Phone Scoop

printed October 17, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=5082

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S7 edge

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  47  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
4
Reception
5
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
5
Hardware Quality
5
Display
5
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.15
Overall
4.54
Reception
4.23
Battery Life
4.42
Hardware Usability
4.42
Hardware Quality
4.58
Display
4.42
Interface Speed
4.23
Audio Volume
4.58
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge is really good call phone

 

Apr 28, 2017 by nehakpur

Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge is really cell phone with great camera, long life battery, good for internet use & so more awesome features. Currently its up-step version is coming soon in the market. I'm talking about Samsung Galaxy S8 pro+ with infinity display. I'm a team member of www.connectbroadbandservice.in and maximum of our team members have booked pre-order of Samsung Galaxy S8 pro+
We are so excited to use this phone ..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung 7 Edge - The great - the good - the UGLY!

 

Jan 26, 2017 by 524td   updated Jan 26, 2017

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I've been a smartphone user for nearly a decade - my first was a Samsung Windows phone (Great camera but UGH on the rest). After several Moto phones and based on the strength of the technical reviews I moved to the EDGE. Great phone + fine camera + battery that kept on keepin on and slick appearance. So based on the strength of research and reviews I went with one of the best rated and priciest phones out there. Loved it ...

It's been my practice to use a case on every one of my smartphones. Mostly since the "designers" seemed to concentrate on form rather than function. ESPECIALLY since the newer phones became slim in profile and slippery in my clumsy hands. The EDGE was no exception. Because the cases I've selected were grippy silicone I've rarely dropped a phone. And in the rare case I did the case handled the shock and protected the phone.

Well that was until last week :-(

The EDGE hit the garage floor from a distance of 2-3 ft. SMACK! Checked quickly and it looked fine - but a couple of hours later a small and barely visible crack appeared right on the curved edge of the display. It soon spread to the top of the phone. Still functioning perfectly it's nearly impossible to see the crack but it can be detected with a fingernail. UGH! The case was unable to protect the display that protrudes above it.

I'm learning that the display repair is very expensive and I'm weighing my options.

Net net - the curved display is a wonderful design feature but I strongly recommend than every user/owner of such a device use a case thick enough to protect the display AND add a screen protector for additional security. And here is the rub - like buying a beautiful painting and keeping it in a box ... OR purchase an insurance policy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Galaxy S7 EDGE

 

Sep 26, 2016 by Ubersales

Carrier: Sprint

I bought my GS7 EDGE from Sprint.
First of all, this phone has out performed everyphone I have ever owned on any network. This phone even makes the sub par Sprint network look good.

Pros:
Super fast
Gorgous screen
Superior battery life
Water resistant
Camera/Video capture
Wireless rapid charging
Sexy curved display
Good weight

Cons:
Micro USB vs Type C
Super fragile.

Of course I have a case on my phone, however, no good screen protectors are available due to the curved display. It slide out of my pocket in my car and fell onto the door frame (about 8 inches) and then onto the grass completely shattering the screen. Greatest phone I have even owned, yet I think every other phone I have ever owned would have withstood that fall.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Not Impressed

 

Jul 29, 2016 by betuwill

Carrier: Sprint

Switched from the Droid Ballistic Turbo to the new Samsung S7 Edge. I really am unhappy with the way it interfaces with the car Bluetooth. My Turbo could let me send a text by talking, however the S7 will only send preprogrammed "canned" text messages. Poor call quality too. Plus the battery life is no where near the claims by Samsung. Definitely will be going back to Turbo - and Verizon. Not impressed with Sprint either.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge is the STANDARD of Smartphones

 

Jul 3, 2016 by GoldenBlaze

Carrier: AT&T

I have been an iPhone user since the iPhone 3G. I have also owned android phones throughout my duration of being a cellphone user. Before I got the S7 edge, I was using an iPhone 6s Plus. Let me tell y'all something, when I got the Samsung Galaxy S7 edge, I wanted to throw my iPhone in the garbage IMMEDIATELY. The iPhone is a RELIC in comparison. This phone's processor is blazing fast and the upgrades to the Touch Wiz UI are outstanding. Samsung FINALLY has ironed out the Touch Wiz and Android kinks. Also the good ole SD card slot is back (shares the Sim card slot). The device runs so smooth, with no delays. The Super AMOLED screen is crystal clear and the call quality is so clear its almost scary how the noise cancellation makes you feel like you are talking in person, rather than on the phone. The pictures BOTH cameras take are so beautiful, I don't see how anyone would even want to take pics with an iPhone. The phone fits into your pocket perfectly and it is so lightweight, unlike the iPhone which is a brick in comparison. I must say I was so impressed that I HAD TO add a review here.

Pros
Fast processor with 4GB of RAM
Beautiful AMOLED screen
Smooth interface and UI
SD card slot is back and you can expand memory up to over 200 GB
Loud speakers with crystal clear sound
Nose Cancellation works flawlessly
Gorgeous and lightweight
Great battery life
Keyboard is a million times better than ever before
Edge screen has LED light
Smooth Bluetooth and wifi connectivity
Internet browser speed is super fast
Waterproof (according to manufacturer)

Cons
SD Card slot shares the SIM tray which may be difficult to access for newer android users
US variant only comes with 32GB on board memory

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great upgrade from note 4

 

Jun 8, 2016 by timwalls

Carrier: AT&T

Note 4 wonderful phone but the no software upgrades but the apps keep getting upgrades slow it down so much.this s7 edge is a beast best screen best camera battery life is amazing took it off charge this morning at 630 am and now at 1030 pm at 20 percent and I've used it heavy today with Facebook watching videos on YouTube and I always keep my screen on full brightness.i do miss the ir blaster the note 4 had.so guess it time to gather up all the remotes lol

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Curved screen is useless

 

May 4, 2016 by dave64

Carrier: Sprint

Left the Note 5 to try this phone. If you read web pages on this phone sometimes the type goes around the edge. You have to tilt the phone to see all of the words. It has scroling news on the edge of the screen but your limited to 5 stories then it shuts off. What good is that? You can see the time at night on the edge ...big deal. you look at that once or twice a night. I'm looking at my phone for around an hour a day and find the curved screen annoying now. When I first bought it I was skeptical but gave it a try. My $750 mistake. Oh and after trying 4 different screen protectors NONE of them stay on the screen all the way to the edge top to bottom. Washed hands and cleaned screen and still after a few days dirt and dust gets under the edges and looks terrible.
the curved screen serves no purpose with the camera, games, reading...really nothing. Please don't be fooled by the usless curved screen. It looks different but makes some things harder to see. Bad move sammy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Simply the Best!!

 

Apr 18, 2016 by autobond0069

Carrier: Sprint

No such thing as a perfect cell phone, but this is close!! I've had every phone on the market to date! The s7 Edge is incredible! Never liked Samsung that much, but the s6 edge plus and now the s7 edge are incredibly crafted works of art! If this beauty had front firing speakers I would have been on cloud 9!! Go get it, and let it shine on you! I have the silver chrome version and it's the best looking color on a phone ever!! Best phone overall on the market!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Simply Amazing

 

Apr 15, 2016 by WVidos   updated Apr 15, 2016

Carrier: T-Mobile

I read all of the articles I could find on this phone. I watched the unveiling online, and I pre-ordered it as soon as T-Mobile started taking orders. I have to admit that I had lofty expectations for this phone, and it has delivered on every level.

PROS:
Insane battery life. I am the definition of a power user, and I cannot kill this battery in one day.
Samsung's screens are the best in the business, hands down.
Camera. I was somewhat skeptical about the megapixel reduction, but the pictures are still crystal clear, and the camera focuses insanely fast. Great for taking pictures of kids who never stop moving.
The processor is blazing! This phone responds so quickly, it's almost as if it is reading my mind.
Design. Say what you will. This phone is gorgeous (especially in silver titanium).
Overall build quality is on point. Samsung really nailed this one.
Reception is good in Lafayette, LA using T-Mobile. Call quality is excellent. My hearing certainly isn't what it used to be, and I can hear very well when talking on this phone.

CONS:
The edge screen takes some getting used to. I accidentally hit it while talking on the phone.
Vibration is good, but it could be a little stronger.
No USB Type C. It is the future. Why not include it now?
Sound quality could be a little better for music.
TouchWiz is a big improvement over past variants, but it could still be a little more refined.

Overall, I would highly recommend this phone for anybody that loves Android, or is looking for a good reason to jump ship from Apple. Just between us, I have already converted three former Apple users to Android (particularly Samsung) simply by letting them mess around with my Galaxy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

It's Refreshing

 

Apr 8, 2016 by 2Sweet

Carrier: T-Mobile

This phone was not an immediate HIT with me. I looked at the edges and felt the design was overhyped, but it grew on me. The interface felt like a new experience instead of something too familiar.

I customized the EDGE screen, but found it’s uses limited. Nice concept though.

The S7 Edge’s screen is simply beautiful. I felt Samsung did a good job in getting a 5.5 inch display into one hand. Honestly for the first day or so, I felt the S7 Edge was missing something; a stylus.

The sound quality could have been better, but it is better using a wired headset. The fingerprint scanner is a refreshing improvement to the Note 4 and I think the waterproof option beats using a Ziploc bag for protection.

The camera… well my other device is a G4 on another carrier, so I see this as “it took you a year to get here” however, the low light photos are punchy. Anyway, the camera is much better than the Note 4, but I was underwhelmed compared to my LG G4 camera.
Media is very good. Speaker seems muffled. Samsung did a great job, but the S7 Edge is not for me. I sent it back for the Note 5.

Samsung Pay is GREAT! The reactions of those who watch you use it priceless.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.