Phone Scoop

printed October 20, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4448&r=41893

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Avant

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

4
Overall
4.43
Reception
3.71
Battery Life
3.43
Hardware Usability
3.57
Hardware Quality
3.43
Display
3.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
2.86
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

It's what you pay for.

 

May 7, 2016 by Iolanthe

Carrier: T-Mobile

It overheats easily while doing basic tasks. Very poor camera and dim display. I wouldn't recommend it for people who will take many pictures. It also freezes and it can be very frustrating. It also has restarted itself before. Battery lasts about four to five hours.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Avant

 

Dec 16, 2015 by DTScheu

Carrier: T-Mobile

I've had this phone for over a year now. It has been pretty solid. The camera is pretty terrible, but the rest of tjhe phone I am happy with. Great reception on T-Mobile aswell. Also the WiFi calling and delta in flight texting is great.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Good buy for the features, some compromises

 

Dec 10, 2015 by mldanger   updated Dec 10, 2015

Carrier: T-Mobile

Previously had a Galaxy S4 that I liked, but when switching to T-Mobile, wanted something nearly as functional but without the $600+ flagship price. This was it, and it fit the bill for just over a year now. Lately though, system is feeling sluggish and battery not lasting a full day between charges. Favorite feature has been call quality & coverage with T-Mobile Band 12-- my indoor calls are reliable, while my wife's calls from our home on iPhone 6 (without Band 12) are not.

PROS:
-Price
-Uses all T-Mobile LTE bands
-Nearly as functional as its pricier relatives

CONS:
-Phone operation stalls during automatic app updates/downloads
-My unit has history of re-starting itself for no apparent reason
-I've had to restart more frequently to clear system "stalls"

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best Android for the price

 

Jun 28, 2015 by miketh

Carrier: T-Mobile

Does virtually everything our S4 does at only a slightly lower level. Our main user of this phone makes good use of the ability to create a hotspot for his laptop.
I paid almost $200 at TM store. Walmart was selling them last week for under $140.
I rated at as tho compared with phones of equal pricing - not with phones costing 2-3 times as much.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Galaxy Avant

 

Jan 21, 2015 by patwackp

Carrier: T-Mobile

What a refreshing change!!!!!

I bought the Avant on T-Mobile on 1-19-2015 from a T-Mobile store in Boise, Id.
The phone and Service blows Boost Mobile (Sprint) out of the water.

The reception is phenominal (4-5 bars) consistently all over town and LTE is far superior to Sprints

I love the phone and service. I would recommend to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phone for the price!

 

Aug 6, 2014 by kombatfighter   updated Aug 6, 2014

Carrier: T-Mobile

An amazing phone at an affordable price range. I got this phone the first day that it came out and was actually planning on getting the S5. But do to bills coming up and new job, I got this one for now and will upgrade to S5 or Tab 3 in 6 months. What a great investment!

First off performance wise, the Snapdragon processor makes a big difference as always. I like to play Zen pinball and other 3d games to put it into max performance. Not a single slowdown, stutter or shutdown so far. The UI responsiveness during apps is very quick and seamless. I don't use the Andriod 4.4 KitKat/Samsung UI however. I can tell you though that I did use the default for a about a week before switching over and it was still snappy.

Display, big enough and small enough to fit into my pocket without any hassles. I usually keep other things in my pockets as well. I've ran 1080HD with it sometimes hanging up on youtube videos during stream. I'll simply just rewind to the spot and it will resume playback normally. However, this phone wasn't built for 1080 (720 is max) so I'm surprised it still handles it well.

Button placement was done well and no arguments there.

Sound is phenomenal for this phone and there's 2 different sound output options built into the software. I've left it on default because it seriously sounds great.

Camera is good enough with Samsungs apps while taking pictures. I do wish the hardware was higher than 5mb but that would drive the price up on it so going to be happy with that. It still does take clear pictures with no problems. The camera will also adjust to the lighting for better pictures and not sure if that's hardware or software bonus.

Battery life during usuage is really good. However, I use Greenify app to kill lingering apps fully. Also turn off wifi and bluetooth when I'm not using it.

P.S. I use the Jawbone Bluetooth that works very well with the built in Samsung Speech app. It also supports the OTG usb drive storage.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Too simple for an experience smartphone user

 

Aug 27, 2014 by vivi1

Carrier: T-Mobile

Too simple for an experience smartphone user
I have had this phone now for two weeks, I previously had an iphone 4.. This phone does not compare. If I connect my wifi, I cannot receive calls. Visual voice mail does not indicate when a new message is avail., the email once connected, keeps pulling up my already read emails as new ones, if you set a reminder, it does not come up and stay on screen, nor does the icon indicate that there is a new reminder. You physically have to go into the calendar, click on the date to view the reminder. ( how is that a reminder, if your phone does not alert you). and best of all, if you lock the phone with a pin, it gives you a few seconds to enter the code before timing out..( I am not speedy Gonzalez with my fingers!!! I am not pleased with the phone, it's affordable yes! and it is a smartphone in some way, but I think its a knock off to a galaxy 4 or 5, If your upgrading from flip phone or something, then maybe this phone would work for you, because your not aware of all the features most smartphones have to offer.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.