Phone Scoop

printed October 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4246&r=41478

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  21  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4
Reception
4.5
Battery Life
3
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.55
Overall
4.59
Reception
4.68
Battery Life
4.05
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
4.86
Display
4.36
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
4.59
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung does it AGAIN!

 

Oct 5, 2013 by landotheripper

Carrier: T-Mobile

Upgraded to this device after having the Note 2 for over a year and I am very surprised with how much better this one is to its predecessor.

Pros:
-Incredible full 1080p display
-Very fast 2.3 Ghz quad core processor
-Ridiculous 3 Gigs of RAM
-T-Mobile 4G LE getting 35Mbs download on average
-Much better use and integration of S-Pen
-Great battery life
-Damn good camera with lots of different shooting modes
-4k video recording
-Slow motion recording at 120 fps

Cons:
-Loud speaker could be louder
-A few glitches (hopefully get ironed out with ota update)
-Quite pricey

Overall, this is a great device and a great successor to the Note 2, I'm extremely happy with it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Handled/played with Note 3 today.

 

Oct 4, 2013 by plane

Carrier: AT&T

Our local att store had them on display today, I wore them out trying everything I could think of, and will be getting one tomorrow I guess.

IMO, a somewhat improved, ie faster, brighter, note 2, with more ram and onboard storage. Just what I've been waiting for,

One of the more strange things about this phone, is the size thing, ie orginally thought too big, now want a little bigger. My g/f wanted one, and got an original note over two years ago. I made fun of it, ie, too big, etc. I did have to admit it was easier to see/read. I got a note 2 last fall. Didn't use it much at first, deferred to my s3. Used the note for gps on a trip last spring, got use to size, and now the s3 seems too small.

When looking at the note 3, I couldn't help but play with the mega, and probably would get one of those, but for the dimmer screen, and reduce storage/ ram. Strange!!

Oh, my ratings mean nothing, as I only used it in the store.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

So disappointed

 

Sep 15, 2014 by sgtpeppersband9

Carrier: AT&T

So this phone has a Snapdragon 800 quad core with an Adreno 330 and 3Gigs of RAM. Then why does it need more reboots than a Marvel movie franchise?

My Galaxy S3 can fly circles around this piece of junk and still can now with KitKat on board. The Note 3 is even worse with KitKat causing so many apps to crash or be unresponsive. E.G. Feedly begins to not flow so well and YouTube vids will keep playing but the video freezes and that's the ones that "work".

The aesthetics of it are horrible too. What genius places the pwr/sleep button exact opposite of the volume key?! I am constantly hitting the power button and volume rocker simultaneously! And the damn power button never even responds if you do happen to use it correctly!!!

I know it's b/c of the bloatware that is TouchWiz which I used to no mind because at least the gimmicky stuff worked but with this phone... ugh!!! Smart pause pauses when I'm looking at it and plays when I am not facing it, Smart Stay doesn't keep the phone awake nor can it detect the orientation of my face to ensure it doesn't go to landscape while I'm laying down.

Worse yet, I'm on the Next prog with AT&T and can't get rid of it. Never getting a Samsung POS again!

Do not buy this overrated, overhyped useless brick!

Ok just because of the DOs that phonescoop wants:

Pros: Battery is beyond godlike. I can go all day without charging this thing and still have 40%+ by 9pm

Cons: See my review

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Note 3 from Apple iPhone 4

 

Jul 24, 2014 by Phonephan44   updated Jul 24, 2014

Carrier: AT&T

Now yes, I realize that there is a generational gap between these two phones, however, I did test the iPhone 5s before making this purchase. I found that Android does everything that Apple doesn't. The only thing Apple has on Anroid is Siri, it out performs S Voice and Dragon, I have yet to find a digital assistant I like that's free. Almost all the apps I had paid for on the Apple Apps store were free on Google Play, I found free and legal music downloaders as well.

Pros:
1080p HD 5.7 inch screen
Better apps on Google Play
13 MP camera, printed pictures match my point and shot Cybershot
NFC-yes I use it (not true for iPhone w/o $80 case)
USB 3.0
Battery Life
Micro SD (also not true of iPhone)
Much Louder than any iPhone
User replaceable battery (almost all manufactures have moved away from this)

Cons:
Samsung bloatware in annoying and almost completely useless.
Back plate is flimsy and I had to buy an Otterbox to properly protect my phone.

I don't see any way Apple could win me back ever.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phone

 

Jul 8, 2014 by stevoe101

Carrier: AT&T

Have had my note 3 for a few weeks. Must say it's great. Fast processor.volume is great hearing callers. Speakerphone is average. What has impressed me more is battery life. Two days is my usual with moderate to heavy use. Just a nice phone. Just a bit big for pockets but too great not to carry. Interface speed is a bit slower then htc but that's typical Samsung .hardware takes a little learning with s pen.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

amazing phone

 

Mar 9, 2014 by timwalls

Carrier: AT&T

Nothing comes close to this phone.super fast, download whatever you want without converting and connecting to iTunes like on the iphones.i thought that a big 5.7 screen might be to big at first but after a couple days of using it,it actually feels normal size.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

samsung does it again....

 

Feb 7, 2014 by robert7107

Carrier: AT&T

someone asked me why would i want such a huge phone???? i replied ,why not!!!! samsung is clearly ahead of the game and setting the mark higher and higher. honestly who is coming even close the phone isnt perfect but close to it..

reception is excellent not a dropped call yet..

battery is a beast. i use phone heavily.
super fast and smooth interface.

volume could be louder..

only thing i am disappointed in is the back cover.. too thin feel it could break.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Note 3 (from iphone user perspective)

 

Nov 10, 2013 by scoop_insight

Carrier: AT&T

I was concerned about android phones not being fully ready compared to iphones. What I can say is that the usability and featureset that comes with a Samsung Note 3 is simply amazing! My Note 3 operates smoothly and I haven't had any issues since I purchased it 3 weeks ago. My other concern was that iphones have all the "cool" apps. Well, every app that I used on my iphone is available for android.

I come from a long line of iphones and I just upgraded my wife to the 5s. Compared to the 5s, the only thing that the Note 3 doesn't do better is take indoor pictures. However, all of the extra features that I have on my Note 3 are fantastic!! I shake my head at how many cools things I can do now versus my iphone.

I use the infrared to control my TV and DVD player.

Stylus is great for taking quick notes or jotting down some thoughts.

Movies and youtube are extraordinary. The 5s looks like a kindergarten toy compared to the Note 3 screen.

Tethering (hot spot sharing) works great.

I have customized my text messages with Go SMS Pro, which allows me to use different themes--really cool. Plus I CAN do group texts, which I thought I wasn't going to be able do.

The split screen is fun. I put up a video podcast on one half, and on the other half, I browse the internet or go through my email. Funny enough, only half of the Note3 screen was like my iphone 4s display.

The built in swype keyboard is probably the best part. I can now send long emails very comfortably, since with swype, I can write very fast. On the iphone, Apple doesn't allow swype, and trying to peck-type a long email is painful.

I was concerned to leave Apple, but even when the iphone 6 comes out with the supposed 4.99" screen, I have a hard time seeing myself moving back to an iphone. Unfortunately, Apple isn't innovating anymore, and I had to leave to get all of the new cool features available today. My only regret is that I did not get the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 sooner!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

N5 Vs. N3

 

Nov 2, 2013 by Versed

Carrier: T-Mobile

I was going to get the N5, but decided I wanted a larger phone.

I bought the Note 3 strait out from TMO. Expensive but sold some other devices I had, plus has a small credit from TMO to help. I am getting it unlocked to use on AT&T and will use my current unlocked SGS4 M919 back on my TMO line. I wanted an unlocked bootloader in case I want to change roms. Following is my opinion.

Screen is wonderful, found no problems with Touchwiz and the device is fast. No lag in anything, the battery charges fast with the provided charging cable. My other option was the new Sony Ultra Z, which would have actually been cheaper, but it is too massive in size.

Few shots of the camera was nice, and never had this camera fetish with phones, so if a camera is decent, its good enough for me, but the camera is outstanding for a phone. I understand others opinions on the benefits of a great camera is of more importance. Did get the folio flipcase, too expensive, but does what I want.

The size isn't bad, fits in my scrub pockets at work with no problems. All software works flawless. Didn't run any thing like Quadrents because, I know its a good device. I generally like features like TW and Sense, because it has benefits which just work for my lifestyle. Yes, others feel different, and choice is the beauty of Android. I do plan to root, but basically to remove carrier and even more so Samsung bloatware.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Has to be the biggest and best thing yet

 

Oct 25, 2013 by Jefestokes

Carrier: AT&T

The new Note 3 is slimmer, lighter, and ever so slightly less narrow than the Note 2, which makes it a perfect fit in a medium/small hand; it's marvelous. (The plastic back is perfectly fine; it will come off permanently when I get the Samsung S-View case anyways and it keeps the phone lighter.) I've had it two weeks so am still learning. So far this seems to be the best way to avoid having a mobile phone and a separate tablet (and with 4G all the way you can't lose; no need to worry about using public WiFi, although you could). It works well as a phone, doesn't feel funny at all as I thought it would. The camera is fabulous...it's a real joy!
Battery life is stellar. All day with heavy usage, like the iphone. You dont have to worry about being tethered to a charger. This was my biggest single complaint about my last few android phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2