Phone Scoop

printed April 16, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4266&r=41442

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Apple  ›

Apple iPhone 5s

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  29  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4
Reception
3
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
5
Hardware Quality
3.5
Display
4
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.38
Overall
3.94
Reception
3.81
Battery Life
4.38
Hardware Usability
4.63
Hardware Quality
4.56
Display
4.44
Interface Speed
4.31
Audio Volume
4.75
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Was expecting more...

 

Feb 25, 2014 by rompn4x

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

After using my 4s for the whole 2 years (first time i've ever kept a phone for the full contract) the battery was finally starting to fade and I decided to upgrade. I was tempted by the Galaxy S4, but after going through a few LG ally's and Droids the Android interface has left a bad taste in my mouth. So I decided to stick with what has worked before and got the 5s. Maybe I was just expecting more but to me it was like basically trading a 2011 BMW for a 2013. A little more power, refinement and speed but overall the same BMW. Don't get me wrong I love the phone, but something tells me I should of just replaced the battery and kept my old 4s, and my unlimited 3g data plan...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

very poor reception

 

Feb 10, 2014 by bhale

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

First of all let me preface this by saying that this is my first foray into "Appledom". As such it's like learning a new language and many of the problems I've experienced are due to my own ignorance of Apple.
Had a great deal of trouble setting up email on the 5s (as well as the ipad air). Many frustrating hours dealing with tech support and the apple store techies. Finally got it resolved when my own tech source figured out that with os7 it sets up email differently on a 5s than it does on an ipad! Go figure. Now as to the 5s itself, it's a very well built unit with lots of gee wiz features. If I just wanted to take pictures or play games, it's awesome. However Apple like many of it's competitors seem to forget that a phone is, all together now "for making phone calls!" Unfortunately everyone does not live in a major metro area. As such the 5s in suburban and rural areas drops calls frequently and has very poor reception. Seems Motorola is and always has been the only company that makes the radio portion (that which makes the calls) very strong.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

the best phone you can have in your hand

 

Feb 10, 2014 by Ringomar   updated Feb 10, 2014

Carrier: AT&T

iphone 5s is simply the best phone you can have in your hand, apple think, test, and build good products, but iphone since 4s to 5s are outstanding.
the system IOS 7.04 is very., very very stable, even when you have jaikbreik.. so any bla, bla, bla bla about android, samsung galaxy is no-then, you can make every thing w/ and and Android, and same with an iphone... the difference is ...iphone is like drive a Mercedes, android i like drive a Hyundai but you take the decision, i stay with my iphone for ever... have a nice day
Ringo

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Love this phone!

 

Jan 25, 2014 by crkkuczek

Carrier: AT&T

It has been four years since I have had a smartphone and I just picked up this thing a week ago. I am very happy with it so far. I love the display, surfing the internet on it, and the speed is great. Typing on the keyboard is pretty easy, too. All in all, I am very happy with this device and I recommend it. However, the only thing I do not care much for is the finger print reader.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone, but more attention to hardware detail needed

 

Nov 11, 2013 by headman harley

Carrier: AT&T

The 5S is a great and beautiful phone, but apple need to really pay much more attention to detail fitment with their volume and power buttons. Most are very loose. It took 3 returns before finally getting one with tight volume and power buttons. I wonder are they using iphone 5 equipment that is now out of tolerance. Also ios 7 is a step backwards in many ways. If you are on the phone and have call failure, once unlocking your phone it's starts to dial back automatic. Also on the earlier 6.0 version would automaticly clear out a missed call once you called the number or they called you back with ios 7 the number or name is still their once you call the missed call or they call you. ios 7 is lacking on both of these.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

iPhone5S Supercool.

 

Oct 14, 2013 by Nixoncarmichael

Carrier: AT&T

I work for a mobile carrier, and so I have the opportunity to demo new phones as soon as they come out.

PROS:

The 5S has great build quality of course and a nice bright screen

64 bit native processor is megafast.

Siri is SUPER fast and responsive.

120 slow mo feature is a cool, gimmicky, but cool.

I almost can't BELIEVE how fast this device is, you open up a webpage or app and it is THERE. Immediately.

CONS:

While the 4" retina display is crisp and clear, 4.5 or 5.0 would have been better. Come on now, Apple.

IOS 7 is cool, but it kind of looks like a unicorn sh/+ on rainbow.

Control center, really? This is the best you could come up with.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

iPhone 5S is the truth!!

 

Oct 13, 2013 by iPhone4user

Carrier: AT&T

Everything about the 5S is sweet, I traded my 5 in for it and I can honestly say that I have no regrets. The best part about the 5S is the fingerprint sensor, instead of having to put a passcode in each time you open up your phone, you just use your fingertip. The only Con I have about the 5S is the screen size, if this phone had at least 4.5 to 5 inch screen it would be a beast but, don't get me wrong it's still a very good phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Awesome phone but I got a bad one

 

Sep 27, 2013 by dsmmsd18

Carrier: Sprint

This phone is amazing and looks beautiful, it is everything all of the other iphones had in the past with a couple of cool new features.

The fingerprint scanner is good to save time instead of entering a password.

I can't tell the difference in the camera from the iphone 5 or the battery life, they seem to be the same to me. The camera does have a quicker reaction when using it.

I got a 32GB 5s and the build quality is not good. The materials are great, but the screen is a little loose and the on/off switch is rattling or loose. This did not happen on the iPhone 5, maybe it's just the first ones being made.

Overall, this phone is amazing, definitely the best LOOKING phone out there and also provides great technology.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1