Phone Scoop

printed October 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4041&r=41202

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC One (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  33  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
4
Reception
4
Battery Life
3
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4
Interface Speed
5
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.75
Overall
4.36
Reception
4.05
Battery Life
4.23
Hardware Usability
4.59
Hardware Quality
4.95
Display
4.64
Interface Speed
4.73
Audio Volume
4.64
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Innovative Design Perfection

 

May 19, 2013 by PatriotGyrl

Carrier: AT&T

This phone surpasses the competition in all areas, from design to capabilities, you won't find better in a single device.

I expected an adjustment period for the new technology that is present on the device such as Blinkfeed, and Zoe; but what I found was an easy transition to full immersion.

The entire Sense UI has an entirely different feel than previous versions, yet somehow maintains a sense of familiarity.

HTC made a bold move by deleting one of the standard 3 buttons found on all other Android devices. After a day with the phone, it is second nature to use the 2 button layout.

I wasn't sure I would use Blinkfeed, and now, I can't see how I lived with out it. I love that I am immediately updated on all of my news and social feeds just by hitting the power button. I am anxious to see how HTC builds on this feature. I would love to be able to customize this feed further.

Call quality on the ONE is outstanding, even in noisy settings.

The screen of this phone is so crisp and vivid, this is the one feature that is immediately noticeable when you turn it on.

I love watching videos on it, with the front facing dual surround speakers with BoomSound technology, the experience is fully engaging and bold.

The pictures taken with the 4mp Ultrapixel camera are extremely vivid and detailed. The colors are accurate, and in low light situations, not a detail is missed.

The battery has performed better than my HTC OneX by about 20%. I am averaging about 7-8 hours of moderately heavy usage before getting to about 10 percent battery. I can't complain about that at all. This is a smart phone, it is doing a lot, and I do not expect the battery to last an entire day.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

HTC! You've done it!!!!

 

May 6, 2013 by psykirkland

Carrier: AT&T

Oh wow!!!! Let me start out by saying.... Finally! The HTC One is an absolute dream! There is so much to say about this magical, beautiful phone! I love the build quality and the look of the phone! Lets get to some pros/cons!

Pros:
Brilliant 1080p screen!
Perfect size 4.7 inch!
Boom Sound is absolutely amazing!
Ultra pixel camera is crazy clear and works great!
2gb ram makes this phone handle any work load!
Quad Core Krait 300 1.7GHZ, need I say more!
Blink feed is great once you set it up!
LTE is blazing fast!
32GB internal is more than enough memory!
Battery life is great, I get more than a day usage out of it!
Sense 5 is a monster! I love it!

Cons:
Can get a little warm without a case.
The back/home buttons takes a little getting used to.
Can't hold phone on shoulder and talk or the other person. cant hear you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Killer looking, sounding phone

 

Apr 26, 2013 by kr4pt0n1t3

I walked into T-Mobile at 10:04 am on the first day they have the phone in-store (yes the one closest to me DID get the phone), and I was the third person there, all of us getting the HTC One. Another person walked in moments later, trading "up" from an iPhone 5 on AT&T.

I had the HTC Sensation when it came out 2 years ago, and a year ago upgraded to the Galaxy Nexus that I bought off of Google Play.

This device is sleek, feels incredibly solid, and has the BEST sound I have had in a smart phone.

Pros:

+Solid build
+HTC setup was VERY easy, broght ver most of my pictures, contacts, etc.
+Fast browsing of web pages, apps, etc
+TV remote is easy to set up and works
+Like 5 home screens, even though one is taken up with blinkfeed.
+So far battery is not too bad - though I keep it plugged in while in the car/at my desk. Though I made it a whole day with moderate web browsing, music, etc yesterday without charging, and had 20% left on battery.
+Very responsive screen
+Blinkfeed is growing on me - set up what you think you want to see.
+Camera seems to be pretty good, but have not really put it to a tough test.

Cons:

-No earbuds in the package. Come one this is a $500+ phone, why not some decent earbuds?
-No recent apps button. HTC has you double touch the home to bring up recent apps. Kind of a hassle after pure google experience.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

HTC One its a good decision.

 

Feb 28, 2014 by txFlik

I had to reluctantly uprade my phone. I finally moved from Verizon to at&t. I was coming from a long line of HTC Phones. I had really considered the Samsung route this time as my wife was going in that direction already. Not a whole lot of salesman understand the One and its capabilities so it makes it a rather difficult decision. Alot of phones have a alot of good features. HTC to me has always been reliable & just worked. It seemed at first the reviews were either totally awesome or totally sucked. Nothing to really help the actual questions. First off the phone is made of solid aluminum. it is very healthy as far as materials. It fits good in your hand although it is seems like it is fragile. A case or cover will ease your mind with that note. The battery is above average for HTC. We HTC users know that the battery life is not so great cause we PHONE GEEKS could not have enought battery if it were hooked to a car battery. The batteery has lasted rather well. My solution for my rezound is I carried several extended batteries to just pop in and go. I often have long weekends & by the time my phone is hurting, i don't have time or access to charge. So on the HTC ONE I opted to use a Morphie Juice Pack. Battery issue solved for what ever I do. The software is solid & smooth. The only con is the Blinkfeed option. I here that a new software upgrade may be able to disable that. i don't use the blinkfeed and have just adjusted the home screen where it is not first page I see. Salesman often lack the ability to really tell the options & features. There is all kinds of hidden menus, options, and features. Small chat with customer support cleared any & all doubts I had on this move. Often we have a couple of days to decide if our new assistant will be what we really want.
If you really use your smartphone, this is it! The best phone i have ever owned to date. It is solid, reliable, smooth, & filled with ability. you will not be dissappointed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Its the ONE

 

Oct 10, 2013 by projectsaabstory

Carrier: AT&T

Had the phone for well over a month now after swapping between the iPhone 5 and GS4 and I would have to say the One is by far the most impressive of the bunch. The front facing dual speakers produce amazing sound, the Ultrapixel camera is very impressive and the phone operates very smoothly. Now with the 4.3 update I can also enjoy seeing my battery percentage. Blinkfeed although originally I thought it pointless is actually very impressive. Seeing anything that interests you right on your home screen, who wouldnt like that.

Overall this phone is amazing, the software along with the dependable hardware makes this phone a winning combonation.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Better than the 1st

 

Jul 21, 2013 by mcdell0126   updated Jul 21, 2013

Carrier: T-Mobile

In my opinion the HTC one although long awaited release has been an excellent successor to the T-Mobile's HTC One S. The design feels really good in your hands and has sleek look without a case. As far as quality goes I have not seen a better display on any phone including the GSIV. Other Pros include Beats Audio enhancements, Battery Life, durability, and the Zoe feature on the camera.

My only Con is it is almost scary to not have a case of some sort because it is very slippery in your hands. Great phone HTC!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Excellent Phone - Call me impressed

 

Jul 20, 2013 by sgoldwa

Carrier: T-Mobile

This is one excellent phone. HTC really came out swinging and this one is a home run.

PROS:
Great screen, so clear, almost 3D
Awesome sound quality, including playing music out of the speakers, speakphone, and general earpiece sound quality (blows SG3 away)
Overall refinement of Sense 5 ... Yes, it's a skin but it's a darn good one
Speedy speedy speedy
Few crashes -- seems WAY more stable than other Android phones I've had (i.e. SG3)
A real beauty to look at
With proper settings battery life is pretty darn good

CONS:
Manufacturing glitches causing gaps.. I notice one between speaker grill and Gorilla Glass .. but this is tolerable

I specifically would recommend the T-Mobile version of this phone due to its inclusion of the 1700 mhz AWS band not found on AT&Ts. I seem to have *some* sort of 4G wherever I go (either HSPA+ or LTE!)

Buy it. Period.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

HTC makes a comeback

 

May 3, 2013 by Tekneeq509

Carrier: AT&T

I bought my HTC One a few days ago and I must say I am completely happy with it. HTC did a great job in making a stellar phone that surpasses a lot of other android phones on the market today.

Pros:

- Beautiful screen and metal design body
- Dual speaker system in the front for listening to music and watching video
- great camera, quick shutter speed
-HTC sense looks way better and is more responsive
- Good battery life so far. I am able to get a day and a half out of it with moderate use.
- Good sound quality when on phone calls.

Cons:
The only con I found with the phone so far is that Linking existing contacts with facebook contacts was a little glitchy. I tried just going to my contacts and clicking "Link" and then select the same facebook contact but it did not let me link the two. I found out that if you go to edit the existing contacts name or change it, this will free you to link the contacts. Strange and time consuming.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

HTC ONE!! AWESOME PHONE!!

 

Apr 27, 2013 by twkroberts

Just traded in my iPhone 5 for the HTC ONE! I was worried at first as coming from iOS and going into Android, but no problems. The phone is awesome! From the screen to the style of the phone is fantastic!

The best sound on any phone!! The signal and the battery life are great. I have to give all five stars to HTC for making a great comeback with the HTC ONE!

I really have no cons about the phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Simply Sensational

 

Apr 23, 2013 by Akilleeze

I've had the HTC ONE for two weeks now and this phone is amazing! It is advanced technology, simplified. Live news feeds in the palm of your hand, tv remote, innovative camera with great pics, unbelievable sound and picture quality for movies, highly customizable, massive storage for an affordable price and most of all the battery life is superb. I've been a loyal iphone user over the last four years and I swore by that brand, but I've grown bored with it, its the same phone with a few enhancements. I wanted something bold, daring, up to date and I found it in this phone. This phone does everything that I never imagined, which is something we all look for out of technology, not to be the same great thing but to be the next great thing.

PROS: Battery life, camera, screen size, display, sound, efficiency, design.

CONS: none

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2