Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4421

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC One (M8) (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  11  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
3.5
Reception
4.5
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
5
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
5
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 

See also: Review: HTC One for Verizon Wireless ›

See also: Review: HTC One ›

 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.57
Overall
4.71
Reception
4.5
Battery Life
4.79
Hardware Usability
4.93
Hardware Quality
4.36
Display
4.86
Interface Speed
4.64
Audio Volume
4.21
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Improvement to already Great Smartphone!

 

Mar 27, 2014 by cpd2052

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I had the S4 before the HTC One (m7), so I have experienced the others. I feel HTC has been taking notes and listening to its consumers. All the improvements I would liked to have seen are reality. I have used it for two charging cycles, and the battery life as a big improvement. I used the phone twice with full charges for around 18 hours. I called it a day with 50% of the battery remaining, and I am a heavy user. The phone does feel better in your hand. You notice the difference in the screen, although the onscreen buttons at the bottom take some getting use to. The speakers are louder as advertised. My original HTC was always smooth and fluid during use, which the new One is no different. I like the change in the power button switching sides, but one of the only things I don't like is the 3.5mm moving to the bottom of the phone. The biggest improvement is the addition of a SD card slot on the New One that as the ability to see up to 128gb card. I am still getting accustomed to the dual cameras, but I can see some cool features with the addition. I do like some of the additions in the settings to allow the user to customize more. I have noticed that the phone does not take as long to charge compared to the first edition. I like that Chrome is the default browser on the phone. The earpiece sound quality is good and phone reception has not given me any problems so far, but I do live and work in a well covered area. I bought this phone as soon as Verizon was allowed to sale and I have not been disappointed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

One of the best

 

Aug 10, 2014 by randyalejandro   updated Aug 10, 2014

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I've had many phones over the years and the HTC one M8 is one of the best phones, if not the best I've ever owned.
The screen and responsiveness of the phone is amazing. Everything i do on this phone is so fluid, whether I'm surfing the web, text messaging , updating my Facebook status, etc.
I know it's camera gets a bad rap but the truth is it's takes photos that are more than acceptable, for the most part I've pretty happy with the photos it's taken.
Boom speakers are awesome and call quality is pretty good, just wish the volume on phone calls was just a little louder. Great build quality although it can easily scratch (I recommend a case if you are anal like me about scratches on the phone) The only con I can think of its has decent battery life but not great, and I don't have the ultra power saver mode (no thanks to Verizon)

PROS:
Screen
Call quality
Super fast for web browsing, etc
32 gigs plus expandable memory SD card slot
Takes nice photos (at least for my needs)
Build quality
Overall just a GREAT phone.

CONS:
No power saver mode (but that's more Verizon's doing than the phone itself as the other 3 major carriers has released the ultra power saver mode)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Not impressed-AT&T-GSM

 

May 10, 2014 by ariznc   updated May 10, 2014

I owned an LG G2. Great phone except when you have the phone on it shows a default song on it, most of the time, but not all the time. So you get in your car and that Vienna Boys Choir song comes thru your speakers. Very annoying. I had to replace my first G2 as it kept dropping the bluetooth connection with my 2 VW Passats. 1 mth later, I had trouble with the keypad buttons not working. PUrchased a Galaxy S5. Within a week, same problem with the keypad. Then I purchased the HTC ! M8. I have had it over a week. First of all. The LG G2 screen is superior in EVERY way to the M8 and to the S5 when you are in bright sunlight.

The battery is good in the M8 and the front facing speakers are nice. I wish the earpiece volume would go louder when holding it up to your ear. The quality of the unit itself is very nice, no problems there. Camera is disappointing, Apple rules the camera world in a smart phone and that is VERY important to me.

I have owned multiple Androids since I sold my Apple 3GS & 4G phones. I am waiting until the new Apple iPhone comes out. I am hoping that Apple will come out with the 5.2" screen as told to me by an AT&T employee. Apple is far from perfect but with the new features I hope Apple is coming out with and their top of the line phone camera, I am waiting anxiously for that phone to come out before I decide which phone I am going to go with. The HTC 1 M8 is not what I consider a "flagship" product. But that is just my opinion and I have owned many smartphones. So far, except for the problems I noted, the LG G2 is the current phone to beat.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Smokes the iPhone 5S

 

Apr 27, 2014 by williamdayton

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I have always been an Apple guy. The HTC One M8 has finally changed all of that.

I didn't care much for the M7, but we're talking an altogether different ballpark here.

Pros: Beautiful design. *Amazing* camera*. 32 GB with expandable memory slot (I've been waiting a long time for that). Awesome sound and display.

Cons: Reception with this device could be better in my rural community.

Short story: Favorite phone I've ever owned.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Simply Amazing

 

Apr 15, 2014 by rajunkajun87   updated Apr 15, 2014

Carrier: Sprint

I have been a hardcore HTC fan dating back to the Hero. Always revolutionary, always incredible, with a few misses here and there. I am a manager for Radioshack and have been with them for 5 years. The M8 is unlike any thing HTC has put out, even though its a new version of the M7. The feel of the phone in incredible, from the metal body to the round edges of the screen. The audio is intense and the camera is INSANE! One of the guys who works for me has the S5 and I put his camera to shame. The virtual tour of the S5 is cool, but I much prefer the 3-D tilt, Ufocus and the foreground options, This was the very first phone I got on release day. The only issue I have with it is I absolutely despise timeline features on photo albums. I was able to change it but I still hate it. Ha. The addition of a memory card is great too. This is a great device and the drive storage and screen replacement is a great bonus. Only thing I would like to see on the newer HTC's is the inclusion of a USB 3.0.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Htc one m8

 

Apr 2, 2014 by boneraq   updated Apr 10, 2014

Awesome battery life, speakers awesome, very fast. My first one was the One X. That one crapped out after 8 months and what kept me till now was htc customer service. The loaded programs like chrome, flickr, maps, visual vm, etc. I love they made the phone taller and not wider. Screen sharpness is great but could be better, color mine is gunmetal grey love it it's a beautiful phone. I hope the quality and ability to last has improved. I loved my one x till it crapped out and the refurbished one they overnighted me is failing as well so I figured they deserved another shot. My wife n kids have 5S by Apple. I was thinking of waiting till the I6 came out but love android tooooo much. The metal housing very slippery, great camera, love the sped of downloads and uploads, google play store awesom, Flickr downloaded my pix super glad by yr n date how cool. Call quality is great, video is clear. Fit n finish is solid. Update again in July.
4-9Update....of course day my new otter box case came from amazon I dropped my phone on a tile floor....minor dent in lower left corner, works perfect, though.

Dear HTC do some marketing tell people about your phones...the quality build, the speed, the htc sense is killer awesome, very intuitive in wanting to help you make your use of the phone easier, faster, truly painless. The two commercials I've seen with Gary Oldman saying ..blah blah blah waste of money. Talk about the features, ease of use etc..I could make a better commercial that's effective. YOU NEED TO TELL PEOPLE ABOUT THIS PHONE OR YOUR NOT GOING TO BE MAKING PHONES.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Yikes

 

Apr 8, 2014 by waltermax   updated Jun 30, 2014

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Decided to return it because it was too slippery.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1