Phone Scoop

printed October 19, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=5094

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG G5

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  27  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4.5
Reception
4
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.5
Overall
4.25
Reception
3.75
Battery Life
4.67
Hardware Usability
4.75
Hardware Quality
4.92
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4.75
Audio Volume
4.75
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Fast and Forgiving

 

Jul 6, 2016 by DeepDog   updated Oct 12, 2016

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

After 2 years with a G3, I was surprised to hear LG was seeing low sales of the G5. Early versions had no app drawer and it seems the 'friend' or module concept didn't sell as well as expected. LG's new module system did give us the easiest battery swap in the industry.

Battery life is adequate but if you drain it, this phone is forgiving. 30 mins gets you over 80% with fast-charge and battery swaps are fast and easy. No need to pry off the back or do complex surgery.

G5 Friend modules are cheap thanks to low sales but none look all that appealing. Audio is already good so the Bang & Olufsen HiFi module doesn't seem worth it. The cameras work well and battery swaps are easy so the extra 1200mAh with the CAM Plus module also seems unfeasible. Thanks to low sales, an OEM charging kit with battery, case and charge cradle is found for under $30.

The Type-C USB means your whole collection of chargers has to be converted. But Type C plugs in up or down, transfers data faster, and is more durable than Micro-USB, so the conversion will likely be coming for all Android.

Pros
-FAST 820 chip, dual-core CPU - 4GB RAM
-20GB+ useable storage & 2TB external if you want it
-Great phone with good reception
-Battery life is pretty good and swapping is easy
-Excellent speaker
-Bloat-ware can be removed/disabled
-Battery charge 0 to 83% in 30 mins
-Music has good audio without the B&O HiFi Friend
-Gorilla Glass 4 deserves mention even though many in this class have it
-Camera quality excellent with wide-angle, laser autofocus and 2160p video
-QUAD HD display feels notably brighter than G3
-Headset jack moved to top and more forgiving for aux audio use than G3
-Type-C plug is USB-3.1 compatible and easier to use than Micro-USB
-Low sales means better price

Cons
-Not waterproof
-Upgrade to USB Type-C means converting to new cables and adapters.
-Side volume buttons

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Awesome phone on Verizon

 

May 18, 2016 by wecivus

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I have had mostly Motorola and Samsung phones. The LG software is far and above Samsung and Motorola. It runs very smooth with no lag on the UI. Sound is loud and clear, and battery life is way better than my Samsung S5 that i came from. The only thing i can say is bad is that the cellular reception is a little lower than my S5. Not by much, but it will drop calls in areas my S5 didnt. But im talking 2-3 dbm difference. It is better reception than the S6 though. I would definitely buy it again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Worst. Phone. Ever

 

May 13, 2017 by katyisis

Carrier: AT&T

I am on my 4th one in less than 10 months.

My first 2 had issues with the GPS dropping out at 3 months and 5 months respectively. Then, less than a month later, my battery (which I have had through all of this) decided to leak battery acid all over my phone and through the charging port causing an electrical fire in my car and the charger. The 3rd one also had voice issues with Voicemail, Pandora, and even the Mic to which none would recognize ANY voice and would either bypass it or just not work.

I was told by ATT that after I hit the year mark, if I have any other issues that it would be an insurance thing in which I would then have to pay a deductible (80+ dollars depending on how often issues arise) to get a refurbished one.

Not even independent battery places are allowed to carry or order the LG G5 battery because of so many issues.

To be honest, this phone had great promise and I was ecstatic switching from Apple to this, however, there have been so many issues with it, that I will probably never go back to any LG phone.

LG also has a recent (April 2017) lawsuit filed against them and the LG G5 is just one of the devices.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Right size for me

 

Apr 11, 2016 by waltermax

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I am coming from the Nexus 6p and loved everything about the phone except the size. I would have kept it if it wasn't so big. The LG G5 has a great feel and works wonderfully. I cannot fault it on anything. I also had the LG G3 and liked it a lot, especially the tap to open.
When all is said and done, the phone does everything I want it to do. Haven't run across any of the negative things that some have written about it. Once again, it comes down to what works for you. I'm not an advocate of any type of phone. I do, however, recommend that you go to a store and play with the phone to see which one is best for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

A Gem

 

Sep 25, 2016 by AnalyzeIt

Carrier: T-Mobile

This is a great phone and it truly is not being served justice by many professional reviewers.

While the design is not as exciting as other phones or it's previous design, I just put a case on for instant personality. The phone takes excellent pictures and since I'm into detail, MP do make a difference for my needs. The HD call quality (even to landlines) is amazing and totally appreciated. This is some new enhanced voice feature that was quietly released.

The interface is not overloaded and things run smooth. No need to install a third party keyboard app, the native keyboard works well. The audio quality from the speaker phone is awesome, it even vibrates at 60% or louder.

The battery gets me through the day, and I'm at 23% by bedtime. I'm sure that will drop as I start using Netflix.

This phone is a steal right now. I almost chose an unlocked phone, but I like the mobile hotspot, wifi calling and video calling (among other features).

I don't see myself using the "friends", but I would like to have seen a B&O friend.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Buyer Beware. Mic is located on TOP of phone. :(

 

Apr 4, 2017 by Lin0

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

First of all lets be clear that the LG G5 is called a cellular Phone, Right?
If its called a Cellular Phone then that means its supposed to be able to make clear and concise phone calls - meaning both parties connected to the phone can hear each other loud and clear. Well...
The Can't.
The microphone on the G5 is located on the top of the phone so that means if you are a girl with any decent length of hair, the hair brushing over the mic hole in the top of the phone will be heard. Or it will muffle the users voice.
Some people like to use their cell phone to talk to their loved one while laying on a pillow in bed...Can't Do That With The G5. Laying on a pillow and talking on this phone (especially using your right hand to hold the phone to your right ear) will muffle 90% of the users voice. That means the other party only hears 10% or less of what you said.
And to top all of that off (as if that wasn't enough) IF you are the person talking TO the G5 user, you won't sound very good to them. They may ask you if you feel alright...if you have a cold...is your day going okay because you Don't Sound Like Yourself.
Yeah. Utter FAIL on being a phone. It's totally impersonating being a phone. (For the record I have verizon)

Battery life is meh? Not impressed coming from Galaxy S5.

Anyway on to more positive things....ok...its got the best camera of any phone in 2016. I mean Camera's with an S because its got three friggin bada$$ cameras. It's got an awesome speaker for speakerphone and music and the ringer. It's almost too loud and too clear compared against any phone from 2016. Oh yeah one of the cameras is a rearward facing wide angle. It's tits. Period.
G5 has an easily removable battery. Yes I am jumping around...umm, it has the Fastest No Laggy experience of any phone on the market. The screen colors and vividness and sharpness and brightness are amazing - in direct sunlight even. And the G5 is the easiest cell phone to take apart and repair.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.