Phone Scoop

printed October 18, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4691&r=42258

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Core Prime (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

2.25
Overall
4.17
Reception
3.83
Battery Life
3.08
Hardware Usability
2.25
Hardware Quality
3
Display
3
Interface Speed
2.42
Audio Volume
2.58
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Pretty good smartphone for the price

 

Jan 26, 2016 by calliekuczek   updated Jan 26, 2016

I purchased this phone last month when I was looking for a smaller smartphone that would be easier for me to carry around when travelling. After having this phone for almost a month, here is a list of pros and cons that I have found.

PROS:

- small size
- battery life
- volume increase button you can tap while in a call
- call quality
- can expand the memory up to 128 gigabytes
- screen size
- loud vibrators inside the device
- fits easily in my purse or pocket
- phone does not get hot like my Samsung Galaxy Note 4

CONS:

- speaker volume
- speaker quality
- slow processor speed
- not much storage space available to the user
- cheap and plastic
- display quality

This phone is good for those looking for a smaller smartphone or for those looking for a temporary replacement. This would be a good smartphone for people who do not want all of the bells and whistles that higher end smartphones offer.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phone for the price

 

Aug 31, 2015 by chad-devote30

Carrier: MetroPCS

**** I work in the industry, full disclosure.

This is a great phone. I run the Galaxy Note 4 and wanted another phone that I could use for texting via google voice, data sharing and phone calls. I have been using this phone for just over a week and I have to say I am very impressed with the OS and the way it multi tasks. Coming from a Note 4, I thought for sure this was going to be a slow or laggy phone, and I have not experienced anything of the sort.

Pros: Phone calls are clear, I use google voice for all calls and have had great call quality and reception. Fast app switching, clear camera, good front facing camera, compact design and one handed use.

Cons: Screen resolution isn't the best

I would highly recommend this phone. For the family that wants to put phones in their kids hands or for the individual that wants a lot for a little, this is the phone for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phone for the price and for what I used it for

 

Aug 22, 2016 by chadbordes

Carrier: MetroPCS

I am now using s7 but before that I had this phone. I really liked it as a texting, hangouts and messaging powerhouse

It is a great phone. I had the phone for 3 months before selling it to a co worker who STILL has it and has had 0 problems with it (he rooted it though)

I was very impressed I am very impressed with the speed and size of the phone. It works well for all moderate users, if you are a heavy user, you may be SOL.

Pros:
Clear calls using google voice
Great reception on metropcs
Fast app switching
Camera takes decent shots
compact design
and single handed texting.

Cons: Screen resolution isn't the best

For the price, this is a good phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Terrible phone

 

Aug 8, 2016 by Rusty Shackleford   updated Aug 8, 2016

Carrier: MetroPCS

I don't need a high-end smartphone and I do not expect the performance of something like an iPhone 6s, but I do expect more than what this phone delivered which was a continuously sluggish and rage-inducing performance. My previous phone, an LG Optimus something-or-other, had either equivalent or slightly worse specs on virtually everything, yet its performance was noticeably better than this sorry excuse of technology. I only switched to this phone because the LG's microphone failed.

I should not be able to count the seconds it takes between tapping a text control and the appearance of the keyboard. Launching the keyboard should always be virtually instantaneous no matter what.

Most modern smartphone contain an easy-to-reach cellular data switch; in fact most Androids have that in the little shortcut menu that appears when you swipe down from the top of the screen. Not this phone! Like most Androids you can edit this list and cellular data is not even an option in that list! Another issue is that once you get into your cellular data options the means of restricting cellular data usage by apps is the poorest on any cellphone I have ever opened. This confirms to me that Samsung intentionally crippled the experience with this phone because these are all issues with simple software design. There is no reason why this basic functionality was omitted other than its being intentional.

If you get a call while you are already on a call you can forget answering it because the user interface simply will not allow you to answer that incoming call.

Another thing was that the loss of the 4th button on the bottom of the phone was very noticeable, but that 3 button thing is a Samsung thing. I missed that dedicated settings button.

After owning this phone for only 7 or 8 months I finally exposed it to the rage that I had fantasized exposing it to nearly since day 1.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Bad phone

 

Feb 17, 2016 by pattyn6763

Carrier: MetroPCS

Really bad phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Almost a good phone

 

Feb 17, 2016 by keith6763

Carrier: MetroPCS

Needs more improvement to be better

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.