Phone Scoop

printed December 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=466&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola V180 / V186 / V188

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

2.46
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 567...19

Reliability? Questionable!

 

Apr 14, 2005 by AgentFormrlyKnownAsPrince

Working for a major wireless carrier, and working in the warranty exchange department, I have serious doubts as to the lifespan of this phone. Approximately 1 of every 4 exchanges I process are on the V180, from issues related to very poor reception, dead screens, dead phones, and general malfunctions. I hope Motorola will pull this phone from its shelves and replace it with a more reliable entry-level model, making my job, and the lives of customers much easier.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


cant complain

 

Jan 9, 2005 by cls626

i received this phone with rebates with an att service plan. the battery life is great and is lasting me 4-6 days. the reception seems to be good all of my calls are clear. indoor reception may be lacking a bit compared to the outdoor reception. the mp3 ringtones are quite cool just be careful not to download too many songs and be subjected to the per-kilobyte charg lol. i had 40 dollars worth of data transfer on my first bill. the phone seems like it will hold up, is small, and is lightweight. it doesnt have the gizmos and gadgets that a lot of the other phones seem to have which is a plus for me. i highly reccomend this to anyone looking for a great phone that does all the basics well at a great price(free atleast!)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Crappy Phone and Service

 

Nov 8, 2005 by brownibeauty

I've been with Cingular for a year and have had the phone for year...well NOT the exact phone because this is my SIXTH (6th) replacement phone! Complaints to cingular don't help either.

~The face plate which is black scratches easily.
~My phone doesn't even vibrate anymore.
~Had to replace the battery twice.
~Drops calls
~Can't always get into my text messages.
~Voice mails...what voicemails?!

Thats about all I can think of at the moment. I'm just waiting for my contract to be up! I love new technology toooo much to be stuck this suckin' ass phone! So if you love tech like i do STAY AWAY FROM THIS PHONE

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


PIECE OF CRAP

 

Oct 26, 2005 by f150luvr67

i have cingular and this phone sucks. i used to have a sony Ericsson z500 which sucked, now i have a v180, that sucks. i have had this phone less than six months, and the outside and inside screens have broke. both of them! now i have no way of knowing whos calling me. i was not rough on this phone at all, i kept the phone in my pocket. the speaker on this phone will always cut out and the speakerphone is not loud at all, but it vibrates so loud that other people can hear it. the keys of the phone will always rub on the screen so there is scratch marks everywhere. th only good thing is the phone will hold a charge about 3 days.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Form follows Function - KISS!

 

Feb 17, 2005 by physics

I was looking for a phone that would just perform that necessary and important task very well, function as a phone without being burdened with a host of unnecessary features. This phone meets that requirement very well and is, additionally, very attractive, with a sleek, clean and simple appearance - a model of functional simplicity. Build quality is not the highest, compared to the v60 series, but is adequate and has not been a problem for me. This phone stands out in its exceptionally good audio and RF performance, compared with two Sony/Ericsson phones that I had before, and in its battery life.

One improvement that would be nice would be the ability of the phone to store an individual's multiple numbers as a group, rather than individually. Other than this, and perhaps having metal rather than plastic as a case material, there is nothing that I would change.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not your typical entry-level phone.

 

Jan 17, 2005 by brazy5

To start off, this phone's pretty sweet. I have service through Cingular in AZ and upgraded from a Motorola T720. I looked first at Cingular's website for this phone's capabilities, and besides camera, bluetooth and 4-channel digital, this phone has the most of the features the ($500) RAZR has for less than half the price. I checked phonescoop for user reviews and it scores the highest among entry-level phones Cingular has to offer. But this my friends, is better than an entry-level phone.

PROS:
-mp3 download capability is nice
-picture download capability is too (Cingular let's you download and crop your own pictures for wallpaper now, SWEET!)
-speaker phone is loud and clear (for both ends)
-button functionality is good
-battery life is phenomenal (didn't think I could spell that did you?)
-AC adapter is much improved over previous Motorola's (with the insert-snap style)
-USB port if I ever need it
-the service dial feature connects you directly to the people at Cingular you need to speak to

CONS:
-glossy exterior gets fingerprints
-muliple names for same person in email & phone no.
-only comes with a "sample" of a game
-voice dial isn't spectacular

All in all, if you desire a quality phone at a basic price the Motorola v180 is a SWEET phone. They got it right with this one because the cons are definitely little things that can easily be looked over, while it possesses all the qualities your average customer is looking for.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


buy this phone

 

Jan 1, 2005 by AtreyuCurse23

This phone is for all the people that like getting a free phone that is worth it this phone has everthing quality reception looks features and battery are all excellent buy this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


V180 with a display problem

 

Jun 23, 2005 by SchlTchr

I bought this phone for the family. It was used to place about a dozen calls before the screen went black. I tried turning the phone off and back on. The phone then would not turn back on at all.

After sending the phone back to Motorola for repair, they say the phone was abused by being opened and damage was noted to a trace. I NEVER opened the phone or damaged any trace. I'm an electrical engineer with 25 years experience. I know enough to not abuse a defective piece of equipment one month into the warranty.

Pro's
Phone was free with service

Con
I am paying for service with no phone
The free phone has already cost $6.00 in shipping and endless frustration

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


No Good

 

Apr 18, 2005 by sdsgurl625

This phone worked well for about two months but after that the internal screen stopped working. It still call people but you can't see who your calling b/c the screen doesn't work. My fiance got one the same time i did and they both stopped working on the same day!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


deliberately faulty?

 

Dec 19, 2005 by cactus

I think the Motorola designed this phone to break within a specific amount of time.

Check out: www.brokenv180.com

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 567...19

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1