Phone Scoop

printed October 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4266&r=41482

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Apple  ›

Apple iPhone 5s

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  32  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4
Reception
3
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
5
Hardware Quality
3.5
Display
4
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4
Overall
4.04
Reception
3.63
Battery Life
4.13
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
4.46
Display
4.38
Interface Speed
4.04
Audio Volume
4.67
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

I HATE this phone

 

Sep 9, 2014 by tinapnyc   updated Sep 9, 2014

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

My company does not support Android so I had to buy an iphone 5s. All the iphone users promised "I would love it!". The only serious pros this phone has are (1) it's thin, light and nice-looking and (2) it has a very good camera/camera app.

I can't stand it. Here are the reasons why:

1. I can't use data (email/txt) while on a phone call (I am on Verizon). WTF? seriously? I have been able to do this for 10 years with Windows and Android phones. Definitely the worst thing about this crappy phone.

2. No replaceable battery. HUGE problem because the battery life is not great. So I have to carry cables and battery packs instead of just being able to pop in a fresh battery which is a lot easier and more compact.

3. Can't transfer files to/from phone (other than pictures) without using iTunes. Seriously annoying. I should be able to plug media in my computer and be able to read it without any additional software, PERIOD. Don't understand what purpose this serves other than making customers beholden to Apple services; this principle really pisses me off.

3. No removable media. I want to add video files for my kid to look at but the files are really big. With other phones, I just bought a nice big microSD card and I was in business. Not so with iphone. It does come with a lot of internal storage but its still something I have to think about/monitor which I find annoying.

4. Call volume. Its very low and hard to hear someone in a noisy environment. Really annoying especially if you are using the phone mostly for business.

5. Battery life. It's not great. Can barely get through my day which leads me to gripe #2 above.

6. io7. Buggy at times. Will reboot itself randomly. I found it got much better when I removed some apps but that's not the kind of thing that you should need to do.

7. Siri. Nice idea but poor execution. Useful only about 20% of the time. With that low hit rate, why bother? I rarely use it anymore.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Iphone 5s

 

Jul 29, 2014 by ebenning

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I just upgraded to the Iphone 5s from the Iphone 4s. I love everything about the Iphone 5s. It takes great pictures the applications run faster on this phone. It don't lag. The only thing I would complain about is the battery dies verily quick if you are playing a game or running applications like facebook.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Cannot do simultaneous voice and data on Verizon; Seriously?

 

Jun 5, 2014 by sdgmcdon

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I was briefly considering jumping ship from android...got the iPhone 5s on Verizon and well, it was an iPhone...what can I say...good phone overall, good camera, fingerprint security worked very well, battery just meh; OK.

Then I discovered the deal breaker, the phone cannot do simultaneous voice and data on Verizons network!

Verizon blames Apple, Apple blames Verizon.

Returned and back on android, cause it just works.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

This phone is great!

 

May 10, 2014 by CRK4385

Carrier: AT&T

I bought this phone a couple of weeks ago and I really love it. Here are the pros and cons of the device.

PROS:

- large, bright display
- capacitive touch screen
- world phone
- audio quality
- small and light weight
- a wide variety of applications available to download
- great camera
- fast

CONS:

None

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Was expecting more...

 

Feb 25, 2014 by rompn4x

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

After using my 4s for the whole 2 years (first time i've ever kept a phone for the full contract) the battery was finally starting to fade and I decided to upgrade. I was tempted by the Galaxy S4, but after going through a few LG ally's and Droids the Android interface has left a bad taste in my mouth. So I decided to stick with what has worked before and got the 5s. Maybe I was just expecting more but to me it was like basically trading a 2011 BMW for a 2013. A little more power, refinement and speed but overall the same BMW. Don't get me wrong I love the phone, but something tells me I should of just replaced the battery and kept my old 4s, and my unlimited 3g data plan...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

very poor reception

 

Feb 10, 2014 by bhale

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

First of all let me preface this by saying that this is my first foray into "Appledom". As such it's like learning a new language and many of the problems I've experienced are due to my own ignorance of Apple.
Had a great deal of trouble setting up email on the 5s (as well as the ipad air). Many frustrating hours dealing with tech support and the apple store techies. Finally got it resolved when my own tech source figured out that with os7 it sets up email differently on a 5s than it does on an ipad! Go figure. Now as to the 5s itself, it's a very well built unit with lots of gee wiz features. If I just wanted to take pictures or play games, it's awesome. However Apple like many of it's competitors seem to forget that a phone is, all together now "for making phone calls!" Unfortunately everyone does not live in a major metro area. As such the 5s in suburban and rural areas drops calls frequently and has very poor reception. Seems Motorola is and always has been the only company that makes the radio portion (that which makes the calls) very strong.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Love this phone!

 

Jan 25, 2014 by crkkuczek

Carrier: AT&T

It has been four years since I have had a smartphone and I just picked up this thing a week ago. I am very happy with it so far. I love the display, surfing the internet on it, and the speed is great. Typing on the keyboard is pretty easy, too. All in all, I am very happy with this device and I recommend it. However, the only thing I do not care much for is the finger print reader.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone, but more attention to hardware detail needed

 

Nov 11, 2013 by headman harley

Carrier: AT&T

The 5S is a great and beautiful phone, but apple need to really pay much more attention to detail fitment with their volume and power buttons. Most are very loose. It took 3 returns before finally getting one with tight volume and power buttons. I wonder are they using iphone 5 equipment that is now out of tolerance. Also ios 7 is a step backwards in many ways. If you are on the phone and have call failure, once unlocking your phone it's starts to dial back automatic. Also on the earlier 6.0 version would automaticly clear out a missed call once you called the number or they called you back with ios 7 the number or name is still their once you call the missed call or they call you. ios 7 is lacking on both of these.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

iPhone5S Supercool.

 

Oct 14, 2013 by Nixoncarmichael

Carrier: AT&T

I work for a mobile carrier, and so I have the opportunity to demo new phones as soon as they come out.

PROS:

The 5S has great build quality of course and a nice bright screen

64 bit native processor is megafast.

Siri is SUPER fast and responsive.

120 slow mo feature is a cool, gimmicky, but cool.

I almost can't BELIEVE how fast this device is, you open up a webpage or app and it is THERE. Immediately.

CONS:

While the 4" retina display is crisp and clear, 4.5 or 5.0 would have been better. Come on now, Apple.

IOS 7 is cool, but it kind of looks like a unicorn sh/+ on rainbow.

Control center, really? This is the best you could come up with.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

iPhone 5S is the truth!!

 

Oct 13, 2013 by iPhone4user

Carrier: AT&T

Everything about the 5S is sweet, I traded my 5 in for it and I can honestly say that I have no regrets. The best part about the 5S is the fingerprint sensor, instead of having to put a passcode in each time you open up your phone, you just use your fingertip. The only Con I have about the 5S is the screen size, if this phone had at least 4.5 to 5 inch screen it would be a beast but, don't get me wrong it's still a very good phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1