Phone Scoop

printed July 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=614

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC MDA Compact / xda II mini / JAM (Magician)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  16  

Average Ratings

4.64
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

awesome pocket pc

 

Jun 18, 2005 by jonyboy27

i have owned this phone for about a month now. before this i used the siemens sx56 (xda I). it has a really good processor, i watch dvd's all the time on it with no problems. it's got the best camera i've ever seen on a phone, and it's the smallest pocket pc ever made.

not in any way to slander the jam, but here's my biggest downsides:
1. the battery isn't the greatest, it lasts me barely a day. but i would consider myself a heavy user, talking well over 4 hours a day. and a plus is that your computer charges the phone whenever it's sync'd.
2. the bluetooth isn't quite yet 100% reliable. sometimes my phone displays that it's connected, but the sound doesn't come through the headset, but through the phone instead. i use sony hbc30 bluetooth car kit, jabra 250 headset, and i just got the motorola hs850 headset. this phone is bluetooth 1.2, the motorola hs850 bluetooth headset is also 1.2. when using this new headset i have noticed a lot less of these problems. also, i am using the second release of the operating system rom (1.11.00WWE). this version GREATLY improved the little bugs with bluetooth hardware, and i am sure the next rom version will be even better than this one.

all things considered, in my opinion this is the greatest phone ever made. it has so many features packed into such a small space.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Get the update

 

Aug 10, 2006 by phoneguru

I have had this phone for about 3 weeks. I had the sidekick3 before I purchased the mda. The mda does alot and with the rom upgrade offed by tmobile it works even better. All the slowness and glicthes seem to have been worked out. The menu scheme is easy to use. con for me is not having a dedicated number pad. Over all this phone does more than i need but well worth the money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


BEST PDA PHONE EVER!!!

 

Jul 13, 2005 by DIXIE

The PDA is excellent. Processor is fast, great storage space, and nice bright color screen.

The GSM phone is great. The volume could be louder on earpiece and speakerphone. I wish the phone had voice dialing. Installed Voice Command and it is awesome. Bluetooth works great. I use bluetooth headset with great range.

GET THIS PHONE!

The only thing needed is WIFI.

WHich is coming soon from what I hear.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone--WOW it is Small!

 

Dec 22, 2004 by diablonyc2

I just got the phone a few days ago -- and have been using it constanly since. It is a remarkable phone -- it has better reception than my 7610 and VERY CLEAR, plus lightning fast.

Pros
- SIZE, SIZE, SIZE, but as small as it is---it is still very usable! (They modified the onscreen QWERTY keyboard so it shows at a decent size)
- I got the Imate Jam version -- great support plus an IMATE email. And preprogramed to sync to IMATE's Exchange server for upto date email and saving of contact/sate changes).
- Fast - -nver locked up yet...better then my IPAQ.
- Can be used in Landscape mode.
- Texting and surfing and emailing is a breeze (Though I have not set up my MMS as of yet).
_ Great Camera and Video!
- Bateery life is Surprisingly long! Not sure how it does it--but it does !

Cons
- No Voice Dialing software -- Plus Voicecommand I am rying out does not under stand my voice that well.

- No Wifi - BUT it works with the SD 256k Wifi Card---BUT That sticks out alot.

- Camera is GOOD -- but the Nokia 7610 was better (Video is ALOT better than the 7610).

Overall it is a great phone that I seemyself using for a long time. Unlike other PDA phones--this fits EASILY in your pocket! Jope this helps!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


MDA

 

Jun 5, 2005 by mjcantrill

this is the best MDA of all you can use it as an IT tool and still go to the pub with it

No WIFI but apart from that i can't see how there going to improve on it next time

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


finally!

 

Apr 17, 2005 by baker1

Just got from tmobile, hunting for unlock methods. Thrilled. People get these things confused with phones. They are Pocket PC's first and foremost, the phone is a bonus that means you have a reason to carry it around. Now you can, it's just small enough to fit the pocket, unlike any previous attempts. Simple casing, seems robust. smaller screen should reduce risk of breakage. Camera, as always on things that arent cameras, is irrelevant. Thats what a camera is for. Leave it out and use the space saved for built in WIFI! No, I can't moan, it's exactly what ive been waiting for.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


THE BEST MINI

 

Jan 24, 2005 by glinka

WONDERFULL

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1