Phone Scoop

printed September 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=519&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-E316 / SGH-E317

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.29
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4567

Good Phone, but there are better

 

Oct 25, 2005 by Bigmikecj7

I purchased the samsung e-317 back in may of this year. I had it until today, when I had to file an insurance claim. I really enjoyed the phone while I had it in its short 6 month life, quite possibly the best samsung I've ever owned. The phone had some great features that I enjoyed however I feel that samsung fell short on what I had expected from them. If your a first time camera phone purchaser this is a great phone for biginners, for those who are experianced with camera phones the simplicity of everything maybe a little tideous.

Pros:

Solid camera
Great audio quaility
Overall ease of use
Great Color Display

Cons:

Reception kinda spotty
No Video-Capture Feature
Can't set Ringtones to individuals in phone book
Hard to find Hands-Free sets
Dualband only

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone, Samsung good quality

 

Oct 4, 2005 by jacktwist

This phone has a great screen inside and out. The resolution is fantastic. Ringer volume is loud, speaker volume is great. Reception is just as good as any other phone I've used on the Cingular network. My overall impression of call quality is positive. The bad of the phone includes lack of ringtones and no speaker phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


UGH

 

Sep 19, 2005 by court7686

Be-utiful phone!

I bought this phone as a cheap alternative to the motorola v3 RAZR. sad to say, i ended up buying the razr anyway.

during the time i had the samsung(about 3 weeks) i experienced dropped calles about 75% of the time, no text messaging, and the screen would struggle/stutter when the phone was opened.

i(as well as cingular) in the utica AND albany NY area assumed there was a software problem with the phone and the batch my retailer got was bad.

about a week later a friend of mine got the phone, same problems, totally different location.

bottom line. dont buy this phone. ive had many samsung phones and this is not worth the money, ive loved my $50/freebies after mail in rebate 100% BETTER.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone BUT!!!

 

Sep 2, 2005 by Gandolf

I liked everything but the very poor sound quality. Odd thing is this only happens some of the time, maybe certain voice tones affected it. It sounds like someone has a mouth full of marbles. So garbled at times the person could not be understood!
Too bad, other than that it is a nice phone. Unacceptable, and is being sent back.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


316 is great very reliable

 

Aug 11, 2005 by aholliday

Great reception, wonderful sound quality, quick connection to gprs, but overall the best part about the entire phone is the reception and the games on it MOBILE CHESS ROCKS. I have a 6230 and my wife has this phone I think we lucked up twice.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone

 

Aug 4, 2005 by CoolCat168

This phone is nice way to go samsung! Just got this phone! i like it so far..

Pros:
Great reception (cingular)
Battery Life
both screens
Small durable phone
menus are easy to navigate
nice camera
can customize the phone easily

Cons
the could include more ring-tones
better phone book style..

Thats about it as far as cons! Great phone! I would recommend it!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bad Reception

 

Jul 13, 2005 by SpitFlame

Reception is really bad. Good thing I have my 3 year old antique Nokia phone with me. It gives better reception at home than the e317. I have to switch phones when I want to make calls from home.

Pros.
Feather Light
Good camera.

Cons
Reception, Reception, Reception

City : Atlanta, GA

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not the greatest

 

Jul 6, 2005 by nickjt

i bought this phone after my previous nokia broke. it seemed like a good phone; clean design, large bright screen, and a camera. after a week, i started missing the user friendliness of my previous nokias. there were so many nit-picky things. you can't set the phone to ring and vibrate at the same time, the ringtones and backgrounds are very limited, the default text message setting is predicative text. also, it just feels very female oriented. the image that shows up on the front display when a text message is recieved is an envelope with a heart on it. the volume adjust rocker switch on the side, does nothing for the ringer volume, and to change the ring volume you must go through long menus to do so.

over all, this phone just didn't suit my taste.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


STAY AWAY

 

May 26, 2005 by tjfrey

I have Cingular in the Chicago market and bought the E317 based on a friends recommendation. While I liked the design of the phone, it was a piece of junk. The reception was terrible - my wifes Motorola T720 got better reception than this thing. I returned it a week after I got it for a Nokia 3120 that I'm much happier with (and cost less)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


e316 mixed feelings

 

Apr 22, 2005 by gw100

The phone itself is a great entertainment phone. It has an awesome camera with pretty good video...choppy, but what can you expect from a phone. The functions are easy to a point but there are a bunch of buttons that frustrate me.

Pro's
Small compact and light phone.

Fun phone to play with love the external CID and photo taking with the true LCD.

Video is a plus.

Very Ascetic.

Con's
I drop a lot of calls (phone reception or service. Haven't determined that yet)

No "ok" button in middle. Just bugs me.

Phone is designed to have you accidentally go onto Mmode. Everyday I accidentally get onto that. There was 3 shortcut keys assigned to it when I first bought it and the middle button takes you to Mmode. again a very big frustration.

No speaker phone.

I enjoy the phone, but a few tweaks to for a better, less frustrating phone and definitely improve on the dropped calls. (Whether phone or service)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2