Phone Scoop

printed August 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4312&r=41480

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG Nexus 5

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Phone Scoop Review

3
Overall
4
Reception
2.5
Battery Life
3.5
Hardware Usability
2.5
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4
Interface Speed
3.5
Audio Volume
1.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.9
Overall
3.8
Reception
3.2
Battery Life
4.4
Hardware Usability
3.9
Hardware Quality
4.6
Display
4.8
Interface Speed
3.7
Audio Volume
3.3
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best Nexus phone so far.

 

Dec 5, 2013 by iamthephonemaster   updated Dec 5, 2013

Carrier: T-Mobile

First I should say that I'm a phonaphile. I collect cellphones. It's a problem. I HAVE to have every new phone that comes out. I don't know why. The reason I'm telling you this is so you'll know when I say things I have something to compare it to.

This phone is the best Nexus phone so far, hands down. In my opinion its better than the GS4 and HTC One. I know the GS4 has more software features and a slightly better camera. However this phone has a MUCH better build quality than the GS4 and the screen in my opinion is more realistic in color accuracy and contrast. Now the HTC one is " all aluminum " which is great , but it's also heavier and is a lot slower and more cumbersome because of the Sense UI.

Not to mention this phone has things neither of those phones have. Such as built in wireless charging, photosphere camera, the newest version on Android OS and A snapdragon 800 processor clocked at 2.6 GHz.

Now this phone has its cons as well. Like the mediocre battery life and the slightly slow camera software. Also The SMS being embedded in hangouts ( which is annoying ). It took me 10 minutes to figure out how to text someone and not Google chat them. Lol

All in all this is a very solid phone and I feel the top Android phone out right now. Of course thats just my opinion. You should buy it and see for yourself.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best phone I have ever owned

 

Nov 10, 2013 by vipers1999   updated Nov 11, 2013

Carrier: T-Mobile

The nexus 5 is my 4th Android device and the best one I have owned so far. I found the battery life to be excellent on the phone. With wifi and google now turned on and moderate use, the phone lasted an entire day for me. My HTC One s, would barely get through half the day when google now was turned on. As a previous reviewer mentioned, i also do notice the rattle from the power button. Not a big deal though. My last LG (LG G2X) was a nightmare and luckily this phone does not have any of the issues that one had. I highly recommend this phone as it is the best handset out there at its price point and better then most at higher price points.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

A good phone in a pinch

 

Feb 16, 2014 by Tychal

Carrier: T-Mobile

May we all have a moment of silence for the departure of an old enemy the HTC One S a phone no one wanted to take responsibility for...

Now for the Nexus 5 I am loving this phone granted it is no LG G2 or LG Gflex but it gets the job done.

Pro
Screen is wonderful
The audio quality is okay
lightening speeds LTE (I have noticed how some phone does slow down the network)

Cons
Well the look is not too appealing
the back does tend to get those oil marks..
and again it is a bit bland.

Good phone all in all if you do not like this phone send me your address and I will send you my HTC One S and you would love the Nexus 5

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Nexus 5, good but not great

 

Dec 7, 2013 by wesmangolfer

Having been an ios user since 2008, android has perked my interest lately. I've tried the Galaxy S4 (twice) and now the nexus 5. First off, the Nexus is stunning to look at and hold, lightweight and not cheap feeling at all. In fact it's not as cheap feeling as the GS4. Pure google is good, although I thought I would like it better than the touchwiz version, but I was wrong.
Pros: screen size, battery life better than GS4, pure google is very clean to operate with none of the Samsung bloatware.
Cons: after using the gs4 and all it's gimmicks, I found I missed this gimmicks. Kitkat 4.4 actually removed. Key feature in email (attaching files)
Plastic back is very slippery to hold.
Corners are a bit boxy and uncomfy.
Camera seriously lacks in features (biggest complaint)

All in all, when you consider it's a $350 decide, off contract. It's a homerun, but if you can afford the galaxy line, go for it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Sent it back

 

Nov 9, 2013 by mickrussom

CONS:
- Bad battery compared to nexus 4 - 6-7 hours until zero from 100%. Nex4 lasts 20+ hours.
- Camera is about as bad as it was with nexus 4. Slow. Blurry. Pixelated.
- kitkat combines hangouts and SMS by force
- Rattles. (Buttons).
- no headset included
- LG support is terrible. (no advanced RMA)
- reception worse than n4

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1