Phone Scoop

printed October 22, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4715&r=42303

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S6 (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  52  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4.5
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
5
Display
5
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 

See also: Review: Samsung Galaxy S6 for Sprint ›

 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.1
Overall
4.6
Reception
3.4
Battery Life
4.2
Hardware Usability
4.1
Hardware Quality
4.8
Display
4.35
Interface Speed
4.45
Audio Volume
4.8
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Too many hardware problems

 

Jun 21, 2015 by jeffpjeffp

Carrier: AT&T

I really wanted to love this phone - it's a decent size (still a bit big for me, but better than most), it's fast, camera is amazing, screen is beautiful, and I really liked my Galaxy S4. But I've had to return it twice now with hardware failures so am bailing and going to iPhone while I patiently await the Nexus 5 hardware refresh (fall 2015?).

Pros:
- size, speed, camera, screen are all great
- great connectivity on AT&T
- bloatware isn't out of control

Cons:
- first hardware failure: the ear speaker stopped working after a week, so could only do calls on speakerphone or headset. Replaced device.
- second hardware failure: after a week on the replacement device, a bunch of the sensors suddenly stopped working, so no screen auto brightness, no landscape mode, no compass, no accelerometer. GPS still works. Interwebs report seeing this usually with fast charger use, however I don't have one - it just died on its own.
- often drops WiFi when WiFi roaming in our house (we have 2 routers, same SSID on different channels, and it often can't deal with that) - very unreliable.
- fingerprint reader isn't great - usually takes 3-4 tries before it'll recognize me

Sadly I don't think I'll be buying from Samsung again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Galaxy S6 For Cricket

 

Apr 7, 2016 by patwackp

Carrier: Cricket

Hey Everyone!
Bought the Galaxy S6 on Cricket back in January of 2016 from a Cricket Corporate store in Boise, Id.

I am absolutely loving it.
The only thing that I don't like about it is the Battery life.

This phone is so much better than the Apple 5s that I was using. in terms of Reception, Voice Quality and so forth.

I have since found out that it even picks up more LTE frequencies that Cricket/AT&T uses then the iPhone does.which is nice.

I even like the Rapid Charger Adapter that it uses. Beat that Apple!

Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Battery

Patrick

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Very good phone, but still wish I had my LG G3

 

Dec 12, 2015 by eh4860   updated Dec 12, 2015

Carrier: Cricket

The phone is a very nice phone. It's generally very fast and the camera has been excellent. The battery seems to be much better now that I have 5.1.1. I also use a Gear 2 Neo watch with my phone. I don't know how much of a drain the bluetooth is doing on the phone, but I don't have to wake up the screen nearly as much. The screen is good when you look at it straight on. The colors get funky when you look at it from an angle. The colors were more natural on my LG G3. Signal has been good as have the data speeds. I love the IR blaster on it...best I've used. The camera offers lots of adjustments and performs very well. There are RAM management issues on Lollipop. If I stream online radio for more than 1/2 hr the phone closes the app. It does not do it on cellular data. It's really annoying. The speaker is nothing like my LG G3, but the phone offers great adjustments for headphones and most bluetooth devices. The fingerprint scanner is not the best. There are times that it will not read my finger. I've even done multiple entries using the one finger to improve the results.
I love the device overall, but still miss the back side buttons of my G3.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best Phone I've had

 

Dec 11, 2015 by Fonzie35

Carrier: T-Mobile

I got this phone for my birthday on September and let me tell you Im loving it. Feels amazing, looks amazing battery lasts me throughout my school day so I have no complaints.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Better than Note 4

 

Dec 10, 2015 by L7jr

Carrier: T-Mobile

Recently took advantage of a free upgrade/lease to the S6 from a Note 4. Battery isn't as good but that is to be expected since the battery is smaller than the Note 4.

The S6 is definitely less glitchy than my Note 4 was and the Wifi Calling is very consistent. The camera takes great shots when compared to my wife's iPhone 6s.

Very happy with the phone so far and touchwiz is definitely improved compared to the Note 4 but I use the Nova Launcher instead.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

AMAZING

 

Dec 10, 2015 by -T im

Carrier: T-Mobile

Great phone and features. The camera is amazing, the screen is beautiful...
everything functions as it should.
My only complaint: it's a magnet for fingerprints.
I have had this phone since April and it ceases to amaze me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

great phone but not perfect

 

May 8, 2015 by timwalls   updated May 8, 2015

Carrier: AT&T

This phone is crazy fast.took the iphone 6 back and got this one.they are pretty well same speed on everything even though this has 3gig of ram.it does hickup sometimes some stutter weird especially talking about the specs it has.the software is miss handling the ram.suppose to be a fix coming from a software update this does everything the iphone 6 can't . Remember no phone is perfect but this one is not far from it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Unexpected unhappiness...

 

Apr 24, 2015 by avdub1   updated Apr 24, 2015

Carrier: AT&T

This review comes from someone who owned the Galaxy S5, went to the iPhone 6 and now onto the Galaxy S6. Unfortunately, I feel Samsung (and likely Android) is taking a step backwards in terms of stability and overall improvements. Sure, the display is beautiful, the build quality has improved dramatically and the camera takes beautiful photos (even at night), but from a functionality standpoint, I've run into several issues - and mind you, this is before installing a bunch of apps, so I know no none of the problems I've encountered has anything to do with app incompatibilities. First of all, I experience frequent background "app crashes", for whatever reason. I can't tell you how many times per day (perhaps 5 or more?) I glance at the screen, only to be presented with "Smart Remote has stopped working", or this-and-that has stopped working. I also encounter quite a bit of unexpected stutter and frozen panels/screens from time to time, despite the killer specs of this processor. This is just unacceptable coming from a 2015 flagship device. What's strange, is I never experienced such unexpected behavior on my Galaxy S5. Additionally, battery life has taken a dramatic hit too. This is ultimately the reason why I am returning the Galaxy S6 and going back to the iPhone 6. Quite honestly, I'm shocked at how dismal it is. My phone is going dead by 5pm after a normal work day. The iPhone 6 would rock all through the afternoon, evening and well into the night and even have some charge left the next morning.

I wish I had better things to say about the Galaxy S6, I truly do! But until these bugs and quirks are worked out, I'll stick with iPhone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

S6 wow

 

Apr 12, 2015 by bsd48

So my brother purchased this phone, and let me start by saying wow it has a beautiful screen,multimedia, and apps etc etc...but one thing the battery is terrible, and it's to convoluted with apps, and this touch wiz sorry not my cup of tea....also your unable to delete any apps you can just disable like what's up with that?? I'm seriously considering the BlackBerry passport or classic..i hear that the passport has an awesome battery life..anyhow cheers

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

best phone out

 

Jul 19, 2015 by mikelooney40

Carrier: AT&T

Super fast does everything iphone don't

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.