Phone Scoop

printed November 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=625

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry 7290

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  70  

Average Ratings

4.06
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

By far the best phone to have for Business and Personal use. A phone for business man and woman, teachers, students and teens.

 

May 2, 2007 by yanike

This phone is perfect for anyone. You can have IM (AOL, MSN, Yahoo! and ICQ), fast web browsing to any site (Opera Mini of course at www.opera.com using it now on my blackberry to write this.), games, wallpapers and ringtones(www.zedge.net or mobile.zedge.net), dictionaries, books and more. This is perfect for a teen because it has games, instant messenger and tools they need when they are in school and outside of school. This is an all-round pda/phone. If you need a phone that does everyrthing, get this phone. Also, checkout eoffice, it's like microsoft office. Windows Mobile LOL! How about running XP on blackberry (http://mobile.lockergnome.com/product.asp?id=9876). I love this phone!

Only cons I have is that you can't add microSD to it and it doesn't have a speaker phone or media player. Guess I can leave that for my Windows Mobile phone to do. This Black Berry is my main and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Device - Wouldnt use anything else

 

Aug 7, 2005 by robbied

I work for T Mobile and have used about every gsm phone that is available in the united states. After recently owning the Blackberry 7730, was really impressed with all of the improvements that they have made with this device. They say that this is really only for mobile professionals, I say that is totally incorrect. If you love to chat on MSN Messenger, Yahoo, ICQ, or AOL. You will have all of these built in to this device, not only does it have a great screen and easy to navigate menus, the bluetooth tops it off. The internet service on it runs without flaw and loads up so quick. If anyone out there is considering buying this device, I say head to your local T Mobile store and get this thing. You will love it. I have sold numerous of these devices, and every single customer loves it. So in closing if your thinking about controlling and having a nice address book with a great calender with all of the other features that this has, you will love it and wonder why you ever owned anything else. Take my word for it. -

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Office use AWESOME, TEENS STAY AWAY

 

Feb 16, 2005 by igmo1985

Over all it is a great phone for the BUSINESS minded. As a Cingular employee I see deac's on this phone a lot, because of the fact people think it will be a great phone for text messaging, like any other Crack Berry. As a audio its bulky, unless you are planning to get blue tooth with this phone, I wouldn't really suggest this phone for anything outside of an office/business use.

As a PDA there isn't much that compares to this BB or any other BB for that matter.

Teens not suggested, so don't waste your parents money, because it will go right back to the store, and the last thing a rep wants is buyers remorse, I see a lot of churn on this phone, only from teens though, not from office use

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


7290 a WINNER

 

Jul 16, 2005 by sfo

PROS
..nothing tops blackberry for instant email
..PDA function is solid
..choice of fonts a plus
..solid, durable build

CONS
..a bit bulky
..typing takes adjusting (the old RIM 950 was best for that)

OVERALL:
Best in its class. 7100 is frustrating with two letters per key. 950 isn't made anymore.
You won't find anything better than the 7290. RIM makes superb products.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT! Bluetooth made this phone top my list!

 

Nov 19, 2004 by attguy

I love the Blackberry 7290...it has everything I loved about the 7280 plus some great additions...better screen and BLUETOOTH.

The reception and the battery life is still great, even with Bluetooth turned on at all times.

Menus are easy to navigate, and attachments are easy to open (spreadsheets, word documents, pdf files)

Just a solid device, and with the bluetooth option, I can say this is my favorite phone on the market, and I have used/use almost every phone there is!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Blackberry 7290 for Cingular

 

Nov 13, 2004 by tara

The use of this Blackberry 7290 has proved to be very useful. It is smaller in size and weight that it's predecessors. The battery life seems to last longer with with lots of usage--talk time, emailing, using web browser and bluetooth. I can make it through the work day and still have battery life. I couldn't do that with the Blackberry version that I had with Nextel. Bluettooth works well. The phone and reception is good. I haven't experienced any dropped calls and no service areas and I have travelled up and down the east coast with it. Atcually, I'm getting better service out of this than I did the Treo 600. Yet, that's another story.

The only con that I have is that there should be a better and/or more efficient way to retrieve emails on the Blackberry units from Microsoft Exchange and other work servers.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Blackberry 7290 (Cingular)

 

Jan 11, 2005 by LSU1990

I have had this device for a week now, and have really been impressed with it. I love the way the address book is setup, and it is quite easy to sync with MS Outlook. Email setup was a snap, and works flawlessly. Battery life has been suprisingly good so far - much better than the Motorola v551 I took back to get this device.

Pros:
Cool gadget; excellent RF; very good battery life; address book setup; easy on the eyes

Cons:
would like to be able to make rings a little louder; no downloadable tones; addictive!; dearth of available 3rd party software

Overall I am quite happy and this device suits my purposes quite well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sweet device

 

Dec 30, 2009 by narn3049

Got this phone for xmas '09 I mainly want a blackberry for emailing and I don't care that it doesn't have non-polyphonic ringtones or a camera, email texting calling and brick breaker is what I use this device for.

iPhone simply wasn't working, the battery life drained quickly and the glass screen was cracked at the top (yea) real attractive, i found a good deal on this phone and a family member had asked what i wanted to get for xmas so I was telling her about this Blackberry and I was unrapping presents and got this phone.

Now this phone came new for 35.99 i consider that a good deal. Rim has been good to me because i used to own a 7250 and 7100 but those phones simply broke after hard use. Now I'm keeping this phone nice. well i'll try too.

alltel is a great service for this phone and i love it. so go and buy them their definetely worth it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This blackberry is the worse, but a little good

 

Apr 1, 2008 by justin15cent

I got a blackberry about 7 month ago, and I got lot of con I can tell you. First let start with pro.

Pro:
Good Looking Design
Good Talk Time
Loud and Clear
Easy to type

Now the con

Cons:
Can't browse the internet, I tried to do something, but I can't

Can't upload picture

Can't download ringtone

Can't download Mp3

Battery gone worse

Can't even download a game either, but some can

It a long time to charge

It a little messy on the screen

call kept on drop

fingerprint all over the screen

you got to kept charge the battery everyday

Now, I am not recommend with this phone. That why I'm getting a new one. I order me a Pantech Duo online on www.letstalk.com. That Pantech Duo was a great phone, it equip with full keyboard, it a great looking design, and I already order it and it shippin right now yesterday. I'm gonna write a review about Pantech Duo 2 week later.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great unit!!

 

Mar 22, 2006 by espino

I just bought this device from craigslist, and it's awesome. I'm still learning all it's features but so far so good and have not been stumped. I love having the internet in the palm of my hands while traveling. I admire the weight and size of this device only to now reasssure me that when I leave home I don't have to lug my laptop around. Lugging my laptop can be kind of frustrating while traveling around. Some hotels wi-fi's are a bit weak.

I do agree with some of the reviews that loading a web page is a bit slow but hey, I'm not in a rush.

The phone's features are all great and are very easy to operate and access. I'm so very happy with the outcome of this phone!!!!

Yes, one may have to read the manual sections of the operations at most twice, but once mastered, it's a breeze.

I purchased a cool little leather case for the phone at www.cellphones.com
Shops offer the case for about $23.00 at this site it's $4.50 + s&h
it's a pretty cool site!

Anyway, if anyone has any questions, please feel free to email me.

Roger

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1