Phone Scoop

printed September 16, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=490&r=21799

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 9500

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  63  

Average Ratings

4.06
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great Phone

 

Feb 2, 2005 by pestrebillo

i have a p900 and it took me a while to adjust to my new 9500. After realizing its potentials and possibilities, i am convinced that my 9500 is indeed a great phone. Being able to access the net for free via WLAN and capturing moments via video (1hr) and pics ( virtually limitless ) plus being able to do word, excel and powerpoint files while you are in a beach, a formal dinner, in the bathroom, almost anywhere makes me wonder why the 9500 came into my life just this year!!! now i can stow my laptop behind whenever i travel because i can depend on my 9500.. truly, a great phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


9500 Overview

 

Dec 1, 2004 by The_phone_god

A firm but more reliable upgrade to the 9210i - featuring an impressive wi-fi and BT connection options wireless working just got cheaper.

Problems transferring larger files but persistence pays off.

If to bulky wait for the 9300 which is same bar wi-fi and camera.....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


i had this there hardly isnt one i've never had

 

Sep 24, 2009 by narn3049

Really great phone, I got it sometime back like 4-6 years ago, and it was my first qwerty phone.

I loved this phone but then things changed when i got my self the e71, when this was still out, as far as everything goes to this phone it was sleek and nice and i never had problems with it, don't regret this phone at all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nokia 9500 great

 

Nov 14, 2007 by mkardous2006

hi i have recently purchased a nokia 9500. i have had it for about a few months and i think by far it is the best phone i have purchased yet. i can im, check my emails, go on the web with wlan and even go watch videos on youtube. it is crazy. if you are thinking of buying one go right ahead. you can download almost anything to it, games software.. I HAVE AT&T and it works with there system even though it isn't an 850band phone. oh and it has a camera and video camera. plus word, power point and excel which are easy to use. you can talk and be on the web at the same time. GREAT PHONE.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NO Vibe

 

Feb 24, 2007 by motoman12345

Had the 9300 and was a great phone a little on the big side but was willing to put up with that but when i found out about not having the vibe ring feature it wend back simple as that

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I was fooled

 

Nov 20, 2005 by Eli H

I bought this phone because it was advertised as the total communications tool.
I was fooled. This phone does not fully support IMAP it allows only for the inbox to be synced not any of the other folders, it also does not sync any emails sent using the 9500.
I have no use for an oversized phone with only basic features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone - 9500!

 

Nov 14, 2005 by Malestone7469

I've owned a 9500 for a year now.

I use it as a PDA, computer, phone, voice recorder and many more.

I have stopped using my laptop totally.

The 9500 can be used to preview movies using SmartConverter 3.0 Read book using the MobiReader/Adobe Acrobat.

I have always used Sony Ericsson Phones, never really liking Nokias Customer Care. They take too long to upgrade firmware and such. Nearly 2 weeks at the beginning, now its 24 hours.

But the phone itself is so endearing!
Its a great device to have! Absolutely the best!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia 9500

 

Jun 26, 2005 by ronr9286t

I needed a data-centric phone, and I hoped the HP 6315 would do the trick. It soon became apparent that the disastrous 6315 wasn't going to cut it (and I'm an HP and Pocket-PC fan). I use an Audiovox 5600 on AT&T as my primary phone, but as a data device that allows me to leave my laptop behind on some travel, the 9500 is great. Being able to effectively respond to e-mails and find web-sites with a usable screen and an instant-on device is invaluable.

I bought mine directly from Nokia USA as none of the discounted internet sites had enough price differential to risk a non-US version.

I downloaded the latest PC Suite, and file transfer and Outlook synchronization has been flawless.

I'm using the IMap protocol to get e-mail from our corporate Exchange 2003 server, and I send e-mails through the Earthlink SMTP server. I'm not a techie, but with a little help from our Exchange Server administrator, the e-mail was easy to set up. I'm hoping that Nokia implements ActiveSync as an installable feature on existing phones so I can do all of my syncing directly with the exchange server.

I chose the 9500 over the 9300 because of the WiFi and keyboard size (I don't care about the camera). I intend to continue to use my 5600 as my primary voice phone.

The Highs - WiFi and Bluetooth. The size is not as bad as I thought it would be (long but narrow - goes in jacket pocket). Great screen, easy menus, can actually get useful work done on a tight coach airline seat.

Lows - Not a lot of software yet, anxiously waiting for a GPS solution (Tom-Tom just released their software for the 9300/9500, but not sure about US maps)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Nokia I can get along with!

 

Apr 2, 2006 by nokia 9500 user

I have had this phone for about 6 months now, and it does become a bit of a talking point...I always say the same things. 'It's a remote control..you can control people with it' or 'Well, I haven't lost it yet'. The phone is ideal, but only if you use the functions available. It is possible that the PHONE doesn't have enough features, but then it isn't a Personal Desktop Assistant. The 9300 hasn't got the ability to play video clips, which can be quite essential on the move. I did have a bit of a problem with the text messaging repeating itself, or not saying it had sent when it had, but after having the contract disconnected and reconnected again, there has been no probelms. I have yet to buy the TomTom 5 sat nav which is available...would make life in strange places alot easier!
Overall I would recommend this phone, but I'd like to stress the fact that it is only suitable if you use the functions. Excel, Word, Realplayer and the WiFi are all useful tools, if you need them. If you need them, get it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2