Phone Scoop

printed October 17, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4861&r=42063

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S6 edge+ (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  21  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
4.5
Reception
4
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
5
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 

See also: Review: Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge+ for Verizon Wireless ›

 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.28
Overall
4.13
Reception
3.56
Battery Life
3.78
Hardware Usability
4.69
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4.33
Interface Speed
3.67
Audio Volume
4.56
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

S6 Edge Plus - A really big and cool device.

 

Aug 22, 2015 by Nixoncarmichael

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

So working for a carrier I get to upgrade every few months, this time around I grabbed the s6 edge plus.

The good:

Inductive charging. This is a big deal for me, not to be that guy, but this is 2015, I'm sick of plugging crap in to get a charge. Inductive charging is a godsend, I get home, toss that sh#% onto a wireless charger, and call it a day.

The screen is big and bad as hell! I use my iPhone for day to day stuff, when I'm lying in bed at night to get caught up on YouTube and Netflix, I click the lights out, plug head phones into my s6E+ and binge on Daredevil and Breaking Bad eps.

The Bad:

Android still sucks. Even though I love everything about this phone from touch wiz, to multi tasking, to screen, android still glitches and shuts down for no damn reason. Good god.

The Overall:

This thing rocks, I love multitasking, I love the big beautiful screen and I am falling in love with Google now.

This is a killer damn device. If you can get past the glitchy os, this is a great mobile video device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Awesome

 

Dec 25, 2015 by pennykitty   updated Feb 1, 2016

Carrier: Sprint

I won this phone from Phonescoop (thank you again!) and could not be more amazed.

The display is so superior and bright - very crisp and clean. The camera is a 16x. Useful for far beyond casual pictures. In my job I carry a camera in case I have to document something (damages, violations) so i need something that will stand up in court. As a backup in case I'm not toting camera this will more than suffice.

The sides of the phone will take getting used to as they can snag when youre swiping screen but will be useful to have information and resources immediately available to me. Our operations are incredibly virtual and we rely on the ability to communicate via these types of devices. As a manager this is a useful tool.

The audio volume is very good. Many of my conversations are outside or in a construction type work area.

Not sure if these things are resource hogs or not, but run a Sims game, facebook, wordswithfriends, email, and browse with no lag.

When I first learned I won a phone prize I was given option of which one to choose and at first was looking at common sense phones. Then decided what the heck and went for the latest and greatest. I was not dissapointed. It's a beautiful piece of equipment.

The editorial review is not embellished one iota, this is the Ferrari of phones. Phonescoop said hey if you don't want it you can sell it online but I'm keeping it.

Updating review:after 1 1/2 months daily use. if you dont use headphones with this, do it just for the experience, the sound on this phone is amazing. Have learned how to use the edge tab, very very handy for multi-tasking. Also, it slid, dropped and rear glass cracked. Very dissapointed. Have had a couple dropped calls however the phone is my primary business contact above even office tel. so constant use. I dont think there's any phone or service that hasn't dropped a call. Although Sprint provided the phone their service pricing doesn't make sense and will switch carrier.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Galaxy S6 EDGE+ = Longest Device Name, Best in Class Phone

 

Dec 11, 2015 by VLaRueC

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Upgraded to this phone from a Samsung Galaxy Note 3 with Verizon. The big screen didn't scare me but losing the pen was a mild concern. I've been using the device for 2+ months and this is my review:

PRO:

Qi Wireless Charging - Works with Qi compatible chargers. I recommend getting a fast charging version.
16 MP Camera - Great camera and I love the double click to activate feature. Side Note: I turned on Voice Controls so I say "Cheese" and the phone responds every time and takes the picture.
Dual Curved Glass - At first, I thought it was a gimmick. I have since tucked my important work apps on the APPs EDGE and some important contacts on the PEOPLEs EDGE. This makes the curved glass feature functional!
One Handed Mode - You have to manual turn this feature on but when you do, it's a nice version. I like the iPhone version of this feature better but Samsung has a great take on it too.

CON:

IR Remote Feature Missing - I actually liked having the TV remote capabilities.
Battery Life - The phone is great for battery but I wish they would have made the phone a tad thicker to accommodate a bigger battery. 4000mAh would have been nice..
Verizon Bloatware - No One likes the Carrier Bloatware. Please stop it and make it available for DL off the Play Store.

Should you buy it? Yes - If you are nice with phones. I would not recommend buying this if you are clumsy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Premium look but double edge hard to use

 

Dec 11, 2015 by Simplepink

Carrier: Sprint

This is a nice gold premium looking phone but after using for the last few months, noticed that it is very hard to hold and use due to the double edges. While holding the phone, the edges are sensitive to touch. A lot of times, the touch causes the screen to flicker because the screen senses user trying to type something on the screen. One has to be very careful on holding the edges of the phone not to touch the screen area which sometimes make it very frustrating using the phone.

The option of the double edged hasn't brought a lot of benefits to the phone. Not finding great use and having double edge. The idea seems really cool but it becomes a very big usability issue with the screen sensitivity.

The speakers are located at the bottom of the phone which a lot of times makes it very hard to hear anything because you could be holding the phone and possibly covering the speaker causing the sound to be muffled. The location of the speakers are not the best place to be.

The phone does get quite hot and hard to hold after long periods of use. Beware and cautious of the heat level that could arise from long periods of use.

After few months of use, the device is already starting to lock up and slow down at certain points of usage. It has frozen up at times but after a soft reset, it does perform better.

One interesting point noticed is that there is no ability for the device to rotate in all angles. When setting device to auto rotate, the device is unable to rotate in all directions. It is only able to flip between portrait and landscape but if the user decides to do an upside down portrait, it doesn't work.

BASEBAND: G928PVPS2AOK3
BUILD: LMY47X.G928PVPS2AOK3

Overall, this phone is nicely built hardware wise. Has a great sleek look. Has received a lot of attention from friends, family, and strangers pasding by because of the look. Regarding usage it is not the best usability experience due to the double edge and sensitivity of the screen. Fantastic display!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Love this phone

 

Dec 11, 2015 by Isaacblkberry

I currently have this phone on the T-Mobile network and wow! do I love this phone. It's super fast and sleek and I always get complements from strangers on how beautiful it is. The camera is super clear, fast and easy to use. I think Samsung has definitely made huge improvements on the hardware specs.

Pros: hardware, camera, screen, edge display and speed

Cons: Battery life

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Galaxy S6 Edge+ the phablet youve been wanting

 

Dec 9, 2015 by The Victor

Carrier: Sprint

Pros:
1) much needed increase in size from the original S6 Edge

2) great feel to the device(build quality)

3) Pretty good battery life

4) one of the best cameras i have ever used on a phone and able to shoot up to 4K

Cons:
1) the edge screens leave the phone very vulnerable to damage

2) no stylus availble like the note series

3) maybe to big for most people

4) no removable battery

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

I absolutely love my s6 edge+

 

Dec 9, 2015 by mrslee15

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

This phone if amazing. I love the live broadcast and the video quality. The sound is wonderful and crystal clear my only issue with this phone is that it gets really hot and it does not have the battery life I thought it did but overall it's an awesome device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best Samsung phone ever made...period.

 

Nov 30, 2015 by iamthephonemaster   updated Nov 30, 2015

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

This phone is by far the best Samsung phone ever made. It is EVERYTHING an ultra premium device should be. The screen is amazing. You couldn't see a pixel if you used a magnifying glass. The colors are rich and mostly accurate. The device feels great in the hand thanks to its relatively light weight and sveltness. Movies and pictures look great on it. The camera is top 2-3 in ANY device on the market. Right there with the V10 and Nexus 6P. Thanks to the Octacore processor and ungodly 4 gigs of ram this thing screams through anything you throw at it. The only person that could possibly think this thing is slow or laggy is some Isheep thats used to dumbed down operating systems with no features and even less power. I guess when your entire phone is one big app drawer with no widgets or real customization of the OS anything would feel different. But, anyways, this phone is wonderful. If you want a supremely powerful device that future proofs you for 2 years and makes most other devices have peni$ envy then this is the one for you. If you're happy getting 5 year old features repackaged to you every year as new and hardware that's decidedly last gen, well...I guess you can buy the fruit.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

overrated

 

Dec 10, 2015 by fabianararat18

Carrier: Sprint

This device is to me over rated. I really do not the the use of the edge and for about $100 less you can get a Note 5 which comes with the pen. The pen to me is very useful for note taking.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.