Phone Scoop

printed August 27, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=413&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 6820 / 6820i

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.91
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4

It HAS Those Features!

 

Jun 4, 2004 by Shiftlock

First, let's clear some things up. Some reviewers have said that it is not possible to send pictures via regular email with the 6820, but that's just WRONG. After taking the pic, go to Options > Send > Via multimedia > Options > Send to email. Then you just enter the email address and message. Also, one reviewer said the keyboard is not backlit. That is also WRONG. Press the button in the upper left corner, and the whole keyboard lights up, just like on the 6800. I really wish people would RTFM before posting a review.

Now, to the phone. My wife and I both had the 6800. I decided to give the 6820 a try this time. I cannot believe Nokia has added a camera and Bluetooth, and made the phone so much smaller and lighter at the same time, while still retaining the full fold-out QWERTY keyboard. It's just an engineering marvel in my mind.

Due to the smaller size, it was necessary to remove the spaces between the keys on the keyboard. That makes typing a little more difficult at first, especially if you are used to the 6800 keyboard, but it didn't take long to get used to.

All of the features work perfect for me, and I have not noticed a single flaw. AT&T coverage is top-notch in my area (southern Connecticut).

I would have given it a perfect score, but the first 6820 I received came frozen with a 'Contact Service' message on the screen. Probably AT&T's fault, but AT&T was great about sending a new phone by Fedex overnight.

Overall an amazing machine, and now I have to order another one for myself, since my wife took mine! Apparently "it fits better in her purse." Doh!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ONE OF THE BEST NOKIA PHONES

 

Apr 6, 2004 by sam2004

.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best phone for the price with added features

 

Jun 6, 2004 by kekko

I must say that as a phone this model more than satisfies the basic principles. It provides excellent RF, unbeatable audio quality, and when you combine the two it means steady, stable, uninterrupted voice. I wish all phones came with this in mind before they are shipped.

The screen may not be the best, but it only looks pixely because of the colours, otherwise it's not bad, but is rather small.

Took a while to get all the settings working from AT&T where it originated to Fido where I am now using it. Also the PC end of things was a long challenge, but worked out in the end. Remember to dial into GPRS/EDGE you'll need to dial the number "*99#" without quotes. I found this info on howardforums.com.

Anyway the keypad takes getting used to, but is a great conversation piece, and proves very valuable for e-mailing or SMSing back and forth. Too bad there's no ability to automatically poll for new POP3 messages, as that would have made it all that much better.

Everything combined though, I don't think there's a better phone out there in this price range, and I was previously a Motorola enthusiast because of their supposedly rock-solid RF and voice quality. The tone may be a slight bit richer on Motorola V-series, but Nokia has them beat on steadiness and flawlessness of voice quality on this handset. Many have said it rivals the 6310i, which is touted as one of the best phones by Steve Punter (well known phone reviewer) and if it compares to that phone, it must be a good one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


No.1 Phone Out In Market

 

May 13, 2004 by salman5

i really liked this phone. all of its features work and are easy to use. this phone has mostly everything you need, and it is small and has a camera to take pics and video clips. i love this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


what doesn't this phone have?

 

May 25, 2005 by mistercrinkles

nokia is my favorite manufacturer of phones. i've owned the 5120, 5165, 6120, 1100, 6200, 3300, 3200, you name it, i've had em all. my friend worked for cingular, and he would always give me phones that he'd won, or repaired, or whatever. so when i got a job with him in january this year, i had to get a nice phone.

that's when i fell in love with this one. initially all i'd cared about was the keyboard. it was exactly what i needed, since i averaged somewhere around 800 text messages a month. the phone was the size of the 6200 that i had at the time, so much smaller than the 6800 that i'd seen before. i needed this phone. just for the keyboard.

so when my boss struck me a deal on the phone, i was sure to take it. and so the saga began...

this is when i fully got to explore everything else the phone had.

EDGE. high speed internet, baby.
BLUETOOTH. bluetooth is my best friend now.
SPEAKERPHONE. for when i need time away from bluetooth.
KEYBOARD. everyone needs to text now and again.
CAMERA. it's pretty weak, but it does the job for the most part.
VIDEO. i've taken some hot videos ;).
E-MAIL. even though i never really use it :).

i have to say all those features in one make it the best phone out there, in my opinion. but the camera is pretty weak, heh.

the bluetooth is sweet though because you can wear a headset and easily do almost anything on your phone. like write text messages or e-mails while on it :).

it's so easy to type in full websites with the keyboard. everything on this phone is easy, everything on this phone is awesome.

this phone is perfect. except for the camera. lol

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love it

 

Apr 9, 2005 by colione

This is one of the phones I use everyday. I love the keyboard.

Pros:
-Keyboard
-Bluetooth
-Size
-Pop3 email

Cons:
-Keyboard doesn't light up in the dark
-Camera quality isn't that great
-Lack of belt cases or clips on the market
-Doesn't support mp3 ringtons

Overall I recommend a buy on this phone, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.
We sold a few of these phones to deaf people(polically correct?), and it allows fast typing of text messaging and emails.

The only reason I got this phone, I text alot and I love the bluetooth feature.

Great phone, the camera isn't that great, but it isn't that bad either. The night shot feature makes the camera worthwhile.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The 6820

 

Feb 5, 2005 by 330

This phone is fun! I love the QWERTY keyboard and that it has bt and IrDa.
PROS:
-Great Battery
-Full keyboard
-BT and IrDa
-Great reception
-Video and Camera
-EDGE

CONS:
-Poor screen colors
-camera is grainy
-only 3.5 MB of memory

Over all a great phone to have with lost of added features but would need a better color screen which the 6822 will provide. Until it is out, this a unique and fun phone that will meet it's expectations.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


THIS PHONE NEEDS TO BE FINE TUNED BADLY

 

Jan 26, 2005 by rc89721

THIS IS NOT THE WORST NOKIA I HAVE OWNED NOR IT IS THE BEST THAT I HAVE OWNED EITHER.

PROS-
PHONES DESIGN, KEYPAD AND LIGHTING
WONT USE THE KEYBOARD FEATURE.
BLUETOOTH

CONS
HORRIBLE SCREEN
HORRIBLE CAMERA-SO SAD FOR THE OTHER PERSON WHO YOU SEND YOUR PICTURES TOO. THIS PHONE IS GOING TO BE HARD TO KEEP UP WITH THE JONES'S.
NEEDS SUPERTONES,MP3 TONES, ETC.
BATTERY LIFE-FOR A PERSON WHO IS ON THEIR PHONE ALL DAY YOU WILL NEED A CHARGER @ WORK @ HOME @ IN CAR-------I AM SENDING NOKIA A 1099 FORM FOR ALL ACCESSORIES I HAVE TO GET. OH WELL I SHOULD HAVE RESEARCHED THIS PHONE OUT A LITTLE BIT MORE. I HAVE MYSELF TO BLAME. JUST FOR YOU TO THINK AGAIN AND THEN AGAIN BEFORE YOU BUY THIS PHONE.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone, Beautiful Design, Unreliable & Buggy

 

Jan 26, 2005 by alexpx

At first look, this phone has it all in terms of features, design, and sound quality. But unfortunatly, I've had much too many reliability problems with it and with much sadness and giving the phone up entirely.

The first major problem I encountered was after one month I owned the phone. The phone simply when dead from one moment to the next. Didn't get banged anywhere, no exposure to rain to excesive sun, simply lights out, bye bye.
To get the phone opperational again required servicing which meant 4 weeks without the phone, while the techs ultimately replaced the motherboard of the phone.

Now, after month 3 of phone ownership, any calls made to the phone get a busy signal, or no signal at all. Thought it was the network, but after checking and opening a ticket just to baffle my carrier, I decided to switch chips with my backup phone (shouldn't need a backup phone). Result: calls made to the 6820 regardless of which chip is there get the busy signal, the same chip in the backup phone get the call.

Those are the two major headaches I've had with the phone, but other, seemingly minor ones too, such as... if I'm out of network reach for some time, the phone does not notice there is reception again unless I turn it off and back on myself.

Pros: Great design, tiny but useable keyboard works great for sending eMails and SMS, speakerphone works well, nice colors.

Cons: Got more bugs than a crack dealers telephone. Doesn't work. Very disapointing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia 6820 Total Communication Package

 

Jan 24, 2005 by bnz300

We received our Nokia 6820's a week ago, wondering if they would live up to our previous Nokia experiences which had been great. The phone is as good as we hoped.Phone calls are clear and not dropped. I have had the Edge for a while, (Nokia 6200), so expected the best there. The camera works well, as it was designed. We have 4 digital cameras so that wasn't the issue.The best part is the "querty" keyboard, making text messages a breeze.

Pros: Phone size: small& compact. Querty keyboard,which has a backlite.Calls are clear and stay connected. The Edge makes quick work of the internet connection. Bluetooth allows info transfer and a wireless earpiece made simple.

Cons:4K screen, still has good color. The camera could be better,(640x480) but works for our purposes.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1