Phone Scoop

printed December 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=45&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-R225 / SGH-R225M

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

4.19
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

Grrrrreat phone (water resistant??)

 

Aug 11, 2005 by Dutchboy

I got this phone a looong time ago when it just came out.
I basically bought it because I liked the blue light and it had all the options i was looking for.
Since then this phone has never failed on me, I dropped it in a pool of water and left it outside in heavy rain for about 5 hours. It didn't work right away but i left it to dry in the sun for a day and recharged it, it still worked PERFECT!!! Never had any problems at all

Pros
-blue light :D
-good reception etc
-small and light
-good price

cons
-well for 2005 its a little old, no mms, no color screen etc etc except for that its a really great quality phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


No Frills, Solid Phone!

 

Jun 2, 2005 by FutureEcho

If you are looking for a tough, no frills, no BS little phone this baby's the one for you. I have never had a single problem with the phone except that after a year and a half in my pocket (An extremely hands on General Contractor) the screen is a little blurry from a myriad of small scratches from nails and screws in my pocket with the phone :) I once got into my 6,000 lb SUV and left a jobsite and thought I had lost my phone so I went back and found the Samsung imbedded in the gravel squarely in the middle of my tire track... Needless to say I just picked it up, dusted it off, and proceeded to make calls. Best darn little unit I've ever used (Usually I buy armored phones for obvious reasons but couldn't pass up the free-ness of this phone) I.E. T-mobile gave it to me... Awesome little by if you don't mind a Monochrome screen and no camera...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


I Really Liked This Phone ....

 

Feb 8, 2005 by CaptainCaffeine

... and was disappointed when I got a Samsung x426 flip phone after switching from T-Mobile to ATT. I liked my old 225 so much better!

PROS: Nice ear/mouth volume, has a built in music composer (I composed the ring tone to one of the Lord of the Rings melodies), good reception where I had coverager (T-Mobile had limited coverage in my rural CO suburbs).

CONS: None that I can think of.

Wish I could use my old phone again. :-(

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Poor phone for extensive use

 

Dec 21, 2004 by cpc3676

First off the pros and cons.

1. The screes blue is pretty bright.
2. Loud ring and alarm.
3. Pretty durable in terms of I have had many nasty drops and it keeps working
4. Easy to use.

Now for the negatives.
1. When driving in my car people hear more road noise than me talking.
2. I have had to have this phone replaced 4 times in one year. They dont last long at all. (Two had the headset stop working, one stopped ringing, and the last one people couldn't hear on me)
3. Signal was not as good as you can get with other phones on the market.

I am giving a poor rating based largely on the fact that I want a phone that will last longer than 3 months. I would, however, recommend this phone for a new cell user who will not spend a lot of time on the phone. I used 4000 minutes or more every month and I went through them way too fast.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The best non-color cell

 

Dec 11, 2004 by Mr.power

What else could you want from a great company and cell. The pros is, aight listen, long battery life, phat color screan, cool games to occupy your self, and the coolest thing it has AIM. Aim is aol instant messanger you can im people online. The cons are no color, no T-zones, and it has no polophonic ringtones. My last comment on dis cell is great for kid's starter phone cuz it's 40 bucks at T-mobile!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cool Blue Screen! No Other Redeeming Qualities

 

Jun 27, 2004 by jopinion

This phone was my introduction to Samsung. Too bad it was an awful one. The menu and buttons were no problem to get used to since I came from a Nokia 8290.
All of my problems with this phone revolved around the sound. When driving, people could barely hear me over the road-noise, which seemed to drown out vocals until I came to a complete stop. Another problem was when people called in, they could sometimes hear my surroundings before I answered the phone. It's a good thing I don't talk bad about people when they're not around. This also meant that sometimes a person calling would also hear my phone's ring tone (LOUD & CLEAR). This really hurts your ear if you're calling in to someone using an R225.
The reception was nice, the battery recharged almost as quick as it ran down (1hour charge/3 hours talk time) and the bright blue backlight served as a nice flashlight. If you never ride in vehicles this phone may work fine for you, but if you drive, beware.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone overall

 

Feb 29, 2004 by ab25

This phone was great overall. The only problem that I had with this phone was the volume fading in and out. I did have it replaced and the replacement phone seemed to do the same thing. Everything else was wonderful.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


samsung review

 

Jun 27, 2003 by nick zarras

It is basically a good entry level phone. phone quality is very good. buttons are large, and bright back light screen is easy to see. a big negative is the fact that it takes 90 seconds to find a tower when it is turned on. the sprint and at&t TDMA phones locked on immediately.
the vibrator exists but it not on par with the Panasonic Allure which set off seismic activity. it does not have voice commands but does have quick keys. For a free phone, and get this T-Mobile charges you sales tax on the expected $100 price of the phone if purchased separately some $7.25. But they do include a car charger. So if graphics, voice mail, a sexy exterior and you plan on not using the phone for a while after turn on is OK, then you should be happy. Now to check out coverage vs TDMA with Analog backup from my old phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1