Phone Scoop

printed December 13, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4773

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG G4 (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  30  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4.5
Reception
4.5
Battery Life
3.5
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
5
Display
5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.58
Overall
4.58
Reception
3.75
Battery Life
4.75
Hardware Usability
4.08
Hardware Quality
4.83
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4.25
Audio Volume
5
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone!

 

Dec 14, 2015 by theragtopman

Carrier: Sprint

This is the best smartphone I've ever owned and used! (For context, some of my previous phones include the Samsung GS5 and GS4, the Moto X and G, and even a OnePlus One, among others.)

I've been using a G4 since June and I must say my initial impressions were not good as I had 2 of them fail within the first 3 months. Fortunately, they were covered under insurance and Sprint replaced them with new units each time, but the hassles of doing so was frustrating. The unit I'm using now has been going strong since September, so fingers crossed this one lasts until I decide to retire it.

What I like about the G4 is the large 5.5" screen, the replaceable battery, the camera, and the buttons mounted on the back. Most of these features are covered in depth in numerous articles and I can vouch for all of them! The screen is beautiful and large enough to read even small fonts, while LG managed to maintain a thin profile for the phone. The camera is so good that I find myself using my DSLR less and less. And the rear mounted buttons and knock codes surprised me in their usefulness.

What I don't like about the G4 is the battery life and the look/feel of the phone. The battery life is just not good - I can barely get 5-6 hours with even moderate use. And while the leather back helps a little, the front of the phone is just a black slab and the whole unit just feels light and flimsy.

I'd highly recommend the LG G4 and I actually have (my girlfriend switched a few months ago and she loves hers too!).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Awesome Phone!

 

Dec 13, 2015 by vynjunior

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I have had my G4 for about 2.5 months now and I am very happy with it! Of course you wanna know the PROs and CONs of this deviece...so here we go:

PROs:
- Interchangeble battery...big plus... when one goes dead I just pop in a new charged battery and ready to go again!

- Expandible memory...the phone comes with 32GB but you can expand to 2 TB...that is just insane...that is like loading about 1000+ movies onto my phone!

- The camera is one of the best I have seen on a phone...it gives you full manual control and is very high quality. Cool features as well like a timer, key phrases, front and back capture at the same time, etc.

- The processor is great...quad core processing makes it easy to multitask and the phone keep working like it is expected to.

- The quad HD screen 5.5" is perfect for doing a lot...I watch most of my favorite tv shows on my phone actually.

CONs:
- I would have been great if this phone had the finger print scanner for easier access.

- The curve of the phone can make it a little hard to keep a tempered glass screen protector from cracking.

- If you are in a poor reception area and have Advanced HD calling on in your settings...you will drop a lot of calls until you turn this feature off...if you have great signal don't worry about it.

- Besides what I have mentioned...there is not a whole lot wrong with this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

A really good phone

 

Dec 13, 2015 by studabaker02

Carrier: Sprint

I'm coming from a HTC one M7. I decided to give LG a try after all my previous phones were HTC phones. I got the phone and realized that I loved it. The LG worked well with great reception. I could get a signal in areas that I never did before. My service is with Sprint and there are areas that service is poor, but this phone helps the situation. The phone is very responsive and the experience is great. There was a down side. The touch screen did not register touches all of the time and I did have to return my first phone after 3 weeks because it began restarting on its own 6 - 7 ties a day until it never managed to restart the apps. Even a factory reset did not work. Once I got the replacement, all has been well.

Pros:

- This phone has an amazing camera. The interface is great, video looks nice and the manual camera controls are the best.
- The screen looks nice and colors seen fairly accurate. It does not get extremely bright, but it is a LCD panel. Nothing too overly saturated either.
- The phone gets a great signal and LTE works pretty good on Sprint.
-Removable battery and a SD card slot is great to still have.
-The build of the phone is not as good as other phones with metal or glass, but the leather back is a great new addition. The curve to the phone helps with the grip.

Cons:

- The phone does heat up, but that is also an issue with most 2015 phones.
- There are a few cases of lag, but nothing too bad.
- The touch screen could be more responsive, but an update did help some. Maybe another update will fix it all together.
- The speaker is fairly loud, but not too clean and on the back.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best phone I have ever owned

 

Dec 10, 2015 by slayeralex94

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Having owned a Samsung Note 3 and Motorola Droid X2 prior to this device hands down this phone blows those two out of the water.

Pros:
Screen- The quad HD and the brightness give it an edge over both devices I've previously owned.
Call Quality and Volume- Best quality for calling and the volume is loud enough to even use in a crowded restaurant.
Camera- The camera is so good it can replace any point and shoot that I owned.
Storage- The 22GB the phone comes with after the software and the preloaded apps is decent, then add in a 128GB SD card and it is more than enough.
Battery- The battery does only has about 4 hours of on screen time, but the standby time on a work day with a moderate amount of usage is very good. With only using it about an hour throughout the day I can go until I get home with about 75 percent battery.

I have had the phone since day one and never looked back. It is a great phone recommended it to my older brother and he picked one up too.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best All Around Phone of 2015!!

 

Dec 10, 2015 by AutoBond007   updated Dec 10, 2015

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Top 5 camera, removable battery, SD card slot, curved display,big time customizable UI, top end phone calls, incredible Quontom HD IPS display, wireless charging capable, above average speakerphone, primo build quality!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Excellent Phone

 

Jun 23, 2015 by simpsjd

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

After using the Samsung phone as well as the Motorola, I did my research and moved forward with the LG G4, and do not regret it what-so-ever.

Pros
Loud - you can hear this one and it sound is very clean
Call Quality - compared to the aforementioned devices this one holds the call better in the areas known for "weaker" signal
Camera - It is simply incredible and worked faster than the S6 in my testing (in the store)
Memory - 200gb card installed runs so fast!

Cons
Screen - is great but I do think the Samsung may have been a little sharper
Battery - While you can get another one the phone does seem to burn through the 3000 mAh battery a bit fast

After using the phone for 2 weeks now I am very pleased with the purchase would recommend it over any of the current Android options.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.