Phone Scoop

printed October 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=570&s=h&p=7

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox PPC-6600 / PPC-6601 / XV6600 (HTC Harrier)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.24
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1...456 7 

Great Device - Beware of SPCS ability to service

 

Dec 13, 2004 by rduckwor1

Great device, powerful, fast and plenty of memory. Even 1xRTT web browsing works well enough to be useful. However, SPCS is not able to support this device yet. If you are a power user willing to accept some bugs on the road to Nirvana, fine; casual users beware. Buggy and now support to date.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lousy Bluetooth

 

Jan 31, 2005 by hammer4995

Bought this phone to replace my V710 because of the crippled Bluetooth and the claim that this phone is fully Bluetooth capable!!
WELL!! although the V710 worked perfectly in my Acura TL, this phone does NOT support the ability to make calls via the Acura system!

Also, the phone is extrememly weak on reception - so back it went and back to the V710 I went.

For the money I expect perfect Bluetooth functionality and, according to Audiovox, this will not be available for some time.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Still not ready for primetime

 

Apr 18, 2005 by tdiii

I work for a wireless provider and bought (at full retail) two of these units with very high hopes. Keeping in mind that I work for the provider, the reset button became my best friend. On both units. The speaker is so low volume and muffled, I had to use the speakerphone turned down to hear. The keyboard is really flat and slick and much more difficult to use than the Treo. There are other onboard input choices which work really well, thankfully, so why did they bother? But why should the whole experience be this difficult? The OS is junk. The calendar view is useless at a glance, the contacts are difficult to navigate on the fly, you can't easily add a song to a playlist without creating a whole new playlist and deleting the original, files are buried in folders, which are buried in other folders, which you can only find if you know what you are looking for. Why do you have to drill down to adjust the volume or change the ringer settings? Microsoft should really stick to what it does best...designing OS for the Waalmart crowd. We had to reset both units several times a day. One unit developed a flicker in the screen. And there's no signal strength meter to tell if the phone isn't working or you're out of range. I think that the unit was designed by people who don't actually use them as they are intended to be used. Because it just didn't work. Returned w/in the 15 days.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


What?!! No Voice Dialing w/ Bluetooth??

 

Mar 13, 2005 by HTSMD

Last phone I got was Motorola timeport. Good phone.

So, got this one with all the bells, including Motorola Bluetooth headset.

Pros:
Superb synch function
Excellent PDA
Excellent signal strength
Excellent memory management
Cradle charges w/ just USB connector
Battery life better than others said

Cons:
Horrible phone receiver quality. Sounds muffled.
Inadequate volume-both phone & hands free
NO VOICE DIAL! Bluetooth headset & can't voice dial? What's this? DUMB, DUMBER, DUMBEST.
Hard to set up email & receive. 30 min w/Verizon.
Still don't have internet service, 2 days.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Verizon gets 1 more chance before I return it!!

 

Jan 19, 2005 by arnoldnj

OK - I got the phone 2 days ago. The telephone aspect is OK. Not great. Due to the lack of a manual I can't get my speed dials in alphabetical order.
I have spent 3 hours on the phone with verizon trying to get my internet & e mail features working. Last night thay finally got most of it working. I could go on the net - and receive my e mail - but I couldn't send. Today I spent another hour on the phone with Verizon as the e mail & internet didn't work today!! They told me they'd call me back in 4-5 hrs.
I am very frustrated - I didn't pay $476 for a simple telephone.

If I don't get this phoneworking by the end of today I'm sending it back to them. Then what? They din't have the Treo 650 & I can't see spending the $$ on the Treo 600. I do believe Verizon has the best covg & network & my family is on Verizone. Not a happy camper!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Uggggh!!

 

Nov 1, 2005 by brendybrat

I've had this phone for just over 3 months. I am a busy real estate agent and MUST be organized and have my contacts readily available at all times. I read the important information about not letting the battery and/or backup battery go dead or you will lost all of your information (calendar, contacts, appointments, etc). It was working just fine until this morning. I came into my office to find my phone DEAD!!!!!!!!!!!!! DEAD!!! EVERYTHING GONE! All of my appointments, schedule, escrow numbers, EVERYTHING. I almost died. Last night my main battery (not backup battery) was on 50%, which is above average for when I turn it off for the night. So, something went terribly wrong. I heard that smart phones can get a "virus" via the bluetooth connection which kills your battery really quickly. Maybe that's what happened. I don't know. All I know is I'm off to buy another regular phone, just the basics from now on!! And, a paper and pencil organizer!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


PP660

 

Sep 19, 2005 by Themis

Terrible ringers, can not be heard most of the time. Because of this, I have numerous miss calls.

Same goes for the alarm sound. The only ringer, you can actually set it on, is the (jig) sound. Which is the loudest that comes with these cellular PPC-6600.

I can not assign ringtones, after I was advised this service is available. I guess it was just to sell me the cellular. But, if I am wrong and this feature is available, can someone tell me how?

I am about to contact the manufacturer tomorrow, I want a different cellular. Not satisfy with this cellular at all.

Thanks,
Themis

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1...456 7 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1