Phone Scoop

printed July 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=503

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Siemens  ›

Siemens CT66 / C66 / C65 / C71 / C70

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  9  

Average Ratings

3.27
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Best Entry level phone

 

Jan 13, 2005 by phony_guy

feature packed entry level phone with very good display. the pictures look really cool on the display. I exchanged it for the samsung clam-shell, that one has no features at all and the looks were boring.

C66 design is small , nice, feels very light and good in hands. being a bar phone provides it with the advantage for nice reception.
good speaker phone , very useful feature set generally only found in high end phones. lot of personalization possiblities. I like it as a toy to play my games and show my pictures to my friends. Lot of useful features such as organizer with full calender functionality, calcular that supports unit conversions. normally all these features are only found on high end phones.
I have read problems about its reception, but I didnot faced any problems in south california. Battery life is very good, compared to the clampshell models from motorola, lg or samsung.
cons:
no side keys.
basic camera functionality, no video

I would recommend this phone to every youth, looking for an less expensive phone, that has camera, gaming engine, multimedia options, speaker phone.
overall for its price its well above the compititors.
When I showed it to my friends at school, they were surprised. Siemens needs to do more publicity for their brand and features provided in their cellphones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


not good

 

Nov 1, 2010 by narn3049

I got this phone as a replacement for a previous Seimens phone.

it worked for 2 days and then the screen went out completely. Couldn't get it working, and went with LG C2000.

Yeah, I liked it when I had it, but if it doesn't work, then I don't like it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good phone, but there are better ones

 

Dec 3, 2006 by viejodave

This phone is good by functionality but the camera relly sucks, what's that of CIF camera with 3x zoom????? What for????

This phone would be better if the camera could be at least VGA (640x480), there are other choices...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Unreliable and built for children

 

Jul 4, 2006 by jsjs

Using Cingular, Chicago.
Cons:
1. Phone powers off for no reason.
2. Charges are incurred for transferring data between computer and phone - so if you want to download your pictures, it sends a message to Cingular to charge money for the data movement.
3. Computer-to-phone software does not work well, I loaded on a Windows 2000 and a Server 2003, the W2k worked twice then died. I could not reinstall and their support was not at all helpful.
4. Phone software is kludge. Difficult to navigate to your Missed Calls or Incoming Calls, seems to want you to always use the main menu, which is full of ambiguous icons.
5. Very poor sound quality, to the person on the other end it sounds as though you are in a wind tunnel. Speaker phone is even worse, the person on the other end is really annoyed.
Worse yet, if you try to turn off the speaker and miss, the speaker is REALLY LOUD in your ear - actually painful. Many phones use one speaker for the earpiece and another for speaker-phone, this uses only one.

Pros:
Inexpensive. Has beginner camera and color is ok. Good kids games. Any "pro's" are far outweighed by the cons.

I would not purchase this phone. More, I would suggest that the CEO of Siemens use this phone for a month, then pay the bill - she/he might change their R&D some!

I will be switching to Nextel/Sprint soon, and am looking at a couple there. The funny thing about this with Cingular though, was that I had purchased a $200 phone from them, which was loaded with MS Windows, and it did not work well (kept crashing). I wanted to buy a really good phone with my list of whistles and bells, and this is what they recommended. Ugh. Can't wait to sign up for Nextel...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice phone but with some basic problems

 

Nov 25, 2005 by dpenaranda

I like so much this phone.
PROS
Nice speaker, very clear.
Navigation very well and the joystick is cool.
The camera is wonderful.

Cons
The games!
I want to reply to someone and the cell does not put the number on the compose of the message, i have to go and search again in the directory and select the person that I want to reply. Anyone know how to repair that?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Nov 2, 2005 by waleed

I bought this phone from Fido and it wirks great, It's got a great camera, simple menu and its packed with features. The Handsfree speakerphone also works great and the connection is also very clear.

Overall this phone is great, for the price, Igot it for $100.00 and I thing its got a great price forthis phone, Its great for a teenager.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Better than last Nokia

 

Mar 3, 2005 by mvx411

What a relief to have something different for once. Last month I got notice from cingular that my horrible Nokia was elligible for upgrade, I immediatly got on their website to look for a new phone. The Nokia 3595 I had was horrible in every way and I had been ready for a new phone for a long time. There I found the Siemens CT66. I had never had a siemens before and decided that since it was free, why not try it. It is so much better than any Nokia i have ever owned

Pros:
Small, lightweight
Good camera
Great speaker phone
Great talk time and quality
Neat joystick
Good standby time
Good graphics
AIM messanger
Nothing like my 3595

Cons:
Limited games and applications support
Hard to find accecories
proprietary jack only
Joystick can be frustrating when in a hurry

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


About CT66

 

Dec 7, 2004 by ab8285

I have sold quite a few of these phones. I haven't run into the same problem as some of the reviews on here. I find it all and all a good phone for the price. I still don't think it is as good as some of the other entry level phones out there, but compared to some of the Siemens products we have had in the pas this is pretty good. Battery problems can be related to the camera. Often the batteries on cell phones have not yet caught up with the features on those phones. Signal wise Siemens did great with the C61. This could have been done better with the CT66. Finally where are Mp3 ring tones. That make this phone an even better seller

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall---Not satisfied

 

Dec 4, 2004 by anthony1171984

I have just purchased the brand new Siemes CT 66 phone from Cingular wireless. I am using it on my Cingular "Take Charge" account. The apperance of the phone is great. It's light weight, compact, has an excellent speakerphone. All that sounds good...but hears the bad: The screen flickers, both AIM and mEdia Net do not work, bad signal strenght, short battery life, the phone freezes when you try to access the menu function, they "joy stick" is the oppisite of joy...you have to have a pair of tweezers to use it to access functions. Overall I am not satisfied. Guess I'll just go back to the Erriccson T227....at least it's cheaper and doesn't freeze up all the time!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


this is an all around good little phone

 

Dec 14, 2004 by joblo

the c65 is my first cell phone. after doing a whole pile of research i decided on getting it because it had most of the features i was looking for (IR, colour screen, camera) for the best price. its a great little phone -- good reception in the city and very few glitches.
I definitely recommend it.

pros:
-looks real nice
-small
-awesome colour screen
-digital cam -- not the best resolution but its neat
-IR that allows you to send pics back and forth between your cpu and the phone(free of charge which is great! as long as your cpu has IR)
-pretty inexpensive to buy even without a contract
-great for playing games while waiting for the bus etc.
-easy to navigate the file system etc
-joystick is easy to work with -- dont know what the guy above is talking about!
-great speaker phone

cons:
-camera could be better
-doesnt have bluetooth
-battery life could be a little better but isnt that bad really. i usually get 2 days out of it with lots of use before you have to recharge.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2