Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=638&r=16445

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Palm  ›

Palm Treo 650 (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.21
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

LOVING IT!!!

 

Oct 3, 2006 by peyman99

Pros:
- PDA with the ability to call someone
- Keyboard for SMS, data entry, and email
- Contacts includes address, birthday (reminder), space for other numbers, email address - basically you can make it as detailed as you want
- Calendar is great
- Works on Apple computers and syncs with Entourage
- Allows browsing to regular web pages and WAP pages
- Keyboard light

Cons:
- Headphone jack is not a standard 3.5mm
- Speaker location is on back, so if phone is set down on the table it muffles off the table

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BEST PHONE I'VE OWNED

 

Oct 2, 2006 by B_Minch

After using the MDA for a couple of weeks, I decided to try an unlocked 650 and I think its alot more reliable and better reception!
Great Screen
Very nice web browsing
Versamail is awsome

Can't think of any cons

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


many problems

 

Sep 3, 2006 by wayne2626

If you are near a tower great but speaker sound is poor tinny covering is wearing off after a few months. Now after having it for a year they finally got the operating system working with out reseting and the camera is not worth using but as far as the part of the phone that is a PDA it is the best. I you want a pda the treo 650 is the best if you want a phone "not this one". I have a moto a780 which is a smart phone and the best.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Anyone for a class action suit?

 

Jul 26, 2006 by Doktor_O

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not worth the time or the money...

 

Jun 18, 2006 by Thannah4

I bought the Treo 650 for all its great features, but it turned out to be a waste. To me it seems that palm was in such a rush to pack so many things into the phone that they didn't take the time to make sure it worked. You honestly have to buy and download all kinds of programs for it to work. Even simple things, like being able to hear who calls you. I had to purchase volumecare just to have normal sound volume. Mine had a mind of its own and would completely shut off or go web surfing or just freeze up. I'd have four bars and the reception was terrible. Just too many glitches in this phone! Maybe the 700 will be better, but I'm not wasting the money to find out. I kept it 2 weeks and posted that bad boy on ebay. Going back to my razr...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very few complaints

 

May 6, 2006 by sam912

I traded in my Cingular 8### for the Treo. I loved the Cingular branded phone, but, I really need a regular dial pad. I was reluctant to buy the Treo because of the negative comments, but I am glad that I took the chance.

Pros:
--One handed operation.
--Nice size
--Ease of use
--reception
--key board

Cons:
--No WIFI
--Memory

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Treo 650 - ups & downs

 

May 3, 2006 by electro123glide

Ups: Huge view area. It's easy to use even for people who need reading glasses. The screen is bright. Features are many.

Downs: Doggone it, what a disappointment. The battery life is poor. The unit I have had a bad battery, which I replaced, and the battery life became a little better but not much better.

The "regular" earsets are not compatible. The unit will lock up occasionally, and needs to have the battery removed to reset it.

The owner's manual is a horrible waste of time. It is incomprehensible. I don't have a week to translate the manual into simple directions.

Downloading from my PC clogged the 650 with all my email addresses. OK, maybe I didn't understand that would happen - but I needed to get most of them out of the 650, and this proved a horrible time consuming giant waste of time.

Reception is Poor. Bluetooth connectivity is poor even in major metropolitan areas.

The buttons on the keyboard are teensy and rounded, so trying to use the stylus is another bad experience.

This "thing" really disappointed me for all the money it cost. I am not going to buy another Anything from Palm / Treo.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Palm Treo 650 For Cingular (Best Yet)

 

Apr 3, 2006 by stevensilverman

Let me start off by saying that the palm treo 650 for cingular is the best pda CINGULAR has yet to see. I have had a Motorola V551, Moto Razr V3, Blackberry 7290, Blackberry 8700c, Blackberry 7100g, the Cingular 8125, and now the Palm Treo 650. I am 15 years old and love PDA's and I have yet ever to see a review been written by a teen. at my age i like to have the keyboard for texting, and the camera is great. I have a lot of programs on it and the calender is great to have to keep me organized with my school work. when on the go I can type a paper while using Microsoft Word on my treo. If you have any questions about why a 15 year old should have a treo or someone in that age. maybe your thinking of buying it for your child or maybe you want to buy it for your busisness needs I'd be happy to help you out. please email me at: stevensilverman@emailtreo.com

I am always at the cingular store looking at new phones and testing them out by buying then and working with them for 20-30 days. I know my stuff.

thanks a lot

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AARRGGHH!

 

Mar 23, 2006 by mqmorasch

Used a treo for a month and had enough device freezing and locking to drive me insane. Software updates are worthless, and support non existant! Palm operating system is going the way of the do-do. probably why handspring switched O/S. I am going to the Blackberry. I am a wireless dealer and seen these issues plus too many to list.
PROS:
NONE!!!

CONS:
EVERYTHING!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Phone stinks

 

Mar 1, 2006 by hunter1

I have owned this phone for 4 months. I would not recommend owning this phone. The phone constantly freezes and I have to remove the battery to reset it. I had to go buy a bluetooth headset because I can not hear people talk with the headset even though the volume is turned up to high. I have gone through 3 replacement phones from Cingular. The first replacement the stylus fell out if the phone was turned upside down. The second phone had no volume unless the speakerphone was used. The 3rd phone was the same as the 1st which I just traded in for a Nokia. I hate this phone should have stuck with the Treo 600.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2