Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4066&r=41494

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S 4 (Verizon / Sprint)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  51  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
4.5
Reception
4
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 

See also: Review: Samsung Galaxy S 4 for Sprint ›

 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.69
Overall
4.03
Reception
3.84
Battery Life
3.75
Hardware Usability
4.03
Hardware Quality
4.72
Display
4.07
Interface Speed
4.23
Audio Volume
4.43
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Galaxy S4 review

 

Nov 27, 2013 by shastine_schuetze

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I work in the Wireless industry and i wanted a Fast and reliable phone to go with, that had a beautiful screen and an awesome camera I did my research for a couple months and i finally desided to go with the Galaxy S4 i was not upset about my choice what so ever. the camera was amazing the screen was just so awesome! and the phone was very very fast.

the only bad things i didnt like about it was the battery life was not as reliable as i thought it would be i am a heavy phone user and it only last me almost a day where as the Note 2 with the same usage lasted me 3 days but the battery differance between both is significantly different. all in all it is a wonderful phone to have!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best phone of all time (so far)

 

Aug 6, 2013 by Dr. Wizard

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I have had my S4 for a little over a week. First of all, I don't understand giving this phone one star over one app when this phone does everything else to near perfection. The eye scrolling works all the time for me as does the air gestures. Combine that with a screen resolution that is better than most new television sets and this phone is a winner. Its lightweight and has a pretty fast processor to boot. At 1.9 gigs, I believe its the fastest processor out there. Do yourself a favor and check out this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

going from s3 to s4

 

Jun 4, 2013 by shveckle   updated Jun 4, 2013

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Should you make the switch?

Well I will give this review mostly to compare to the Verizon s3. First thing is that the GPS works a lot better then on the Verizon s3. I had problems with that one and did a suggestion of screwing all the screens on the back under the battery cover, which amazingly improved it a great deal, but still no where as good as the s4. The s4 catches a GPS signal inside my house. Also the wifi and internet seem a lot faster, they just do. I especially can tell when I download a TV show or movie from the google play, it seems way faster for that and also uploads too. The instant uploads of my photos to Google+ seem instantaneous. I also think the sound is better, the speaker is louder both on loud speaker and on the phone speaker. I also think battery life is a decent amount better. Now after having it for about a week I think it is? the batter last for a 16 hour day with I guess moderate use? I do use JuiceDefender but I also used it for the s3 so equal comparison.

Also I loved this time how switching to this phone that all settings and apps from s3 downloaded instantly. That is the first time that happened. The camera also seems better, sharper and the flash also seems better. I also like the shape of the phone better, you can get more square cases to fit it, looks nicer. Also the black looks better then the pebble blue.

PROS: tons of pros too many to mention

CONS: battery could be better? but I think it is on the good side of all smart phones out there so I will rate it 4, except the Motorola droid HD mxx or whatever it is called, the one with the one with the larger battery size.
I love the AMOLED screens a lot, they are awesome, the blacks are soo nice, the only downside is in the sun they are not as good I think as the superLCD or qLCD high quality screens.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Outstanding Phone

 

Jun 6, 2013 by GuyinLACA

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

This is a huge upgrade from the Galaxy S3 in every way.

PROS:
+Awesome 1080p screen
+Clear call quality
+Loud speaker for music
+Outstanding battery life
+Great accessories available
+Very fast overall
+Runs 4.2 out of the box
+Phone charges very quickly

CONS:
-Speakerphone is distorted at max volume
-Touchwiz is very bloated and a replacement launcher and keyboard sped up performance significantly.
-Gimmicky features such as gestures and eye detection aren't as useful as advertised and drain battery, might as well turn them off.

All in all, this is great hardware. You will need to customize it to get optimum performance though.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Unbelievable Phone

 

May 26, 2013 by Pego

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

My situation is just like the other review. Been with VZ for a long time went from the Razr Maxx to the S4. There are absolutely no negatives. Battery life is great and everything else. This is the greatest phone I ever had or saw. I would give it a six if I could!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Verizon Samsung Galaxy S4

 

May 26, 2013 by waltermax

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I have been with Verizon for a very long time and I find them to be the best company for me, as I am on the road a lot and they have the most extensive coverage. I have been using the Motorola Droid Maxx for the last 14 months because of it's battery life. I have had my eye on the S4 for awhile. The only thing I was concerned about was battery life, as I didn't want to give it up. I purchased the S4 at retail as I didn't want to give up my unlimited data. It only came out 3 days ago on Verizon and that's when I bought it. I enjoy it very much and although the battery is smaller--2600 whatevers to 3300 for the Maxx, I am finding that I can easily get through a day with it, and that's all that matters, as I can charge it at night. It's very fast and the screen is beautiful, and the camera has some very interesting modes. I especially like the panorama. I enjoy the large screen and everything works as it is supposed to. Of course, it is the most popular phone in the world currently, but that's no reason to buy it. Check it out first and see if it's for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

This phone has suspended the craving for the next best thing (for the time being)

 

Sep 17, 2014 by squarecat

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

This is, in total, my eighth smartphone; six with long term use (returned two within a week for dissatisfaction) which includes one iPhone (4S).

High points for the Galaxy S4

- Camera: unquestionably usurps the role of a point and shoot in nearly any situation

- Size: In a case and all else being equal, a 4.875 inch screen might be more perfect-er for my hands as there are those moments when I must perform a delicate finger ballet. And though no case does feel nearly perfect, it also becomes a real possibility of constantly living one swipe from launching an internet-connected projectile. So pop it in a conservative case, slap on a quality screen protector, and call it a day. (Unless you require it, forgo the screen defeating bulk of the supercases. Look at the drop tests of unadorned samples and you'll appreciate how much overkill they actually are.)

- Display: Like the preceding points, this is an exercise in well-executed compromise. As I said just above, I now have a glass screen protector. Fortunately, this achieved the goal of maintaining the lovely quality and the smooth touch (though the native surface is ever so slightly more buttery.)

Low point

- Sound: Whether the earpiece or the speaker, it's disappointment all around. Phone call audio is just tolerable but inescapably mediocre at all times. The speaker is interchangeably poor quality or 20% too quiet and the best that can be said is it manages to never be both at once. That applies to any audio source, but is painfully endured on video calls.

Yes, just one negative. There's nothing else in daily use that specifically makes me question choosing the Samsung Galaxy S4 over another model. Even newer, supposedly superior models.

To prove a point, I'm considering a move from Verizon to T-Mobile and weighing the options for continuing to use an S4.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Really Wanted to LIKE GS4

 

May 28, 2014 by Farrinna64

Carrier: Sprint

The reception is spotty, unpredictable at best. Very disappointed! I've had Samsung phones since at least '08, I owned the first Black Jack. I had an Infuse which was great at first but had the same issue, connectivity, I am having with the GS4, everything is great EXCEPT the reception. I had AT&T until last year so I don't think it's the carrier per se, although I hear there are those who are controlling the internet that are trying to limit how and how much we are able to access the internet/data. Gotta love big brother and those who are power hungry , right? NOT! I did switch to an unlimited plan which I regret now, but it's sad I have to give up speed for quantity....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
hide detailed ratings

Upgrade that went suprisingly well.

 

Nov 10, 2013 by ghost0001

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I purchased this phone in the beginning of October of 2013. I have been due for an upgrade since 2012 but held off due to my unlimited data plan. I reviewed the new iPhone 5S, Note 2, Note 3, HTC One, and this phone. After some debate with a Samsung tech, and putting my hands on each of the above phones, I chose the Galaxy S4. After I got my phone home I immediately rooted the device. I started throwing apps and getting as close to overuse as I could. No matter what I did, my S4 kept up with me. I was suprised. Althought all my droid phones up to this one had a hardware keyboard, this was the first time I had just the screen keyboard. It is something to get use to, but it is not as clumsy as I thought it would be. Under normal usage, checking email and facebook a few times, the battery will last me from 0600 until 1700(that is 6AM until 5PM). I do still carry my charger with me, but I seem to not need it anymore. Heavy usage will drain my battery quickly, but the days of a four hour charge are over. I am use to my Motorola Droid 4 having a car mode, however the S4 does not. I had to purchase a separate app to use my phone in car dock mode. All in all, this phone was a great upgrade. No matter what I insall, the phone can handle it. I highly recommend you consider this phone as your next one.

You should be aware that I am comparing this to my old Motorola Droid 4.

Pros:
Battery life
Screen readability(is daylight readable)
Memory management (ability to clean RAM)
Responsiveness

Cons:
Speaker is still on the back
Sometimes bluetooth will not work with phone calls but media only, requires restart
No car mode(requires separate app)
Internall memory fills up fast with downloaded apps and app data.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

One major flaw

 

Sep 8, 2013 by PlayboyPenguin

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

It doesn't matter how many bells and whistles something has if it can't handle the one basic thing you buy it to do. I have a YouTube channel and I spend a great deal of time on there answering PM's and comments. This phone cannot handle YouTube. When you go to a video's comment section it lags, freezes, malfunctions, crashes, etc. My iPhone 5 has no issues, my son's Razr M has no issues, and my old Galaxy 3 had no issues...this phone has serious issues. Therefore I cannot rate this phone as anything worth owning from my own personal perspective.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1