Phone Scoop

printed December 11, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4551&r=41865

Home  ›  Phones  ›  ZTE  ›

ZTE ZMax

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  14  

Phone Scoop Review

2.5
Overall
3
Reception
4.5
Battery Life
3.5
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
3
Display
3.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
2.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.04
Overall
4.04
Reception
4.46
Battery Life
4.42
Hardware Usability
3.92
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4.21
Interface Speed
4.18
Audio Volume
3.75
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

awesome phone

 

Dec 22, 2014 by ren68y

Carrier: MetroPCS

Great phone for the price, fast, the camera is better than the reviews say. Getting my wife one very soon!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phone for money.

 

Dec 14, 2015 by tonyc1978

Carrier: MetroPCS

If your looking for a budget phone with a identity crisis thinking that its a mid tier phone, get the zmax.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone for the price

 

Dec 10, 2015 by shryock11

As a Boost Customer.....this phone is exactly what i wanted and what i could afford. Overall very happy with this phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

At first I was impressed....4 months later, not so much.

 

Sep 17, 2015 by jagblak

Carrier: MetroPCS

I got tired of spending big bucks on flagship phones (Galaxy Sx, Note2) so I opted for the ZMax after a bit of research. When I first purchased this phone, it was the best.

A few months later and this phone is a total nightmare. The screen routinely freezes and flashes from app to app. Of course I thought maybe it had a virus. I ran all kinds of virus scans but found nothing. I've reset it to factory default so many times I've lost count. MetroPCS can't figure it out so they told me to call the manufacturer. ZTE gave me an RMA but I have to lose my phone for several weeks before they'll send it back.

I'm giving up. I'd rather spend more money for a reliable phone than deal with this headache. If you have one that is problem free, I envy you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

It's a rather impressive phone

 

Sep 4, 2015 by Jaden10

Carrier: MetroPCS

I am by no means a fan of ZTE, I have been and always be a hard core Motorola fan, have been since Nextel was called Fleet call. And since then I have always had a Motorola phone, latest one was a Moto X 2nd Generation.

I have also been a MetroPCS customer.

This past Thursday my phone was stolen. I was in a pinch, my wife just upgraded to a GS6 with MetroPCS and my wife wasn't using her old ZTE ZMAX. I did not choose to use this, I had no choice. I thought, UGH a POS ZTE phone that is slow, low on memory, crappy screen.

Boy was I surprised. Granded this isn't a flag ship phone like a Moto X or a GS, but for a ZTE it is pretty great. Since then I have rooted it and installed Cyanogenmod. So far I am quite happy. However the first chance I get to go back to a Moto X I am going to jump on it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great and Inexpensive

 

Jul 7, 2015 by tyty78

Carrier: MetroPCS

I like this phone! My previous phone was the galaxy note 2. I enjoyed the pen experience on the note, so I thought that I would only buy phones that had pens from that point. So, for awhile I only looked for phones with a pen. I was almost about to cough up the money and get an upgraded note, (either the 3 or 4) and then I heard about this deal from metro. I got the ZTE for only $100 and the performance is just as good as my note. The battery on the ZTE is a lot better.

Pros: battery life, large screen (5.7 inches is plenty and I won't go back to a smaller screen), great network on metro's unlimited plan and 6GB hotspot

Cons: can be a little sluggish at times, camera is good but not great

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Waste of time and money

 

Jun 15, 2015 by Asimmons

I bought the zte zmax in February and within days started having problems with the charger. We assumed it was a bad charger and just threw it away and bought a new one. I have been through 6 chargers in four months only to find out it's not the charger because they work on my husband and sons cell phones. This phone is by far the worst phone I have ever bought and a huge waste f money!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phablet

 

May 14, 2015 by phonefreak87

Carrier: T-Mobile

The zmax is a great phablet phone for users that dont want to spend a arm and a leg on the newest flagship phones.

Pros: Camera quality
great screen size and resolution
can take up to 64 gb sd card
no lags

Cons: none besides i dont get why the tmobile variant has 4.4.2 and the metro pcs variant has 4.4.4 come on tmobile update the zmax to 4.4.4

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

ZTE? really now

 

Feb 24, 2015 by phone.snob75

Carrier: MetroPCS

What can be said here? I'm kinda a phone snob and I love my flag ship phones. I won't bash a brand but ZTE isn't exactly known for high end devices. Enter the zmax. I bought it cause I like a large screen and it was cheap. However I feel the negative reviews are all junk
Pros. Clear bright screen
Camera is awesome
Who cares about beats Audio five me the Dolby
Swype is butter smooth
Ring tones are loud and clear.
No battery cover to get messed up
Lots of memory
Looks good.
Cons
When I find one I'll update this review.
This is really a solid device and if you want it to take you further just install a battery optimize app and boom done. This is a really nice phone.And as I said I'm a snob. I love my galaxy S class phones and xperia z class, but I admit I'm hooked on the zmax you will be too

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Issues

 

Dec 10, 2014 by acdc1a   updated Dec 10, 2014

Carrier: T-Mobile

My initial review would have been stellar on this device, but after a 2nd replacement I'm going to call them on quality issues.

My first phone stopped vibrating in a week's time. My 2nd was power cycling during phone calls and the latest runs great at first and then lags, especially when on a fully loaded web page.

This phone is eBay bound and I'm going to the s5.

Pros:
Excellent battery life
Low cost/big screen
Good reception

Cons:
Quality control?
Low resolution screen

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.