Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=532&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung MM-A700 / SPH-A700

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  72  

Average Ratings

4.3
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4

Performs like no other

 

Sep 27, 2004 by bubble86

great earpiece and screen. good rf and multimedia is acceptable (will get better over time(.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


One of the best...

 

Sep 27, 2004 by yk32891

One of the best phones in the Sprint line-up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Simply better

 

Sep 22, 2004 by brad2891

this phone is better all around than my sanyo 8200 or toshiba 4050. get it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great

 

Sep 22, 2004 by tb1974

A+

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent phone

 

Sep 20, 2004 by nickjo

This is a great phone.

Everything about it is great. keypad is great. Screen is incredible. the menu is awesome. I had high expectations and it went above and beyond! I wish there was a speaker phone, but that is all I can think of that this phone could have in order to make it better. It blows any previous phone I've owned out of the water. 5.0!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Fantastic Phone

 

Sep 19, 2004 by Miggwilson

My wife and I just purchased two of these new Samsung MM-A700 phones. This is our first camera phone, first multimedia phone, and first camcorder phone.

In a nutshell...Fantastic!

Pro's: Great clear screen. Easy to follow menus. Easy to take crisp photos. Never thought we would find ourselves taking pictures with it but it does seem to come in handy for unexpected opportunities. Clear calls, No drop outs, Good signal strength.

Con's: No speakerphone which I would have liked. The ready link feature is also missing but honestly...with enough minutes or free PCS to PCS calling...why wouldn't you just call the person anyway vs. the walkie talkie mode. And at a cost of $10 or was it $20 per month for that feature...no thanks.

Strange: Once you take a picture and it is filed in the 'In Camera' area -- you can upload it to the website, you can email it, you can send it to another phone, you can assign it to a caller id, etc. -- that portion works great. If you then 'save' it to your phone into the 'Saved To Phone' area -- you can now only assign it to a caller id...you cannot upload it, transfer it, etc. Just remember to do all that when the pic is in the 'In Camera' area. Do NOT save to the phone unless you are done with the upload, etc. I cannot figure out why they did it this way...Do you?

Once I figure how to download pictures to the phone itself...I'll be rolling. I printed the 200+ page manual but have yet to go through it. That'll be a job.

In the month we've had the phone...Again...

Fantastic!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung A700 Scoop

 

Sep 13, 2004 by Numberpool

Alight this is the scoop on the a700 and how I came to this conclusion. I come from a Sanyo 5500 and before that a 4900. Both phones I would say were great but still had their flaws. I work for a company that develops applications for sprint phones and I would include myself into the "power users" area of phone usages.

After saying that this phone has got a lot of improving to go. I've worked with pretty much all phones sprint has to offer and this one seems it was released prematurely. Yes it has got some great features like the voice services, screen resolution, mega pixel camera, and a professional look. But when I dive into the more basic of features, text messaging, camera response, applications, it lacks.

First off the phone will not run any application with the phone closed, including that camera. That means no camera display on the external screen. Also when sending a text message you must wait for it to send before you close the display.

Second, all of us who are used to the signal strength of a Sanyo will be disappointed. I've found that in areas that my Sanyo kept at least one bar, the Samsung struggles to get service.

Also I think that more customization with what buttons do what would have been nice. Yes they do cover the Launch Pad nicely but I'd like access to the two hot keys at the top.

Third, when running most of the applications I've found it to freeze to a sprint screen, requiring me to remove the battery just to restart the phone.

Forth, but one of the great things about the this phone is that it puts out stereo sound to earpieces that support it, well this phone, and I've compared to another a700 and another stereo earpiece, requires the users to wiggle the connection so that it works.

Anyways alot of problems and I foresee alot more in the future with this phone. I'd suggest anyone that got this phone to know their return policy well. Anyone who keeps it longer than 30 days good luck to you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid Multimedia Performer

 

Sep 9, 2004 by tooterbugg

Here are some scores:
looks- 4
display- 5
keypad- 4.5
call quality- 4.5
web- 4.5
video- 4
camera- 4.5
menu- 4.5
RF- 4.5
build quality- 4.5
text msg.- 4
multimedia- 4
battery- 4

* overall- 4.5 *

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone, though TV needs work

 

Aug 30, 2004 by Bulvine

I had this Samsung for a little over a week and took it back. The screen is awesome and the sound is great. But the TV abilities need alot of work to make them worth while. The "camcorder" ability works well but 15 seconds is really enough time for anything I would want to record. I would have liked to see integrated bluetooth, SD I/O slot and PC sync abilities. I have switched back to my old kyocera 6035 phones until I can find the Motorola v710 or Kyocera 7135 at a decent price. I would have kept this phone if it was well under 200 buckaroos.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome

 

Aug 17, 2004 by wescott23

I cant believe this phone. Do not hesitate to buy this phone. The keyboard is very user friendly. The phone is scandelous!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1