Phone Scoop

printed October 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=470

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola V65p

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.12
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Classic renewed

 

Jun 1, 2005 by zolagol

If you want a phone for gadgetry including camera, mp3, bluetooth, bla bla...STOP reading!

You can't compare this phone to all the latest units with all the bells and whistles. This phone is for the user who needs a mobile phone providing excellent call quality, great speaker phone, solid exterior build, and PTT. The v60 will remain a classic for the ages. This revamped version will offer a color screen and PTT options...that's pretty much it.
I've rated this phone high because if you compare it to other phones that have comparable features, it beats them by leaps and bounds.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


V65p very good business phones

 

May 15, 2005 by ajs253

I just leased a car that came with a v60s. The car kit and software were integrated so that no other phone would work with the set up. Well, I thought I would be innovative and got a v65p with color screen and all, and change the battery and battery door to the slim battery and door and try the phone in my new car. Bingo! It works like a charm. Then I thought, well, let's see if my Motorola Bluetooth adapter works with it. Yep it does! So suddenly, I have a phone, which provides the push to talk option if I want it, works with all my Motorola accessories, and best of all, I do not have to worry about every time I enter a government building because of a camera. But most important, it has reception EVERYWHERE I GO! So, yes, the software may be a little slow, or it might be slightly heavier than other phones, but I must say, the speaker phone works exceptionally well. Other speaker phone's should aspire to be as good. Second, the color screen and large print makes it easier for me to read and is fast enough so that when I scroll through the phone book from the As to the Ws it gets me there in no time. Finally, if I need to access my e-mail, through the web, I am able to.
So, if you want a gaming, picture taking, phone that works like a charm, this phone is not for you. But, if you want a serious phone for business, with exceptional reception and speaker phone, with possibly push to talk capability, which is packaged in a great metal case..... the V65p is your phone. No hassles at work because of the camera, and you will have reception almost everywhere you go. You don't like the size, pop in a slim battery cover and change the metal facia.
Oh by the way, if your facia's window is different that the new facia because the V60i or V60s's window is different, not a problem. Pop out the heart shaped window on your v65p and switch it with the color metal facia of your choice. By the way this works with genuine Motorola accessories only.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Exellent for Business!!

 

May 13, 2005 by VZW Fella

This phone has it all! Speaker phone is office quality. Color screen and retractable antenna were the only things the v60 was missing.

PTT is within a sec. Instant communication.

Mapquest on the get it now application is GPS on the go.

Phone recepeption is exellent.

Way to go VZW.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nice phone for the PTTuser

 

Apr 20, 2005 by bigack

this is a great phone, superior RF, fantastic speaker phone, nice color screen, menu is pretty slow?? and does need a camera!!! but overall fantastic, also when you use the phone closed for a PTT call its alot faster than if its opened??? if your a die hard PTT user youll love this phone! battery life so,so!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice Phone!

 

Apr 15, 2005 by motoman82

Well Verizon isnt playing it smart again! If you want this phone you have to ask for it by name. They are trying to get rid of all of the V60p before they release the V65p. But let me tell you I was able to test out this phone today and it was SOLID it was just like Motorola was on a roll again. It was smooth durable and it was made of metal not cheap plastic it kept a steady signal and everything. So my I say if you want this phone you go into Verizon and you ask for it by name because they dont plan on putting it out until they get rid of all of their v60p phones which they have had forever which is stupid. The display on this phone is nice its light and easy to navigate and everything its a MUST HAVE PHONE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone, Too Big

 

Apr 19, 2005 by astones

A short review: I bought this phone from Verizon. I did my research, and the V65p has a good set of features and seemingly good quality. I was surprised by the size of it at the store, but I thought I could grow into it. VERY BIG. As one of my coworkers mentioned, you don't carry this phone, you wear it! Well, after having this huge appendage the last couple days, I'm ready to go back to a smaller phone.

Screen is quite vivid, menu logic is good, sound is excellent, but battery life is very low in relation to the Nokia I came from.

I'm sorry to say I'm headed back to the dealer to switch to a different phone. This one just doesn't meet my needs. Perhaps the Kyocera SoHo KX1...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


v65s is real and is goood

 

Dec 3, 2005 by BigFlavor

You can find the non-PTT (firmware flashed) v65s only at dealers. Verizon doesn't carry this version of the v65.

Just picked it up today, and had used an LG vx6000. The change over is fine. It is a lot different (most notably all Motorola phones have their call/end buttons switched from most other companies).
Already placed a lot of calls using both the speakerphone and regular phone.

So far already happier than I was with the LG vx6000.

Pro:

Speakerphone is good.

Menu system is good, but not great:
- a lot of customization is available

Displays are good.

Phone is very solid.

Con:

Software could be a little better:
- wish there was a preview of the phone color theme
- wish there was a way to dim the back light on the main LCD
- wish there was a way to trigger voice commands from the main screen.
-When charging with the phone powered on, there is no on screen indicator. No "Charging" banner, or anything. (read the next bullet note for more details)
-when charging with the phone powered on, the battery indicator appears to be fully drained/is blinking but the power isn't fully drained.

Menu system could be a little less fluffy:
- "more info" (just give it to me on one menu)

Software Version: 8620_1.6A.OR

My phone says that it isn't "MP3 Ready," haven't tested, and not sure if this is true.

The following has been verified by Verizon CS:
The v65s can be replaced under warrentee at any Verizon Tech shop. But, because the phone is only available to third-party dealers, not Verizon Wireless stores, the replacement phone will be shipped to either the Tech Shop itself, or your home from a factory. I'm sure that the replacement v65s can be shipped to the store while you still have your semi-broken v65s.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Poor Battery And Reception

 

Apr 27, 2005 by dustin2697

I bought this phone after using the lg vx4700 for about a month. Verizon Nashville TN. After 2 days it had to go back. I had to charge it at least twice a day, and the reception was awful. Went back to my lg ptt. If getting ptt with verizon definitely go with the lg vx4700.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Disappointing

 

Aug 23, 2005 by cwell79

The v65 was my first Motorola after phone after several Samsung phone and now I know why I've stuck with Samsung. I bought this phone because I wanted to be able to ppt with my wife. She hated this phone and I came dislike this phone with a passion. I would not endorse purchasing this phone but I will give you an honest pros and cons.

Pros: Very solid and strong built phone.
Push to talk
Nice sized screen
Nice sized outer display
Speakerphone is more than adequate

Cons: Horrible reception
Frequent drop calls
Slow menu
Slow to connect to call
Push to Talk is slow/delayed

Maybe I was spoiled by the user friendly Samsung a670 but I would not recommend this phone, or at least not in the Metro DC area.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid Phone.....poor software

 

Apr 25, 2005 by teke

Picked my phone 5 days ago. Here are my comments:

1.Solid Feeling phone
2.Slow from menu to menu
3.Send and end call keys are reversed vs the V60
4.Marginal recpetion vs the v60. This phone seems to just drop calls more frequently.
5.When phone is on the car charger you are unable to make out going calls, as the phone shuts down. Called verizon, no help, have been a customer of theirs for over 7 years, but this was the final straw. Will be returning the phone tomorrow, and leaving verizon as a customer.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2