Phone Scoop

printed November 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=410&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera KX433 / KX434 / K10 / Rave / Royale

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  4  

Average Ratings

3.47
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

kyocera royale

 

Aug 11, 2006 by leewells_01

I got the royale about 6 months ago and its a good phone for virgin mobile service. live in uniontown,pennsylvania and service is wonderful.

PROs
color screen.
downloadable games, ringtones and wallpaper.
nice design.
changeable faceplate.
good service.
good sound quality.

virgin mobile service also comes in minute to minute .day to day .month to month

CONs
takes for ever to put more minutes on phone.
every one has it or one that looks alike.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


K10 Royale is crippled

 

Oct 13, 2005 by Maniac42

The K10 has many excellent features, including voice recognition dialing, text messaging, LED flashlight, and "superphonic" ring tones made from real sound clips. Unfortunately, at the request of Virgin Mobile, Kyocera crippled the firmware so it is not possible to use the Kyocera Desktop software disc and data cable kit to back up one's contact list or install ring tones and wallpapers from one's personal computer. The phone comes with a standard beep ring tone and a selection of musical ring tones which you'll enjoy if rap and hip-hop are your style (they're _not_ my style).

A Kyocera customer support representative told me today (12 Oct. 2005) that if contact list backup and ring tone download is essential, their similarly-featured K9 model should be chosen.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Do not buy this phone!!!

 

Feb 14, 2005 by sppjr

Do not buy this phone!!!
This phone is a disaster, and a piece of crap!!!

Cons:
-Ringtone resets to annoying standard ring anytime I plug the phone in or unplug it.
-All but one ringtone is obnoxious and unsuitable for a workplace environment
-Silent mode is unavailable when plugged in! As if I always want the phone to ring out loud when it's recharging??
-Talking on the phone uses more power than the car-charger provides, so the phone will TURN OFF in the middle of a call while plugged in!!
-Buttons are far too difficult to differentiate by touch.
-Flashlight is too weak to do any good
-Power cord input on the side of phone is incredibly awkward
-Headphone input on the reverse side is even worse! No way to comfortably hold phone while both are plugged in! And the plug slips out constantly.
-When you answer a call during KeyGuard it interferes with the normal number entry and other features that should be available during calls.
-Contacts list entry has far too many stages to select through.

What a frustrating experience this phone has been.
Stick to Nokia. They never break.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


KX-433

 

Feb 28, 2004 by gun smoke

This by far is the best phone I have ever owned (10),this is a working man's phone that will take a beating.I wear this phone on my key chain all day.I have dropped it a nunber of times and ran over it with my truck.I have never had a dropped call in the year I have had it.You can not download ring tones with this model and the antenna will not pull up.The only beef I have is with the company who I bought the phone from,METRO PCS has nickkle and dimed me to death with there options.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A great phone that suits my style!

 

Jun 30, 2006 by Joshx420

::This review is based on a Kyocera K10 Royale phone on the Virgin Mobile network::

First off, let me say one thing. This is a nice, sturdy BASIC phone. That means: no camera, no bluetooth, no MP3 player, etc. You people need to give these basic phones more credit. I mean, they are only PHONES! They were made to make and recieve calls, and maybe just a little extra. That is exactly what the K10 Royale does. Now that my little rant is over, let's get down to business.

This is my 7th phone after a Kyocera V5 Slider, an Audiovox 8610, a Sony Ericsson T237, A Nokia 2600, A Siemens CF62T, and a Samsung X497. I would have to say this phone is the best out of them all. Any Virgin Mobile phone makes me very happy. So anyway, here are the PROS and CONS of this phone, in my own opinion:

PROS:
::Color screen, but see CON #1
::2 pre-loaded games: Bejewled and Bowling
::Very bright backlighting
::LED Flashlight
::Support for MP3 (Superphonic) ring tones.
::Easy to press buttons
::Buttons are well spaced apart
::Menus are easy to operate
::Support of VirginXL, so you can download games and wallpapers, but see CON #2
::A pre-paid phone
CONS:
::The color screen only supports 4,096 colors, and is rather small. (Only 1.25 inches measured diagonally). This isn't really a big deal for me, though.
::The VirginXL costs $.10 per day, regardless of whether you use it or not. You can cancel VirginXL, though, if you don't like paying the extra money
::The navigation pad could be a little bigger, but it's fine for my fingers.

All in all, I love the phone. The PROS definitely outwiegh the CONS, and I am very happy with the device.

I hope this review helps.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Worst phone I've ever owned

 

Jan 19, 2004 by wasserperson

This phone is a disaster, and the single reason I'm switching carriers now rather than wait until summer.

Cons:
-Ringtone resets to annoying standard ring anytime I plug the phone in or unplug it.
-All but one ringtone is obnoxious and unsuitable for a workplace environment
-Silent mode is unavailable when plugged in! As if I always want the phone to ring out loud when it's recharging??
-Talking on the phone uses more power than the car-charger provides, so the phone will TURN OFF in the middle of a call while plugged in!!
-Buttons are far too difficult to differentiate by touch.
-Flashlight is too weak to do any good
-Power cord input on the side of phone is incredibly awkward
-Headphone input on the reverse side is even worse! No way to comfortably hold phone while both are plugged in! And the plug slips out constantly.
-When you answer a call during KeyGuard it interferes with the normal number entry and other features that should be available during calls.
-Contacts list entry has far too many stages to select through.

What a frustrating experience this phone has been.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Metro PCS great for college students

 

May 8, 2004 by dprum16

This is my first phone, and being only seventeen with a low paying job, it was the best phone for me. Even though the features could be changed a little, (phone cannot be sileced while charging) I think it would be a great choice for all parents out there who want their kids to have a phone of their own.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


yeah right!

 

Apr 16, 2006 by elvis_hiccup

I purchased this phone(K10 Royale, Virgin Mobile) two weeks really thought that this phone would work out great. unfortunatley, i was wrong.

PROS: Creative Control, Colorful Themes, Interesting Design.

CONS: Ringtones change themselves, screen was flimsy and flickered constantly, the phone itself was flimsy (if i squeezed it, i could hear it crunch and squeak!)Interchangeable faceplates are impossible to find for a decent price, Coverage is weak, The phone committed suicide(it killed itself, i swear!) Sound quality was bad( my phone produced loud artifacts as i spoke)

Please take heed to my warning! I really mean this.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2