Phone Scoop

printed December 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=597&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH-A740 / PM-A740

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  15  

Average Ratings

3.58
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Great Phone!!

 

Mar 9, 2006 by Angelo_667

This is a very good phone. I purchased this phone for my husband and he loved it as soon as he saw it. I didn't have the video capability but he didn't care about that. But the reason I say this a great phone is because after he had it for about a month he dropped it in the bath tub while giving our dog a bath and I would say it sat in the water for a good minute or so and it wouldn't work, I work in the cellular business so I took the back off, opened it all up and sat it in front of the fan for about 4 hours if that, put everything back together and it works fine!!! The only thing that happened is when you take a picture if comes out a little fuzzy but that isn't bad for sitting in nasty dog water for a minute.. He would recommend this phone to anybody.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


the A740 is worth it!!

 

Apr 24, 2006 by iluvmycell

The A740 is very easy to use phone

PROS-
- easy to figure out/use, i figured out this phone how to do everything in about 5minutes.
- nice camera, and camera flash works very well.
- does not break easly, i threw my A740 from the street to my house and it hit my brick wall and didnt break, just got a few scratches, it holds up very well.
- decent sound could be better but its not terrible
- good contrast
- great internet access
- great signals, i can get a signal from my basement, a store, almost anywhere

that is not all but thats all i can think of

CONS-
- no speakerphone
- scratches easily [but so do most phones]

i would DEFFANTLY recomend this phone for any one of any age.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


GREAT phone, samsung lover forever

 

Mar 2, 2010 by narn3049

I had this phone for sprint pcs and then I got a new phone, and switched networks, i so wish i didn't because this phone, especially the color was cool, not many phones of that era had a good camera, and lcd screen like this one. It is truly the best phone that sprint had to offer of that time.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone!

 

Nov 12, 2005 by odmisred

Well, first of all, the phone looks awesome! That is definitely a plus for me since most cell phones all look alike, this one has some personality to it. As far as the camera option you won't be displeased. The flash is excellent and the picture quality is outstanding. This is probably because you are able to adjust the resolution and the brightness. The call quality is crystal clear even when you only have one bar of service! I want to be able to hear who I'm talking to and this phone allows me to do that. This phone has so many neat features that it's hard not to like it. Such as... the (COLOR) external caller ID, service beep/light, voice activated features, voice memo, vision service, instant messaging, (easily accessible) text messaging, picture messaging, display brightness, ringer selection, as well as many others which you can see for yourself. The only problem I have with this phone is that when reviewing pictures it takes several seconds to load. Other than that this phone has definitley lived up to my expectations of what a cell phone is supposed to be like.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love it

 

Aug 30, 2005 by aquairus

Out of all the cell phones I've had this is the one that I just love. It works in places that my old samsung phones wouldn't. I get good reception in the basement and department stores. A very good phone, and worth the money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I expected more!!

 

Apr 29, 2005 by short27cake

This phone is a piece of crap!!!

CONs
-runs hot after 2 or more calls (battery/kepad)
-no speakerphone
battery dies after 2 hours of use (calls,internet,just opening it too many times)
-external lcd is blank unless side buttons are pressed
-have to keep phone on power save mode in order for battery to last more than 2 hrs (too dim to see when in this mode)
-lights stay on while charging (maybe the reason it runs hot)

PROs
-camera images are great
-nice sleek frame (even though its outdated)
-great reception even in basements/and department stores

Samsung is known for crappy phones thru Sprint, but since we're in 2005 you would think that these type of issues would have been resolved. Just received the phone 2 days ago, already had to take it back to Sprint. Of course they tried to offer me insurance (phone running hot is not an insurance issue), and replaced my battery. I would reccommend only for those who rarely have to use it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Crap Phone

 

May 27, 2005 by driscollw

Sound Quality is crap. Had two of these phones and it's the same thing. Caller sounds like they are talking through a tunnel to you. It's just how the phone is. Camera is good but, I did buy a phone. Not an instant messenger device, camera, or anything else. Bottom line call has got to sound good. Signal likes to move around alot. I can go from 3 bars to 1 bar in the same part of my house ?? Try this phone before you commit

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


DONT buy this phone!!

 

Jul 4, 2005 by sbw123

This phone is the worst phone i have ever had it has so many cons and barly any pros her are the listings:

Pros:Nice flash thats about it.

Cons: horrible screen very light and hard to see horrible ringtones and horrible backgrounds choose from! i was VERY VERY VERY un happy with this phone i returned mine and sitched to a different carrier they are much much better (VERIZON) and DO NOT switch to sprint they are horrible and have the wost reception, the antenna is flimsey and the ugly bluebuilt in faceplate i hate that.there is NO bluetooth and the camera is so suckie that you should say there is no camera on it! if you get this phone you will regret it i hated this phone DO NOT buy this phone!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just wish I could talk longer

 

May 13, 2005 by chubber

Hate....
the short battery life

Love...
The picture quality
Better reception than former samsung models
The look and form

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It could be worse...

 

Oct 5, 2006 by musewebsites

All around: Good, easy to use phone.
Pros
-Good camera
-Easy to use
-Durable
Cons
-Dropped calls, when other Sprint customers around me would not have the same problem. I know dropped calls are typically a service issue, but you can't tell me the phone doesn't play a role

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2