Phone Scoop

printed December 11, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4868&r=42299

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera Hydro Wave / Hydro Air

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

2.31
Overall
3.07
Reception
3.43
Battery Life
2.79
Hardware Usability
2.5
Hardware Quality
3.36
Display
2.71
Interface Speed
3.07
Audio Volume
2.36
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      

Garbage device, DO NOT waste your money.

 

Jul 10, 2016 by Eye2Ear

Carrier: MetroPCS

I have had the two previous versions of Kyocera Hydro phones, never had an issue until the Wave.
In literally less then a day I had problems with this phone. I was not able to send or receive mms/sms. I was on the phone with Metro Technical Support everyday, only one woman was the most helpful with tests to be performed but within a day or two phone was acting up again. Frustrating!
While on an imperative voice call this piece of garbage device decided to power down(full battery) and become non functional. This version you can not remove(easily/quickly) the battery. In less then one week I had to buy a new phone(absolutely not the Wave).
This was the worst investment ever made, if I didn't need a durable smart phone for work I wouldn't have purchased this model. I wasted my money and of course there are no refunds.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Critical Flaws

 

Apr 11, 2016 by Lime Green Medic   updated Apr 11, 2016

Carrier: MetroPCS

Pros: Ruggedized, Water Resistant, Battery life AWESOME.

Cons: Erratic software, no way to root to get rid of Metro PCS bloatware, cannot utilize even a large MicroSD memory chip effectively, automatically "call ends" when dialing from contacts, and...get this...the SOFTWARE drops the call. Not the carrier...the SOFTWARE just suddenly hangs up mid-call.

There has been one OTA (Over The Air) update, which corrected some early problems but caused others -- so, some problems solved, others broken. So I tried to contact Kyocera.

What a waste of time THAT was...

Kyocera has customer service on par with Verizon and Comcast, while Metro PCS, friendly and as helpful as they can be, aren't much help at all.

I am, at this time, shopping for another phone. Because when I'm calling for backup or to a hospital for a patient, I just can't have a phone which drops the call or has dialing glitches. NOT a good "first responder" phone -- if your phone is your lifeline or the lifeline of your patient, DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE.

If you don't care about dropped calls, or software glitches causing you to have to dial the same number 3 or more times in a row, if you have time to spare, this is an all around tolerable phone.

But for me? I'm going back to LG.

Sorry, Kyocera.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Would not recommend!

 

Apr 1, 2016 by keke

Carrier: MetroPCS

This phone is honestly a piece of no good. In a less than a month I have gone through 3 of the same model. I would not recommend it to anyone. It shut itself down for hours and more!!! Save yourselves the trouble. And please take it off the Market!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Kyocera hydro wave metropcs

 

Nov 3, 2015 by Justaguy357

Carrier: MetroPCS

I have talked to Kyocera Corporate office and they explained to me I might as well hold my breath, and die if I am going to wait for metropcs to get Kyocera to write the marshmallow 6.0 update for the Kyocera hydro wave so if you have this phone throwing it against a brick wall it will do you about as much good as it does with the Android 5.1 operating system its a great phone to get rid of and two companys that don't give a dam about your problems with your phone is metropcs or Android they could care less about the problems you have but if you would like to voice your opinion about this phone call Kyocera Corporate office @(858) 882-1515

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

The Hydro is not good as it used to be

 

Oct 11, 2015 by dennism5   updated Oct 11, 2015

Carrier: MetroPCS

The phone has its good points but .I have had two phones and two sim cards. And it's still tell me Metro Network not available. Till I reboot the the data does the same Metro did a trouble ticket. The tech sends a message saying problem resolved .When It's not I call back and put in another ticket Metro and Kyocera needs to do some kind of a up software update

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Garbage

 

Dec 13, 2016 by JasonBourne

Carrier: MetroPCS

I decided to write this review after buying a 64 gb sd card, and being unable to install it into this phone because it hasn't upgraded from an sd card technology that is almost SEVEN years old. Before this, I had to delete my games (which ran very slowly anyway) because I was running out of storage in my MASSIVE 3.5 gb internal drive partition. This phone is garbage, and every feature it has is mediocre. You will have a much better time just making sure you don't put your phone near any water than falling for this "water-resistant" phone that has the features of a 3 year old device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Kyocera hydro air at&t

 

Jun 8, 2016 by Jasonblackops

Carrier: AT&T

This phone is great rugged yes water proof yes fast everything yes great speed greats pics great quality I think the metro PCs version of this phone is prolly why you people are so disappointed cause yes metro PCs sucks and I wouldn't buy anything from them they are literally the worst phone company available but back to this phone fast charging I would defiantly recommend this phone to others sound is great its an overall great phone and you people complaing buy an at&t one and then u will see the difference switched from a galaxy exhibit to this and I like this one better so yeah hope that sums it up for you guys

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Nice rugged,waterproof phone

 

Mar 16, 2016 by gsxtce

Carrier: MetroPCS

Pros-full day battery life,bright display, band 12 on T-Mobile really helps inside buildings,rarely lags.
Cons-none

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.