Phone Scoop

printed September 17, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4066&r=41269

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S 4 (Verizon / Sprint)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  50  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
4.5
Reception
4
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 

See also: Review: Samsung Galaxy S 4 for Sprint ›

 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.69
Overall
4.03
Reception
3.84
Battery Life
3.75
Hardware Usability
4.03
Hardware Quality
4.72
Display
4.07
Interface Speed
4.23
Audio Volume
4.43
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

I prefer the Razr HD Max

 

Sep 3, 2013 by MOTU   updated Oct 24, 2013

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I received the S4 as a company phone in Aug. 2013 but still have my Razr HD Max as my personal. Overall it's not a bad phone but IMO the Samsung user interface falls short compared to the standard Google interface on the Motorola.

Pros:
Beautiful screen.

Cons:
Ear volume is not as loud as the Maxx. No Circles Widget - a minor issue but still missed. Voice command requires confirmation to make a call - unlike the Motorola - and ignores the "Yes" confirmation most of he time. I end up scrolling through my contact list by hand to make calls. In short, voice dialing is an absolute failure. Also has a loud dinging noise on bluetooth initiated calls - and you can't reduce the volume. I use my phone for an alarm clock; the native alarm setting the alarm on the S4 is not intuitive and doesn't seem to be any way to have multiple alarms - weekend vs weekday, etc.

Battery is OK but not as good as the Maxx HD.

Final thoughts:
Overall not a bad phone but a pretty screen isn't everything. Samsung dropped the ball on the user interface. I never thought I'd say it but the Razr Maxx HD is a better phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Love it

 

Aug 21, 2013 by djausting

Carrier: Sprint

I love this phone. I had the iPhone 5 on sprint and this phone's radio performance kills the iPhone. I do a lot of internet radio streaming and the iPhone used to buffer constantly and this phone does not buffer as much. The voice quality is just like a land line. I have people ask me if I'm on a land line. the battery life is awesome. I'm blind so I can't comment on the screen. The camera is good as well. I think you can't go wrong with this phone. My only complaint is I think Samsung put a little bit too much bloatware on here but that is just my opinion. The hot spot works very well. I'd say this is one of the best phones sprint caries.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Sprint's variant does not support foreign SIM cards!

 

Aug 2, 2013 by FrequentTraveler

Carrier: Sprint

Yes, the SIM is removable.

Yes, Sprint will unlock the phone for you (after 90 days).

So you will be able to use it for voice and text with a foreign SIM card outside the United States.

But to use data you will need to set the 'access point name' (APN). Unfortunately Sprint made sure to completely remove this setting from the device. The only way to change the APN is to root the phone.

So if you plan to use this phone abroad and are not prepared to root it, do not buy it from Sprint.

Also with all the Gorilla III glass, it does get scratched easily. So make sure to get a screen protector.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

S4

 

May 30, 2013 by 1gonzalu

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

The best phone out there!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Nothing Special

 

May 29, 2013 by jdr30

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Don't get me wrong, its a good phone, but not worth the upgrade if you already have a elite phone such as the Droid DNA, iPhone 5, RAZR MAXX HD, or something similar.

Air gestures work only sometimes, I have turned them off

Eye scrolling works sometimes, easier to use your finger to scroll.

It has a lot of added bloat and features you will not use and will turn off.

Battery lasts me all day with moderate usage (about the same as the iPhone 5 - and not nearly as good as the RAZR MAXX HD)

If you are coming from an older device and have an upgrade available I would say go for it, if not, you are not missing anything.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

could have been a 5 star celll, S voice makes it 2 star at best

 

Jul 4, 2013 by bob1xxx

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

pro: it works as cell phone , excellent camera

cons: voice command from hell F- minus fail on such a important basic feature . Ruins what would otherwise be A+ phone.

I wanted to love this phone in every other regard its great with one incredible important F - fail. It the phones voice dialing system that is high jacket by Samsungs God awful steamy pile of feces bad S-voice . Over 99% of the time it gets the request for number to dial WRONG!!!!!! And even when it gets it right you it adds a extra step having to reconfirm its choice and it Never I mean never understands they yes command so it still fails when it gets it right 1% of the time??????? Worse yet the s4 will not let you turn off the S vocie and replace it with another voice command app. Samsung blocks all other voice command apps with the exception of the google stock android app built in which is even worse than S voice if that can be imagined . How could samsung mess this up?????? I had Flip phones I had in the mid 1990's had better voice dial than the S4. I am going to see if I can return this turd . Wow what a massive disappoint this phone is.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2