Phone Scoop

printed October 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=519&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-E316 / SGH-E317

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.29
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34567

Definately a great buy

 

Aug 18, 2004 by rayven_eye

I would give it a five if it had a speaker phone! The call quality is amazing...much better than my nokia. The calendar feature could be better as well as the battery life but I'm still breaking it in. I've had this phone for two weeks (AT&T) and so far I love it. I even convinced my boss to switch phones.
I would recommend getting a data cable to go along with the phone, though. It saves you time and trouble entering in dates and phone numbers.
Overall an excellent buy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I like it for the most part

 

Oct 5, 2004 by jhatchual

Great phone. Compact innovative and useful. I really like this phone the outer lcd display and inner lcd display are both extremly crisp. Awesome reception. the only things i did not like about this phone were that youy copuld not customise the outer lcd display, the headphone jack is shaped like a usb cable making it very difficult for after-market headsets. The video is a lil choppy but what could i really expect from a 2.8 ounce phone? By the way the standard ringtones are weird. other than that it is an excellant phone and a great buy. holla at me

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


best phone for cingular!

 

Oct 3, 2004 by bluecivicsi1

Wow! after using this phone for about a month now, this phone is unbelievable! The best part about this phone is the external and internal color screen, and the camera resolution! I also like how the menu is realli easy to use,unlike the motorola I used to have because the menu was so confusing to me that it took me at least several hours to actually get use to it! I'm also amazed of how light it is and the speaker is pretty good quality. I prefer this is way better than the motorola that I had which was v600. the only negative thing is speaker phone but it's ok I can live with out it...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung's Niftiest Little Flip

 

Sep 17, 2004 by glamourista

When I bought this phone it was a toss-up between the Moto V600 and this. Because of poor V600 reviews I'd read here and the E-316's sleek appearance, I decided to pick up the E-316...best cell choice I've made thus far! =o)

The phone is small, sturdy and has the essential features while not feeling overloaded. I wish the phone had a speaker, infra-red, or even better, bluetooth, but those are features I can do without right now. Those are the only cons I can think of.

As for the pros - the picture quality is great! There are tons of filters and effects I can apply, the picture capacity is awesome (500) and I can do video! What's cool also is that you can use the phone with the folder shut and use the external LCD as a viewer. I enjoy the external caller-id, the reception is quite clear and when texting the add-word feature is simple to use. It was a trick to get used to at first, since I'm a long-time Nokia patron, but I got the hang of it pretty quickly. Oh! Another good feature is the one-touch silent command...unlike my old Nokia's where I need to poke into my profiles.

All in all, Samsung has come out with a great little flip phone. Sometimes simple is better! If you've got some money to throw around, do consider picking this up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome phone.

 

Aug 15, 2004 by snowmobilejunky

This phone is more fun that I could have ever imagined it to be. The camera is very good quality once you get the zoom/brightness figured out. I don't have much to compare it do but I can say with some confidence that the reception and user friendly-ness of this phone really make it stand out.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Really Nice phone.

 

Jul 23, 2006 by Cingularmami

Im a phone hopper, so before I purchased this phone I had the all famous glamor RAZR. I had more mess than a lil bit out of that piece of lettuce. So I downgraded to this phone thinking it was going to be the worst decision I had ever made.

(skipping the story and to the point)
This is a good phone, the sound quality could be better, but other than that me and this phone are good, the ring tones were wack, but that is why they created ringer tones for you to buy. Its so lightweight and it makes like lil cute *bling sound when u open and close it. No blue tooth or speaker phone which could be bad for bussiness for those of us who are savvy, but when i had the option of both speakerphone and bluetooth i never used them. Reception is good but that has nothing to do with the phone but with the carrier mine is cingular. I always have all my bars. I have the Samsung E317 (which i think looks soooo much better than the E16).

Anyway over all this phone is hella nice, and if youre not picky and just needing somthing to chat on thats cute, this is the phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NICE

 

Apr 19, 2006 by NEXTELDONE

All I have to say is VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY nice phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just Fine

 

Feb 18, 2006 by Bannjio

I'd say this phone is pretty damn good. Not sure why people complain about dropped calls and poor speaker quality. I use it on Cingular in the North Western states region, I get at least 3 bars of service almost anywhere. It hardly ever drops calls like people say it does, and the software doesn't crash all to often, but when it does, it restarts just fine on itself. Not sure why people are saying poor battery life either, I let my phone go for 3 to 6 days at a time without having to charge it.

Pro's
External picture ID
Great color
Easy navigation/use
Lightweight/Good size
Okay camera
Good battery life
Good reception/Clear

Con's
Uncommon headset plug
No ringtone by contact, only user group
No speakerphone
No ring and vibrate, only vibrates 3 times and then rings
Phone crashes and restarts on rare occasion

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Horrible

 

Feb 9, 2006 by malyro8

I have purchased a total of 2 samsung phones within the past 4 years. With both the E-307 and the E-317, i have had complaints from friends, family, etc. that they can't hear me and that i sound like i'm in a tunnel while i am talking to them.
The first phone i had (E-307, i think thats the model?) started doing it after about a month of having it. I ignored it until it got so bad that i had to literally bang the phone every 2 minutes againts my hand in order for the speaker/mic to work.
I just called my phone company today because after having the 317 for almost 9 months, its doing the exact same thing. It's been doing it for a few months now but i just disregarded it. I am very unhappy with the samsung brand of mobile phones and will never purchase another one again.
My phone company is replacing it with a sony ericcson z502a...hope this one works a bit better for me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I like my e317

 

Dec 19, 2005 by ash416

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2