Phone Scoop

printed July 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=573&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG L1400 / C1400

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.5
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 456...11

Very Satisfied

 

Sep 29, 2004 by 506fan

I have the LG L1400 now and I am very pleased. I've only had it for about a week now and I can already tell I'll be keeping it for a little while at least as my main phone. I had the Motorola V220 for about 2 weeks and couldn't wait to get rid of it. I forgot why I stopped purchasing Motorola and now I now. For lack of use of other words....it sux and there is not the time or space for details just take my word. But I do like this phone. I fell in love with LG when I bought my mom the LG4050 and she says she is never changing. I can't say that I'm all that pleased with the camera, but I bought a phone .... Not a camera. The reception is wonderful. I'm also not very happy with the size and I wish it had a speaker phone. But other than that IT'S WONDERFUL

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good

 

Sep 26, 2004 by cajungirl

So far I am happy with it. I too had the V220 and sent it back due to problems.
The pros
I really like the screen on the outside.
The keys are big and easy to use.
The screen is bright.
Easy to navigate
Loud ring.
The cons
It kinda feels cheap.
No speaker phone.
Over all I am happy with it so far. Only had it 3 days. No dropped calls and no it has been sending ppl to voice mail. No it doesn't have wonderful ringtones but that is minor

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


GOOD

 

Sep 20, 2004 by toothman79

I love this phone so far, only complaint is that the in-call volume is not nearly loud enough!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG1400. Not bad, not great!

 

Nov 4, 2004 by absolute0

I have had this phone for about 2 months. Bought from Cingular for 29.95. I have only a couple of comments about it.

Battery life is terrible. I don't know if it is because of the signal or what but i am lucky if i get 3 days use. I only use it about 20 minutes or less a day. I have back-light on both displays on 10 secs...

Very annoying Cingular logos on everything. I am sure they could stop this by updating the firmware but I don't think they will. Seems like if you spend the money to put your own wallpaper, you should not have to have their logo.

Seems cheap in it's feel but I haven't had any problem so far. Very limited accessories for this phone. Searched high and low on the net and your lucky if you can find the battery. Where is all the knock off batteries with higher capacities?
Cingulars own website under accessories doesn't even have an extra battery.

Certainly worth 29.95, but I don't think I would pay more...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just Bought 9-17-04

 

Sep 18, 2004 by Demonic_Caller

I really like this phone. I was considering the L1200, but then I saw the L1400 and had to go for it. My rating (4.5) would be a 5.0 if it weren't for my area giving me crappy service... but other than that, I get reception where other people's phone's normally wouldn't get any. I have Cingular in California (Los Angeles County). This phone is sleek, slick, VERY light-weight; feels like a toy phone. The configuration on the soft keys and direction pad make it very easy to navigate to your desired location. Very clean, clear pictures with the camera function. I am not sure what else to say about the phone. If you have any questions, just e-mail me. I have gone through about 90% of the features already just to make sure that I am happy with my purchase; so far so good!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Its about time they got it right!!!!

 

Sep 10, 2004 by tinytown22

this phone is excellent the reception is remarkable and its still light weight! I had the LG 1200 before and ended up trading it for a Nokia 6800 and now I'm about to head to the store to get a second 1400 you shuold too!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


better than average, but not better than most

 

Oct 29, 2005 by mjc543

I have had this phone since Jan. '05, and it's been decent so far. But, a few key disappointments are eating away and my tech-loving soul. Let's start with the bad, since that's what everyone is ultimately concerned with:

[::CONS::]

1. Ringtones. They suck. That's all there is to it. If you like midi-type music ringtones and don't mind paying for them, good for you. But if you want something normal sounding, good luck finding them because they aren't on the phone, or available at any ringtone seller. I had to MAKE my own, and it was a PITA.

2. Battery life. Not so great. This is probably because of the super-bright dual TFT displays, and the fact that the battery is only 830 mAh.

3. Speakerphone. Doesn't have this feature, which is a shame because the hardware is certainly capable. They just didn't write it into the software. I know this because the voice memos play back loud-speaker style through the earpiece.

4. Build quality. After a few months or so the phone will "loosen" up and start making creaking noises. I wish I could give mine a bath in WD40, but that'd probably ruin it.

5. Side buttons. The volume controls don't have any contour, but instead are flat against the phone, so you can't feel them while you're talking. Sucks when you need to change the volume without having to look.

[::PROS::]

1. Beautiful dual TFT color displays with selectable wallpapers for both.
2. Sleek form factor with chrome accents and an electric blue button backlight.
3. BIG buttons. Definite plus for anyone with big fingers.
4. Decent camera with extra features, including light selection, multishot, zoom, and self-portrait.
5. Changeable faceplates. (PhoneScoop omitted this feature)
6. Voice memo, calculator, unit converter. All useful if you ask me.

All in all a good phone (though discontinued and replaced by the C2000), but if ringtones, batterylife, and a speakerphone are important to you, I'd go with something else.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nifty phone

 

Jul 28, 2005 by orgasmictofu

I just got this phone today at a Fido training seminar as a prize. I also have the V400 that I got about a month ago. Thinking about it all day and checking them both out, I'm sticking with the V400.

The biggest thing for me is the screen. Yes, the screen size and resolution is the same for both, 65k. However, the V400's screen is BRIGHTER (as explained by a Fido rep), giving it the illusion of having higher resolution. You don't get the dark space between pixels that you get with the 1400 and other colour screens.

I rather like the colour screen on the front of the 1400, but I don't need it, the blue screen on the V400 will serve me just fine.

Volume wise, the 1400 is rather quiet. And seeing as I use my phone as an alarm clock and being a heavy sleeper, that just won't do.

Otherwise, it's a smokin' phone, and my sister is going to LOVE it. I'm sending it to her for her birthday. I was going to give her my Z200, but I think she'll like this one way better.

Cheers.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome phone but it's.. "pixy"

 

Jan 23, 2005 by munk3e

this phone is so cool.. lol it has an awesome camera.. i got it for only 30 bucks at cingular.com in november.. they have the best deals online i swear... anyway yea the external OLED screan is Sooooooo coool.. lol and the volume keys serve as a zoom when the phone is closed... the ringtones are pretty cool... the polytone speaker is NICE only complaint is no speakerphone.. and the main thing that gets me is how pixally the screen is.. it's really pixilated.. but i must say the screen is good for a 65k screen.. my cousin has a lg vx6100 which has a 262k screen and she knows nothing about phones and thought mine had a better screen.. lol everything about the phone is cool..

pros..

-NICE screen but it's "pixilated"
-external screen is awesome for caller id and self portraits
-nice keypad layout
-easy to use
-speed dialing is convenient
-voice dialing is cool

cons...
-no speakerphone
-pixilated screen
-infrared can't send pictures or ringtones only business cards
-can't use downloaded pictures as wallpaper for external display

awesome phone can't complain about anything except for no speakerphone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love It!

 

Oct 31, 2004 by pleopard

This phone is excellent! The reception is wonderful and so is the camera. For those complaining about the camera, you just need to learn how to adjust the lighting and white balance when necessary for the pics to come out right. I have taken some beautiful pictures with it. Also if you make the picture size 128x126 you will be able to store about 30 pictures in the phone just increase the size if you plan on emailing them to a computer. Overall its a great buy and I got it for $30 even though its worth much more.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 456...11

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2