Phone Scoop

printed October 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=517

Home  ›  Phones  ›  NEC  ›

NEC 232E

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  7  

Average Ratings

1.81
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

I like it, never had a problem

 

Feb 26, 2006 by atfloral1

I like this phone, I've never had a problem with it before. I've read all the other reviews, but I haven't had a real problem. The only thing I don't like about this phone is that there are no games. Which suck but not important. The phone has a flash light on it which comes in handy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Slowly got worse...

 

Jan 13, 2006 by eunuch

I bought this phone several months ago when I accidently washed my nec525 with my pants. After a few weeks I was already considering getting a nec525 on ebay, because it wasn't available anymore. What attracted me to this phone was its improved picture quality, and that it seemed to have a similar interface to what I was used to. Neither of them seemed to redeem the phone however. I decided to stick it out at the time for who knows why and it continued to get worse.

PROS
'Better' quality pictures
No external button pressing problems
Loud enough both ringer and conversation
Ringer ID capable
Very bright screen can be used as flashlight

CONS
Camera doesn't always work.
Phone reboots when beginning a call sometimes
Address book wont load sometimes; need to reboot phone to get it to load
Awful battery
Paid $200
Low memory
Delay on button pressing
Fitness programming is STUPID to get useful stuff you have to pay per month

Worst of all: NOBOBY WILL READ THIS!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Below Poor

 

Oct 8, 2005 by avirji

this phone sucks. the 1st phone had a problem with the camera, and the 2nd one had major problems like the external display kept on dissappearing. im getting a nokia 6101 now, but if your thinking about getting this phone, DON'T.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall-not worth it

 

Sep 13, 2005 by josh_68310

I have had the NEC a232 for a period of 6 months now. The phone at first gave me a bad impression. Even with no files on the phone, it ran very slow and reacted slowly. The buttons are not raised and hard to push, even with small hands like myself. They are also small.

PROS:
Excellent camera quality
Large Screen
Bright/Colorful
Strong phone/Secure

CONS:
Extremely small external display
Small/Not-raised buttons(hard to press)
Could not save internet files(ringontes) on the phone
Phone reacts slowly like a dial-up computer
Somewhat large compared to some phones

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Many Problems - Not good choice

 

Jul 20, 2005 by blusdrmr

This phone has seen it's share of problems including a battery that does not hold a charge for more than a few hours or it goes dead and cannot be recharged. It has serious software issues such as the camera locking the phone up and you will need to remove the battery to shut the phone down to turn it back on. Same for the phone book. Trying to access the phone book will leave you looking at a "Please wait...sorting phonebook" screen until you remove the battery and re-start the phone. Also, upon start-up, you may see an exclamation point. You will have to do a full reset on the phone (located in the tools options) to remove it. This happens quite often. Also, the menu options take a computer degree to get through. Not user friendly at all.

Pros:
Good voice and ear piece quality.

Overall review:
Pass this one by when you are shopping for a phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good effort

 

Nov 30, 2008 by ShadowScorpion

Had the 232 for a few months now, and it's really not that bad of a phone. RF is pretty damn good, not to mention this sucker has EDGE data. Sound quality is nothing impressive, but it delivers the goods.

The cam dishes out pics with washed out colors... oh, and there's the fact it's 0.3MP... don't expect much.

And yes, the firmware IS slow. I just got used to it.

Bonus point for the ability to choose a backlight color for the tiny exterior LCD.

Bottom line, the 232 delivers an honest performance for casual call and text with the occasional web browsing at EDGE speeds.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I miss my other phone! (samsungx426)

 

Oct 4, 2005 by gravie

I'm glad I didn't have to pay for this thing. Sure it has some good qualities, but I miss my old phone! OK here goes:

Pros:
-Sturdy shell
-Good screen and camera
-Bright camera light (comes in handy in the dark!)
-I didn't pay for it

Cons:
-Too thick, bulky
-Charger is way to big and hard to travel with
-Battery SUCKS!(have to charge every 4-6hrs)
-Buttons are very hard to push and ugly yellow back light
-User manual is bigger than the Bible
-Unbelievable amount of dropped calls and text messages that don't get sent(having Suncom doesn't help-they don't get it)Area is Greensboro, North Carolina.
-Antenna is located at the mouthpiece, so to get more than 1 bar you have to hold it upside down to get better reception!
-Ring tones are the worst choices I've ever had in a phone, not one is normal.
-No games
-No easy locking mechanism

So, if at all possible don't get suckered into getting this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not a good choice

 

Apr 20, 2005 by jlowe

The NEC, like many phones, has its ups and downs. But in its case, the downs far outway the pros. My experience with the 232 is that it is not at all user friendly. The menus are hard to navigate, the buttons are flush with the body of the handset, and there have been many of these with software problems and glitches.

There is one good thing about the 232. In comparison to the Nokia 3220, its reception is better in some rural areas than the 3220. But that is the only good experience with the 232.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2