flip phone with the external display.

pros:
Solid feel
good dispaly
external display
samsung reception
price

cons
speakerphone would have been nice
only digital- no trimode
ugly color

Great for the price but looses points being all digital and offering no speakerphone, but still nice choice for any penny pinchers out there looking for a low end flip phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Basic but good

 

Feb 24, 2007 by moth

This phone is basic. Mine has had great sound and reception and battery life. Any model of phone will have duds and defective units and I'm sure this model is no different, but I have had no complaints.

Pros: Reception, earpiece volume, battery life were fine. It is a very simple phone which is what a lot of people seek.

Cons: You cannot set a differnt ringer for texts than you have for calls. It is a very simple phone which is what a lot of people don't seek.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid Phone

 

Feb 4, 2007 by Zambini

We are so sold on this phone, that even though it is discontinued and my husband's suffered a terrible fall, we replaced with the same model via an online auction.

PROS-
Solid reception - which was a VERY nice surprise. Usually only Nokia gets as good reception in our area
Solid build
Good battery life and charge time
Easy to read external screen
Easy to read internal screen
Easy to read display of battery life
Light to indicate Charge status during charging
Large numbers when dialing
Easy to use menus
Easy to use speed dial (just enter contacts in order you want speed dial assigned)

CONS -
wasn't quite tough enough to take a long distance fall to a cement floor while open. But, we'll forgive it that!
If you are in it for the tech gadgets, this probably isn't your phone, not even any games.

Too bad it was discontinued. But, they all are way too soon!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Extremely durable and reliable - Simply the best for your money!

 

Jan 5, 2007 by Jester

I absolutely love my a570. I've never owned a better phone than this; it's incredibly reliable and has a great battery life (charging from completely dead to full again takes less than an hour). I work as a nurse's aide at a hospital, and I have dropped it so many times that it should be in pieces - but there isn't even a single chip or missing part yet! My old Nokia lasted only three weeks "on the job" before it shattered.

There are no great features on this phone: No bells and whistles, no speaker phone, no camera, but there /is/ an external display - And it's the best phone I've had yet.

Plus, it was a steal at $10 with a two-year agreement.

, DEFINATELY worth it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


perfect score

 

Sep 10, 2005 by flawlessrhymes

if you want a phone with excellent RF, easy-ro-read external LCD, lightweight and durable, look no further. No, it does not have a camera. Not even a speakerphone. But crisp mic and nice clean earpiece, good battery life, easy to use in the dark. One of my friends has it and pines for a cameraphone, but i used to have one and never really used it. no bells and whistles, but it excels as a communication device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung SCH-A570 For MetroPCS

 

Sep 18, 2005 by jenncess

I really like this phone. It is a solid phone and yet very light. Although it does not have a speaker phone or camera, I do like the outside LCD screen. I have the Samsung X427, which I also like except for the same problems as above but the outside LCD screen does make a difference. I get great reception with the phone, where as with the Kyocera Rave and Audiovox 8900 those phones would not ring in my house. I have not had that problem with this phone. It does need better ring tones, and maybe a game or two. But I think if MetroPCS releases this phone it will sell well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


if you dont want much but derablity

 

Sep 17, 2005 by poethe2nd

well i am testing it too and i think for just a basic call out model it is ok i have had reption problems here and there but who doesnt,the ring tones already stored in the phone needs to be a bit better and louder when i have it in my pocket i can hardly hear it ring.i think if youdont have a expience buget and u want a derable phone this is the one for you,but with features its on a low number for me maybe like a 2.just say i wouldnt buy it over the nokia 6255i.but when it comes down to it i like the feel of the phone and size.just a little to simmular to the samsung a670.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Expensive Low-End Phone

 

Nov 4, 2008 by Overmann

I bought the metroPCS version back when they were new. Used it for two years. Here's what I think about it...

The Good
Phone is easy to use
Great battery life
Slightly better than average signal strength
Bright keypad
Voice Commands
Mobile Web

The Bad
No Speakerphone
Screen is heavy
Flip hinge cracks because of it
Integrated battery/door design
Memory is a pipette
Mobile Web is SLOW

The Result
The phone worked fine with an average of 700 minutes per month. However, its hinge design is not strong enough for the heavy display, and it felt overpriced for a basic phone that has no speakerphone mode!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


1st phone (BAD)

 

Jun 27, 2008 by braunder

US Cellular Version
PROS:
-easy to text on
-screen was bright
CONS:
-battery sucked
-service sucked
-no camera or speaker-phone
-always froze up
-to think and bulky
-no bluetooth
-no mem card slot
-no music player
-all ringers sucked

Compared to my last phone (the razr) IT SUCKED everything about the razr was alot better than this phone!!!!

And now i got the Razr2 and that is majorly better than both of the phones!! I recommend the Razr2 from US Cellular!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1