Phone Scoop

printed October 20, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4776

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG G4 (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  10  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4.5
Reception
4
Battery Life
3.5
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
5
Display
5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.89
Overall
4.33
Reception
3.33
Battery Life
3.89
Hardware Usability
3.44
Hardware Quality
4.33
Display
3.11
Interface Speed
3.83
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

good phone for the $

 

Oct 31, 2016 by metropical   updated Jul 22, 2017

Carrier: T-Mobile

I came from an HTC M7. I'd have gone for the M9, but there wasn't much improvement. Same with the somewhat later M10.
HTC is a better build, but this is pretty good.

Like all current high end phones, it's too big for my taste. The M7 was just right.

This is a good sounding phone with solid reception.
Fast WiFI switching.

Plenty of storage space, though I added 32G. Decent sounding audio for music playback, as long as your source isn't less than 320kb.

The screen and camera are very good.

The plastic back scared me, having come from all metal.
So I bought a .3MM case.

Removable batt is nice, but I always have a charger and cable and wall current available.
Battery life is good. 12 hours with lots of screen time.

The touchscreen has always had an intermittency issue.
Matter fact the mobo just blew out and I sent back to LG for in warrantee repair/replacement, even though it is out of warrantee.

I rooted and unlocked and put a de-bloated ROM to it. That helps it perform marginally better.

A year after the factory refurb. I think I'd have a tough time buying anymore LG product. Touch screen is peeling. Phone runs hot often.
Needs a daily restart and weekly cache wipe for it to function as well as the HTC M7.
Yea, that's right, the M7.

Although I have 120 apps, over 60 are Greenified. Mostly I use for text, email, weather, occasional Chrome and Metal.
woof!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Better than expected

 

Sep 3, 2015 by AbeGzz

Carrier: T-Mobile

I was never a big fan of LG phones, I initially ordered a Nexus 6 and even though I love Vanilla Android I could not live with the battery life, I live in an area with poor coverage from my carrier, So I sent it back and ordered this LG G4 and I am actually very pleased with it, Its affordable compared to others with similar specs and LG' s software has some pretty useful add ons that make me forgive the fact its not Vanilla Android, and under medium usage i get a full day of battery life which is something not very common these days.

PRO's
Good Battery life and it is swappable.
Great camera and video recording.
Beautiful screen.
Sd card slot

CON's
No wireless charging out of the box
Screen size is a little larger than i would like.
Stock OS and apps take up about 10gb
Rear facing speaker.

Overall I think its a great phone for the price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Hugely better than my old S$ and wife's S5 and new S6

 

Aug 7, 2015 by miketh

Carrier: T-Mobile

Features not on my Samsung that are useful:
1 Option to create large keypad and dial pas.
2. Has long lasting battery that is removable.
3. Has SD slot.
4. Camera has OIS (optical stabilization). I have a hand tremor and can now take pics.
5. Has all the bands now used by TMobile (S6 has that).
6. Screen is very bright. I leave it on brightest setting because it is often used outdoors when "on the job". Battery still lasts the whole day almost all the time. (Knowing I have an extr battery w. me at all times gives me the reassurance I need to avoid worries about having a dead battery. Since I keep a phone for 3 years - and batteries rarely last 2, know I don't have to go for an expensive battery replacement at some point.

Too bad LG (and HTC) have been overwhelmed by Samsung in the highend Android business.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

A reasonable upgrade from G3

 

Sep 5, 2015 by mingkee

Carrier: T-Mobile

Good:
B12 LTE with VoLTE
Clear screen and it looks better than G3
Speaker is loud and balanced
Removable battery
microSD (currently I am using 128GB)
Backside operation
Tap to wake
G3 screen protector can be used on G4

Bad:
It can be very hot sometimes
Touch sensitivity (except you have 10n update)
Bloat can hinder the operation (but you can root it to remove)

If you're with T-Mobile, upgrading from G3 to G4 makes more sense because it has B12 LTE.
Battery is similar with G3.
"Halo effect" is gone on G4

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Easily one of the worst phones ever (AND I love LG)

 

Sep 20, 2017 by narn3049   updated Sep 20, 2017

Carrier: T-Mobile

Easily the worst phone I've owned and I thought the S4 was bad. The screen was a very good adjustment, coming from a 4.7 inch display on the iPhone 6. The fact that I could add other devices other than TV's under devices for remotes, actually is better than the current phone I own. I'm expected to add a TV first under Peel remote. LG actually had this right.

The rear button placement is actually very handy. I can't speak highly enough of the on screen controls, less accidental button pressing.

Tap twice to awake the screen. Still trying to get used to my phone now (NOTE4) not having this feature.

I've owned many phones so I can pretty much grade on a case by case basis. I purchased this to replace my iPhone 6. Everyone always talked about how the G4 was going to be the best phone yet, however, I feel as though it's a hunk of junk. It's not worth it.

The charger had to be replaced 2 times, in store since I had the phone (7 days)

The phone continuously dropped calls, no matter how good the signal. I could never get signal. The sound coming from the other party was static, almost like they were on an AM radio station. Same complaints on the other end of the phone. Tried another unit as was in my 15 day return period. The loudspeaker for media and speakerphone broke. The leather faded inside of a normal case. Just shoddy workmanship. I returned it, and couldn't be happier with my choice in doing so.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Started out strong, not so good now

 

Dec 28, 2015 by jmineo

Carrier: AT&T

I really wanted to love this phone. the buttons on the back were easy to get used to, the processor was fast enough to run the latest andriod, but then it wasn't. after several months and several andriod updates, it now acts like a 4 yr old phone. it lags, the voice quality is sketchy, people often complain that my voice cuts out. i have problems connecting to wifi and bluetooth devices. I often wait 5-10 seconds for the phone to respond to keystrokes or actions. there are UI bugs that have plagued this phone since day 1 but have yet to be addressed. The battery life is really poor, less than a day, and the only saving grace was the free battery and charger promo.This phone has turned out to be a major disappointment.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Better Than Expected

 

Dec 14, 2015 by eze2dat

Carrier: AT&T

This is my very first LG phone. I've always been with HTC but wanted to try something different for a change.First off, I love the fact that it has a removable battery & micro sd slot - it's the main reason I've strayed away from Samsung phones. Still getting used to the buttons on the back but overall a nice mixup to the same old. Battery life was good at first but started to drain within hours. Has since improved since I found an app for clearing our RAM & background programs.

As far as reception, i don't know if it's more the phone or the carrier, but havent had a single issue getting a signal anywhere I've been.

Would be a definite recommendation to anyone looking for a new phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

LG G4 Review from Owner/Salesman

 

Dec 10, 2015 by Ubersales

Carrier: AT&T

I sell wireless devices for AT&T. I have owned Samsungs, HTCs, iPhones, you name it I have probably had one. This is my first LG owner experiences, but as far as I can tell I have not owned a better phone on the Android platform. I won't name too many specifics, but other than some slight software issues, I think this is tied with the Samsung Note 5 as the best of Androids line up. I just don't like Samsung's TouchWiz UI. I highly recommed this device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phone

 

Dec 10, 2015 by angifro

Carrier: T-Mobile

Amazing camera. Decent battery life. With heavy usage it lasts me around 8 hours. The removable storage and battery are great features. The leather back holds up well although I use a case. LG's skin for Android is not the best. I prefer stock Android but that's where a launcher can solve that issue. Overall a great sleeper phone!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.