Phone Scoop

printed October 20, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=5272&r=42407

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Google  ›

Google Pixel XL

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  29  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
4.5
Reception
4
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
5
Interface Speed
3.5
Audio Volume
5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4
Overall
3.8
Reception
4.25
Battery Life
3.8
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4.7
Interface Speed
3.2
Audio Volume
4.13
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
hide detailed ratings

Favorite Phone So Far

 

Apr 16, 2017 by BrokenMonk

I was very excited when the Pixel was announced (pre-ordered it the first day). I have been happy with the phone ever since I received it. It has been very response, good battery life given the vibrancy of the screen.
I've been using stock Android for a while now (Nexus 5 and 6P), and would be hard pressed to go back to an OEM skinned version. It is also very nice receiving the updates months before other Android phones do so I'm up on the latest features.
The screen is wonderful. I can use my phone while walking outside on a full sun day (battery life does take a hit but running at full brightness would do that).
The only complaint (and I'm looking for something) is the speaker. While it is good, and only distorts at the very top volume level I wish it was front facing or there were 2 speakers. I find myself needing to cup the phone when watching a video to easily hear without blasting the volume, and my hand usually covers the speaker at some point.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Pixel XL 128 gb verizon

 

Nov 1, 2016 by klinger1108   updated Nov 1, 2016

I bought this phone at the same time as the LG V20. I was a hardcore android fan up until a year ago when I bought an iphone 6s plus. I was looking for a more stable OS and took the plunge. I missed some of the features android had so I figured I'd take another look. The V20 was a mild disappointment, as most LG phones tend to be, but I really liked the Pixel XL. It had the stability I was looking for and made me realize something. The problem with android wasn't all in the OS, it was in the manufacture's skin over top of whatever version of android (at least to some degree). Here's my breakdown:

CONS;
- Lack of expandable memory
-Lack of removable battery
-Mono speaker
-No wireless charging
-Placement of fingerprint sensor
-Screen should have been 5.7"
-Cost

PROS;
-Excellent battery life
-Brilliant screen
-Fast processor/zero lag
-Fingerprint sensor works every time
-Camera
-Vanilla android/stability of OS
-Volume and power button all on the same side

Overall this phone is the most satisfying of any android phone I've used in the past 2 years. It just works. My cons are more of a wishlist for the next version but they don't take away from the user experience. I ended up returning the V20 because it just felt like the V10 with some modest updates. LG's software is a step behind everyone else's and makes it feel incomplete. The battery life on the Pixel XLwas the biggest surprise to me, as I take my phone off the charger at 7 am and plug it back in somewhere around 2 am with 20% left. And I'm not a modest user by any means. If you want an android phone that performs at all times then this is your phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

By far the best Android experience right now!

 

Nov 3, 2016 by newjerseybrotha

Let me start with the pros I've found, that please me...well some of them.

Pros:
Screen - Amoled and amazing! Sharp; vivid; and super crisp.

Battery Life - Wow is all I can say. The 3450mAh is truly amazing. I have gotten at least 5 hours to 6 hours of screen on time with every charge, and it just keeps getting better.

Performance - This is by far the best experience you could hope for on a phone that runs android right now. no other android phone runs better, period. No crashing; no force closes; no nothing; it's been amazing to use. I know that I will get the latest updates too, so this is a big plus for buying this phone.

Build quality - This phone is built by HTC, so you know it's great. I'm not a big fan of the glass top on the back, but it's growing on me fast. I don't really look at too much.

Cameras - The cameras on the phone are nice, and shoot great footage when use for video. The rear does well with still shots, while the front is just good not great.

Call quality is really good on this device, and worked well on the carriers I've tried it on.

I would recommend this device over lots of others out right now, if you want the best of android. Phones with overlays are cool, but they all seem to be missing something true android enthusiast need. Stock android with no bloatware.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Go Google! Pixel XL

 

Oct 29, 2016 by radcloser

I've had this for about 2 weeks. So this first review is for initial impressions:

PROS:
- Very Fast Processor. Quick & Fluid.
- Battery stamina excellent
- Excellent build quality
- Camera is very impressive especially in low light
- Speaker is very clear and adequately loud with zero distortion.
- Rear fingerprint sensor is quick and reliable

CONS:
- The display is beautiful but can't see it outside in the sunlight.
- This phone is very slippery. A case is a must
- Can't add windows to the left of the home screen
- Can't find a way to remove the date display from the top right corner of the display consuming a 2 x 1 chunk of real estate.

I know these last two cons are no big deal. Honestly I don't have any significant cons.

So far I love this phone. I also carry an iPhone 6S Plus. I elected to upgrade my Note 4 for this Pixel XL rather than upgrade my iPhone to the 7 Plus.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Terrible Phone

 

Apr 20, 2017 by russianspy1234

I literally lost my job because of this phone. Second day on it, I found the setting to have the phone vibrate when getting a phone call is off by default, even if the phone is set to silent. I missed some important phone calls. I fixed the setting, turn the volume to max, and still missed calls in my pocket. I proceeded to take the phone out and put it on my thigh and did a test call. It make some attempt at vibration, but I could not feel it. I proceeded to actually hold the phone in my hand to use it for something. Someone called, I missed it again because apparently the incoming calls heads up notification doesn't pop up when using a full screen app. Seriously, can we bring back PDAs? Because it really seems like a lot of mobile manufacturers don't actually want to make phones. Mind you, this thing is pretty good at being a PDA, but anything that requires knowing you are getting a notification (not just calls) simply does not work. The reception is also pretty bad, though I am admittedly in a poor service area. It just failed to get the signal worse than my previous phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.