Phone Scoop

printed April 18, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=625&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry 7290

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  70  

Average Ratings

4.06
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

The greatest phone in the WORLD.

 

Jan 25, 2006 by donthateme...theydo

I have had this phone for about a day and cant take my hands off of it. It is so easy to add applications and the battery life is amazing. I thought of going and buying one of those PocketPCs and from all of the reveiws that I read, I couldnt take having to reset the phone every couple of days. If you are a text junkie or just love to stay organized get this phone (ie E-bay-its half the price then the stores) you wont regret it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best of breed

 

Dec 1, 2005 by ashman

Having previously used a BB 957 I am quite familiar with them and was getting tired of my Treo 600. I wanted email and the BB is the best and can't be beat for email. I was a little leery of the phone functionality but once I investigated the various models and found they were quad band with good reception I was convinced. Had a look at the 8700C but at $599 CAN its too much just for Edge and a nicer screen IMO. The 7290 does everything I want and then some. The screen is clear and there are two levels of back light, battery life is awesome and blue tooth works excellently with my Jabra BT 250. This is an excellent all in one device that will suite my needs for a long time to come. Oh and you aren't supposed to turn BB's off btw, you leave them on all the time so you receive email in real time. If you have the BB enterprise server setup correctly you should be reading emails primarily on your BB and when they are read they will show up as read in outlook, not the other way round.

AM

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Will it be reliable

 

Nov 28, 2005 by egale1

Got the Blackberry primarily as an email device. It does its job there but it is awkward. The blackberry doesn't get your email as an email client but rather gets it from the Blackberry server. So, even though the Blackberry is off, the blackberry server is constantly reading and storing your email. Monday morning when I turn it on after being off all weekend, I am flooded with the weekend emails that I have already read.

My Blackberry has already been replaced once due to a key malfunction. I hope this isn't a trend with the unit.

Also, web browsing is very very slow. Unless you go to a site that is specifically set up for the Blackberry, be prepared to wait and wait and wait. Sometimes, it takes many minutes to pull up a page.

Pros
Good reception
Good battery life

Cons
Soft ring
Hardware may not stand he test of time
Email awkward to control
Web browsing slower than slow

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


7290 with T-Mo in Detroit = Great

 

Jun 9, 2005 by um2k4

I got this phone 1 week ago and after some extremely heavy use, I don't know how I used phones that aren't blackberries before. The voice clarity is incredible paired with my jabra bluetooth headset, its also great on the handset itself.

The screen is large and vibrant indoors and outdoors (keep that in mind if you are shopping for a 7100t/g, you can barely see it outside even in the shade)

Everything on the phone is very perky very minimal load times for anything at all. My GPRS signal tends to be very strong.

The Battery life running with the back light, heavy data use, and middling voice use seems to be holding out quite well.

I also love the color of this phone. The Cingular version seems to be black, mine however is the blue/gray color and it just looks awesome. It really sets it off nicely.

Overall this is just a well built device. I'd love if it had speakerphone, even though I don't think I'd use it that much, but the ability to use it outside, and the full keyboard pushed me to get this one, rather than the 7100 series.

I haven't heard about an upgraded 77-- BB yet, but if they do come out with one, with that huge screen it could be a great phone too.

I knocked the .5 off for the lack of speakerphone, other than that couldn't be happier, great data device (corporate email is instant, it's amazing), great phone device, great bluetooth support.

I'm also very pleased with the quality of the BB group support at t-mobile.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Backberry 7290 for T-Mobile

 

May 18, 2005 by Canicus

This is a great device! I've had the PalmOne Treo 600 (unlocked) for a year now. It was a nice device; however, it occasionally froze and did things like accidentally call people on my address book (or made an emergency call to 911) and wouldn't hang up when I wanted to. It was a bit too cumbersome (large & heavy).

This 7290 is slim when worn around the waistband and easy to operate. It's pretty intuitive. Best of all...It has Bluetooth!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


7290...Great email unit, good phone

 

Jan 21, 2005 by mherrmann

Great form factor in a Phone/PDA combo...solid feel with nice battery life. If you are an on-the-go professional that needs instant/constant access to everything, you will not go wrong with this unit.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


YUCK!!!

 

Jan 30, 2007 by FordRules94

i just bought this device from having a sk3 and i think this bb is going on the E in which i mean ebay!!! lousy price and features!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pearl Makes every other BB look like crap

 

Dec 6, 2006 by budweisergold

This is the bulkiest BB and it's slow to react in the menus. I have the Pearl now and man am I a happy guy! I've used a total of 9 different blackerrys over the past few years and I've never been happier than now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1