Phone Scoop

printed August 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4058&r=41210

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S 4 (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  81  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4
Reception
3
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
3.5
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.58
Overall
4.12
Reception
3.76
Battery Life
4.43
Hardware Usability
4.09
Hardware Quality
4.52
Display
4.6
Interface Speed
4.29
Audio Volume
4.53
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Galaxy S4 Review. (At Last)

 

May 16, 2013 by Nixoncarmichael

Carrier: AT&T

As I've mentioned in other reviews, I work for a carrier and as such I get to demo varies devices upon their release.

The S4 is actually an awesome device.

Pros:
Snapdragon processor has NO lag time whatsoever. You tap an app or make a gesture and its done.

The supe ramoled screen looks brilliant.

LTE is megafast on AT&T's network. I've not tried the device on Verizon's network, but I would imagine that its equally fast.

Even when using the device on the fake 4G (HSPA+) network, the speeds are still amazing.

Cons: Though the device is thin an as compact as the iPhone5, the plastic back still makes the phone feel rinky dink. If I have ONE problem with the Galaxy series, its this. It just feels as if someone farts in my general direction, the device is in danger of damage.

Within the first day or two of use the OS crashed a couple of times and required me to remove the battery/SIM to get it back up and running. This, from what I can tell is fairly typical of most android devices. After reboot everything seemed fine.

Overall, the S4 is a great device. Perfect for normal usage, but amazing for HULU, Netflix, whatever video service you prefer. This screen is brilliant. If you're upgrading from an older iPhone3GS/4 or an older Galaxy SII or older, then its a good upgrade. I wouldn't burn an upgrade if you're using a GSIII, iPhone4S/5, but otherwise, its an excellent choice.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

AND THEN I OPENNED MY EYES

 

Apr 28, 2013 by Jefesinbad

The S4 combines irreprehensible design, a sleek body, sturdy construction, well-made software and ground-breaking features into a single package that is class-leading in almost every regard.
Where do I start.... Ok. The Galaxy S4 is absolutely hands down one of the best phoneout! I've never had a phone that was this much fun and this well built! Lets give you some pros/cons:



 4.2.2 Jelly Bean, and tons of Samsung software, including Air View and Air Gesture, Drama Shot and Eraser Shot, and Easy Mode and a customizable notification tray
5.0 inch Samsung Super AMOLED, with Gorilla Glass 3 is fantastic
Slimmer design is more hand friendly


1.9 GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon 600 8064T quad-core!
2GB ram. No lag or hiccups there.

New body is gorgeous!
Loud speaker is incredible! 

Battery life by far is the best! 

13-megapixel camera, super-sensitive touch screen is amazing and takes gorgeous photos and very fast.
infrared universal remote control

Internet is blazing! 

Customization is endless!

Cons: none noted

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Solid Phone!

 

Mar 18, 2014 by mushijima

Carrier: T-Mobile

I recently upgraded from the S 3 LTE model. Using T-Mobile and have used multiple phones over the years.
This is my third Samsung Galaxy model, and I'm very happy with the upgrade.

I upgraded the phone upon acquisition to Android 4.4.3 Kit Kat

Pros:
- More solid construction vs. previous S 3 model. The metal-like rim adds some heft to a phone that needed to feel a little more luxury vs. iPhones and HTC models.
- Screen is noticeably better, the 1080p screen is great upgrade.
- In comparing signal support this phone is better in wifi and Cell signal grabbing vs. previous S3 (LTE) model.
-The processor is much faster for various apps that actually use processor power (e.g. Games/photo/video)
-The addition of the number bar for the virtual keyboard is an absolute must, why Android didn't do this earlier (and why some tablet keyboards still don't have this is perplexing)
- The camera sensor functions for pausing video and keeping the screen backlit are useful and handy
-The camera quality is good

Cons
- Samsung added an infrared emitter on the phone, it's too bad that the included TV remote app doesn't work really well with environments that have mixed component systems. I'm still looking for the ultimate Infrared / Bluetooth Home Theater remote app that can handle, TVs, DVRs, Playstations, Blu-Rays and Home Theater Amplifiers/Receivers.
-Battery life on all smartphones could be improved, the ideal phone is one that can be used moderately to heavily and still last 12-16 hours
-Having customizable ring tones is good, but why can't anyone provide a traditional telephone ringtone (old ma-bell physical bell ring). Samsung used to do this, would really like to have that provided as standard again.
-The whiz-bang gesture functions sound cool, but I haven't found them that usable.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

great all around phone

 

Jan 9, 2014 by armaangoel789

this is a great phone all around
my only complaint is the plastic build but this does make the phone thin and light
if you want a better built phone try htc one it has similar specks but
:
better screen
better speakers
better low light camera
worse cpu
better battery

IGNORE RECEPTION ON REVIEW I CAN NOT RATE THIS

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung raised the bar with this phone

 

Dec 30, 2013 by timwalls   updated Dec 30, 2013

Carrier: AT&T

I'm hard to please on phones,I've had several in the past to compare with from iPhone 3gs,4, 4s iphone 5 then a line of Samsung phones galaxy s2,skyrocket,galaxy s3 and note 2 and even a lg optimus g pro this s4 blows them all away.the lg was close but the speaker wasn't as good as the s4 speaker. plus you can't get a otterbox for the optimus pro.and iphones seem tiny now after using the s4.and don't know why everyone is complaining about the battery it actually last longer than the batteries in the other phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Beauty and a Beast

 

Sep 17, 2013 by walpoleauto

Carrier: AT&T

I have been testing this phone for a few weeks now on the AT&T network and I have done a comparison between the Iphone 5 and the Moto X. All I can say is this is the king of all phones. Broken down in pro's and cons

Pro:
1080 hd display that truly shows
Quad Core 1.9 Ghz processor makes apps quick
13MP camera is true to it's word
Removable battery and sd slot
Huge display
All sorts of sensors (IR, eye, etc)

Cons
Reception is not as good as the iphone or Moto X
Wifi signal is on par with the Iphone 5
Battery can be weak with Android craving random apps

Overall one of the best phones I have ever had.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Review from a curious iPhone user

 

Jul 8, 2013 by wesmangolfer

Carrier: AT&T

This is coming from a 5-year iPhone user, so here goes....
Pros...
1.Weight, very light but very powerful
2.Customization...great tools to play with and can literally make it do/show anything you want
3.Display is simply amazing and clear.
4.basically, all the same apps as App Store.
5. Reception was fantastic and slightly better than my iPhone 4S.
6.camera...also fantastic and very easy to use with multiple modes.

Cons
1.size, its actually too big. I have big hands, but even I can't run it with one hand.
2.messaging...can't believe how poor the messaging service is, very shocked at how limited the native messaging app is and that you have to go get 3rd party apps to do simple group messages.
3.customization...yes it's a pro, but also a con..it's overwhelming and is somewhat hard to figure out.
4.apps are a bit different and in my opinion, not as well displayed or functional.
5. Difficulty in setup out of the box...it was actually hard to get emails/messaging to work. (Blackberry is still king here). Messaging is hard to get working for anything going to/coming from an iPhone user...beware.

In short summary, if you like to tinker, by all means get it. If you like big, clear and eye catching...get it. It's basically a jail broken, bigger iPhone that is 99.9% customizable.
Having come from apple for the past 5 years, I can appreciate how sophisticated the Galaxy S4 is, but for me, its too much and unfortunately, I'm set in my ways and am going back to my iPhone.
I find that emails and messaging are too important for me to change and I think that the galaxy is not as receptive to these functions.

In all, great device, if it was 5 years ago, I would be all in, but I don't find customization as cool or useful as I thought it would be.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Finally something to truly keep my interest

 

Apr 28, 2013 by Jefestokes

I've had this device for 2 Days now and absolutely love it. My recent devices include the Samsung Galaxy SIII, IPhone 5 Samsung Galaxy Note 2, Samsung Galaxy Nexus, Rezound, Bionic, Droid X2 and Droid X (on VZW), EVO, EVO 3D and Phonton (Sprint). I carry an iPhone 5 for work. The S4 is my personal device 


Here's my breakdown:



PROS; 
-Screen in crisp and a pleasure to look at. Colors are true and text is amazingly clear. 
-Camera takes amazing photos and works like it should, smooth and worry free. 
-Calls are clear and loud, no echoes or static. 
-Data is crazy fast, processor works great and device maintains nice signal. 
-UI works and interface has nice intuitive features that make it the best Android UI on the market. The features on the phone are by far the best on the market
Beats Audio are the real deal. The sound from these ear buds is nothing short of amazing. 


The battery life is astounding 



CONS; None so far for this phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
hide detailed ratings

All fluff and no substance

 

May 20, 2013 by mdbd

I'll start the summary now: this is like eating candyfloss when you have a top-grade steak available. It's a quick buzz;nothing more. I worked in e-business for the world's 4th largest cell phone provide so have taken MANY phones through their paces. My work style is substance over fluff. I was eligible for an upgrade with my personal ATT phone and rather wait for the Q10, I went with the S4. Bad move.

Pros
Big screen
Nice Colors
Lots of customizable stuff - Pretty pink text dialog bubbles, etc
Cons
1. Battery life - AWFUL. I'm not a heavy duty apps user, BUT 50% down by the end of each morning?
2. Call quality - mediocre. Callers sounded like they had their phone a foot away from their mouths or were speaking through a plastic bag.
3. Browser speed- not the fastest. I did a speed test with the newest Nokia and Blackberry Z10 and the Z10 finished first each time.
4. There's not much logic to the home page or other pages. It takes a lot longer to customize or access what you need than other phones.
5. It's BIG. Yes, great for browsing but it's impractical and unwieldy as a phone. You may as well go with a tablet as go with this. Pocket-manageable..it is not. Not a phone-callers phone.
6. Business productivity? Not business-centric and can't handle the heavy duty calendar/email/phone/docs as well as the Blackberry which, let's face it, is the business phone to compare to.
If you are full of the tweeting life with a serious addiction to checking your facebook every 3 seconds, texting the person next to you rather than talk and want serious street cred with your pals for the next 3 months (i.e. the candyfloss phone)...this may be the phone for you. If, however, you need a media multi-manager that responds quickly, handles all the business you throw at it and is that 'quality piece of steak' (rather than asking you if you want to have the disco ball app)..then this is not the phone you need. Hit the Blackberry Z10 or Q10 for that.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Plastic feel, terrible battery life and overrated

 

May 26, 2013 by ajs253

Carrier: AT&T

I got the S4, thinking it would be an awesome improvement over all the other Samsung Galaxy phones. I was very disappointed and here's why:

First for a 1080 Screen I found myself constantly fidgeting with the brightness control, and always wondering why I have to readjust the screen. Second I don't care what anyone writes, the battery life on this and my Note are terrible. Piss poor terrible. Come on, I run out less than three hours and I do all my heavy lifting on my other phone (I carry two). I was told that because I use push exchange email it drains the battery quicker. So why doesn't my other phone do the same and the screen is much brighter on the other phone.

The camera is mediocre at best, and feel like there are too many bells and whistles that really don't produce the quality picture it should be producing.

Finally the stock keyboard is ridiculous, the predictions are usually wrong, the options are poor and I always have to use SwiftKey to be able to put together 5 lines without having to stop every word to correct a typo. Really guys?
Long and short of it is, this phone is not for someone who depends on their phone for business and is a heavy user. Glad the 14 days are not up!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2