Phone Scoop

printed October 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4112&r=41411

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG G2 (Verizon)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  7  

Phone Scoop Review

3.5
Overall
4
Reception
4
Battery Life
2.5
Hardware Usability
2.5
Hardware Quality
5
Display
5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.33
Overall
4.8
Reception
4.9
Battery Life
4.2
Hardware Usability
4.4
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4.7
Interface Speed
4.1
Audio Volume
4.3
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Amazing Phone

 

Dec 25, 2013 by Hobart91

I must say that lg got it right on this phone. I work in the wireless industry for Verizon. I had been a Samsung person my whole life until this amazing phone came out. Blowing the S4 out of the water and very competitive to the latest Note 3, it exceeds all my expectations. The battery life is amazing, camera is outstanding with 13mpx, and the HD display to back it up. My only concern is the non removable battery.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Superb phone from Verizon Wireless (Boston Area)

 

Oct 19, 2013 by PJA_in_Boston   updated Oct 19, 2013

I'm not sure why this phone has so few reviews on Phone Scoop, but it certainly deserves more complimentary ones. I've never written a phone review, but since, for the first time, the LG G2 combines everything I've wanted since I started using smart phones, I feel like spreading the word.

Pros:

- Excellent battery life. Unlike the Galaxy Nexus I'd been using with a 3300 mAh battery, this one *always* gets me through a full day of heavy use.

- A superb, bright, large, high-resolution display.

- An top-notch camera with a wide range of shooting options

- Clear, strong phone reception

- Clear, sufficiently loud audio

- Excellent wi-fi, 4G and GPS performance

- Useful and well-designed interface

Cons: None

The phone's construction and appearance are just fine, and it's slicked up and protected nicely with an inexpensive Trudia case.

The rear button location takes a little getting used to, but after a while, it's not a big deal. I don't use slide-aside, but most of the other LG-specific features are welcome additions or improvements over stock Android (including a nice help system),

I chose the LG G2 after looking carefully and extensively into the S4, and the Droid Maxx (including downloading, printing and reading manuals for all three). I spent quite a bit of time learning about the G2's features and customizing it to my tastes. If you're willing to do this, you'll have a real winner.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best Phone on the Market

 

Oct 5, 2013 by koolJeff

I am an Indirect agent for Verizon Wireless and see a lot of new phones. I am also very knowledgeable on cell phones and am into rooting, jailbreaking, and flashing custom ROMs and recoveries. After getting my hands on this phone from months of watching it waiting for it to come to the US, I have a hard time finding any problem with it. I must say, the screen is amazing, near edge to edge display, and pictures and videos are the most beautiful that I had ever seen on a phone. The phone is very quick and responsive and has yet to slow me down with all that I use it for. The battery life on it is amazing and very close to the Motorola Droid Ultra Maxx. I can get through a full 15 hour day and still be at about 50%. The only downside to this phone is the sound. Using the phone on headphones, or in a car through Aux., makes the sound low, and bass is low, and there isn't anything built into the phone to enhance the sound. Though the sound is very clear, just not as loud as expected.
Still I have no problem selling this phone every day. I am very excited for future updates with this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Not just an iPod that throws birds.

 

Sep 14, 2013 by 7592601

Battery life is amazing. I have been using many G2 off charger for about an hour, listening to music, battery remains at 100%. Volume is awesome. The display, can you say the best?! Not only is it dark enough for low light scenarios but you can actually easily read the screen in direct sunlight. The fast processor means there is no lag, I have not waited a single time for the phone to catch up.

The camera is less then impressive. I converted from a Samsung Galaxy S3 and feel in love with its camera. At 13mp, the G2 doesn't compare to the S3. Ive experienced lower quality pictures as well as harder to use in low light. The G2 is also lacking many of the camera color adjustments that I am accustomed to.

The buttons on the back are horrible. In order to take a screenshot you have to press both the volume down and power button at the same time. Literally takes to hands. The buttons are also small and hard to tell the difference between them. Surprisingly, I have experienced no problems with the phone attempting to unlock itself when set on a hard surface.

The phone is super thin. Having been released two days ago, the phone does not have many cases available, one of which I feel the phone desperately needs.

Overall, I love the phone. I have personally been through approximately 90 phones in 8 years, this is by far my favorite. Replaces my laptop.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Data Hog

 

Sep 29, 2014 by ken68

I recently got this phone as a contract upgrade. Everything is fine except the phone uses an extraordinary amount of data. With previous, Android, IPhones, and Blackberry, I would average 400 MB per month, never exceeding 1 GB.

With this phone in one weekend, it burnt through almost 600 MB of data! The culprit appears to be syncing Yahoo email. The solution appears to be not installing Yahoo on this phone and just going with GMail.

Probably a good phone for someone with a lot of technical expertise. For most of us, I would recommend passing on this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Under Rated Awesome Phone

 

Jul 28, 2014 by sdgmcdon

I'm on my 2nd G2 because I sold my first one in favor of a Note 3...since, I have tried the m8 and s5 and moto x...ended up rebuying the G2...its just hands down a better phone.

Perfect size, amazingly nice screen, great camera...fast, and knock on is awesome eliminating any issues with the rear buttons.

My only issue is build quality in terms of materials, is only on par with Samsung...not better, not worse...just, plastic.

Due to the significantly increased size of the g3, I'm likely sticking with this g2 till early 2015 (a first for me to keep a phone more than a few months).

If you're reading this, you're likely thinking of getting it, just get it. Its a really nice kick butt phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2