Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=646&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-P777

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.19
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Synchronizing PIM Data

 

Apr 17, 2005 by radiokbc

CONS:

I bought SGH-P777 mobile phone a few days ago since it has the capability to sync PIM(contacts, To-Do-Lists, etc) with PCs.

The manual also says that it can sync with PCs. It even came with a USB cable and a small program called Easy Studio II. The program, however, can only manage picture and video files, not PIM data.

In the manual, under Section 10:Personal Assistant, there is a separate part named, "Synchronizing PIM Data." It says, "You can syncronize personal information stored in the Address Book, Calenda, or To Do List menu with corresponding PC applications by using 'the program' supplied with your phone."

I couldn't sync PIM data with the data kit you provided. I tried many times to sync, even with third party sync programs. I failed everytime.

And, another thing:
I cannot record video at 320X240 or 352X288. They are gray and I cannot choose. I'm only able to record at 176X144 or 128X96.

The sync thing should be resolved otherwise big trouble for samsung...

PROS: 1.3m, pop email, edge, not big in size compared to having a lot of features, beautiful resolution of screen, etc.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone rocks

 

Mar 17, 2005 by gsmguy850

I work for Cingular and am demoing this phone it is great. The slide does not feel cheap (like that Kyocera) and the media capability this phone has is awesome. Handset comes with mp3 player and headset, and a data cable. The only thing this phone is missing is speaker phone and bluetooth....but you know what for the look and performance of this phone You could live without those features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


SICK

 

Apr 1, 2005 by Dman51

Hey i just recived this phone and dude is this sick:
Pros:
1.3 megapixel camera
MP3 player
Slider
60 minute video
light wieght
picture called id
voice memo
awsome reception

Cons:
NONE
better than my sony ericsson z500a

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It's okay......

 

Jun 27, 2005 by DaRev1

I've been spending time reviewing this phone and this is what I thought:

Pros:

Camera
MP3 Player
Screen is bright and beautiful
Reception

Cons:

Slider function (seems to get loose after awhile)
Battery life
No bluetooth
No speakerphone

Overall, it's an okay phone but hey it's whatever floats your boat.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not Good

 

Jun 14, 2005 by amadona

I was waiting for this phone for months, I was so disappointed in the reception of this phone. Not even close to the V551. The camera is great and the MP3 player is good. I downloaded music tones, the ring tone was muffled. No Bluetooth, not a good thing. I loved the slide effect of the phone, however it was very uncomfortable to use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ok at best, but not for me.

 

Apr 21, 2005 by trob

I purchased this phone and at first it seemed as though it was all that. Then the new wore off and it is awkward to use. Cannot make mp3 in music player a ringtone mp3 cannot be fast forwarded. No belt holder for this phone yet, so when it is in your pocket and rings you can accidentally answer pulling it out of your pocket.
Fortunately my house was broken into and this among other things were stolen. Changing back to Nokia 6620. Maybe it just isn't for me. phones i have used Motorola V551, V600, V400, Nokia 3650, 3300, Sony Ericsson T637, LG 1400,4050,1200.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SOO MAD!

 

Jun 27, 2005 by dell1966

I just bought this phone and my friend recently bought the phone like this from LG! it was about 200 dollars less and does about the same stuff. Its almost as good and i wasted 200 dollars. Very dissapointed!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


What a disaster.

 

Jun 1, 2005 by Garfield78

Well not a complete disaster, but a real pain. I switched from Sprint to Cingular here in NYC just to get this phone. I loved the slider, the memory, and the camera. All three things were great, except Cingular was brutal.
I'd say 30-50 percent of my call were dropped in NYC, most of the time without moving around. That's just ridiculous. Internet was so slow, and it took forever for the phone to connect to a network when you come out of the subway, or just turn the phone on. Even the slider which I loved at first, started getting glitchy on me after a few days.
Cingular is just awful here. The first phone I ever had in the mid 90's had better reception than this thing.
That said I will miss the camera. The color was great and the flash was as bright as a car headlight. But I won't miss not being able to make calls.
I returned the phone (via amazon.com, what a mess) and went out and got a V710 from Verizon. The camera may not be as good, but the phone actually works all the time and the Internet is DSL type fast. Yeah, Verizon is more expensive, but that's because they put the money to use...making your phone work.

pros:
camera
size (so small)
address book (very user friendly)

cons:
reception (worst I've ever had)
slider function (wouldn't have lasted another week)
Internet (amazingly slow IF it connects at all)
menus (be patient)

Even if you REALLY want this phone, and it looks cool and you want a nice camera, don't do it. I know you want to...but don't.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not as good as it appears

 

May 4, 2005 by payton

I was attracted by its beautiful outfit. But after I used it for 2 weeks, I decided to sell it out. It does have a few Pros: slick design and Great LCD display, for example.
However, it was really a poorly designed cell phone in terms of usability.
1. The phone always locks the outer keypad when you close the slide. If you wanna unlock the key pad, you either need to open the slide or to go through an series of awkward key pressing. There is no option that can be set to release the automatic lock.
2. It is impossible to activate the LCD screen when the key pad is locked. There is no way that you can even check the time if the phone keypad is locked.
3. If you missed a call/MSG, you won't know it until you unlock the key pad. (My old phone has signal lights flashing as an alert.)
4. Very poorly designed data transfer software (the worst I've ever seen). When you upload an image, the software automatically compress the image. You end up with ugly image. You can never adjust it.
5. Very basic MP3 play back. Complex operation. I bet you won't actually use it.
6. If you charge the phone in power-off mode, the LCD will be all time on. It is a big waste to the LCD. (It is a small problem, but I consider it is as a mindless design.)
7. The camera can only take pictures that occupies half of the screen, which makes awkward wallpaper.
8. It is not easy to jump your thumb up and down to press the other keys and the inner keys when the slide is open.

Anyway, Just dont be fooled by its appearance.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


oh so pretty... but breaks after 1 fall

 

Apr 11, 2005 by pekkle007

The Cingular store in Woodfield Mall (largest near Chicago) has stopped carrying them. They say there's been too many complaints (and returns) about their resiliency.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1