Phone Scoop

printed April 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=61&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 5165

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

3.29
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34

Best Phone every made

 

Apr 20, 2004 by sanguinemoon

I've owned several of these phones and to this day, this is the most solid reliable phone I've ever come across. This phone is large and lacking in features by more modern phone standards. However, if you need a good, but very basic TDMA device, this phone won't let you down.

It's virtually bullet proof too. I dropped one and slid it all the way across a Taco Bell parking lot (literally from one side to the other), aside from the obvious cosmetic damage, the phone was still good as new.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia 5165

 

Jun 13, 2003 by Tonyc1075

It's a great phone for what it is; a free phone. The reception is clear and I have never had any problems with anything breaking. Since it has been out for a while, there are a lot of customizable things that you can do to it. It doesn't have any great features but for a free phone that comes with many plans, it will do the job if you are on a budget.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


5165 Rocks

 

Jan 25, 2003 by Jeff Gustafson

This phone may be lacking in features, however, the reception on this baby rules. Though it is outdated, I would never go away with it for a 3360. The way I think of Nokia, is the larger the model number, the better.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good phone!

 

Jan 25, 2011 by Jami.T

This was the first phone i ever got in life and i liked it! never had any problems!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Old School

 

Oct 6, 2006 by crxtreme89

Although this phone is old and doesn't have any of the features of today, this was an excellent phone for service and battery life. Paired with an extended life lithium ion battery you were good to go for awhile in even the most remote areas with AT&T wireless back in the day. You must remember that this phone was made prior to the color screen craze that hit in 2001 or 2002. The funny thing is that you could download ringtones over the air at www.2thumbswap.com. I used to have the chicken dance song, Super Mario Brothers, etc for ringtones. This phone style had many model #'s depending on which carrier it was on. Nokia 5160, 5160i, 5165 were the few that AT&T carried. For it's day this was a great phone. Don't knock it, back then people weren't ready for everything that is offered today in phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wow

 

Aug 28, 2006 by katrina

Is there anyone on the planet (over the age of 20) that didn't have this as their first phone? This is probably one of the sturdiest phones ever built... my dad dropped his into a bucket of tar and just took it out, washed it and let it dry out and it was fine!
When I worked for SunCom Wireless we had customers that still had this phone from 5 years ago (they generally had to replace the battery a couple of times in that time frame, though)
I do not know the model number, but there is a GSM version of this phone also... might be fun to get one, I think I still have a couple 5160 faceplates somewhere ;-)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Simply simple

 

Aug 28, 2006 by witesamurai

This phone has bare minimum features, is big, and easy to use. It might have been a good phone 5 years ago but is just way too obsolete now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


You cant front on nokia with this one yall

 

Jul 23, 2006 by Cingularmami

This phone was
"it" when it came out i mean if you aint have this phone you aint have nothin, i remember being so happy to get a text. I loved this phone as a matter of fact it was my second phone i loved this phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good phone

 

Dec 10, 2005 by got_it

for what it does it does it good. It doesnt have ay fancy screens or anything thing. I had this phone back when I was in 5th grade so thats like 4 years ago. I am now on verizonwireless which I hate. they have good phones but there service is alot of money and doesnt always work good anyway aout this phone its good for what it does

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Oh thoes were the days...

 

May 17, 2005 by lil_lara

Okay we all had this phone. It got the job done. And to this day I still love playing snake, not that I can find it any where! I got really good at that game too :) Nokia was the innovator of phones, at the time. And man could that thing take a beating. I'd take it as a loaner phone any day, just for old times sake!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1