Phone Scoop

printed August 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=400&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-5500 / VM-4500

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.92
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 456...11

BEST so far

 

Jan 24, 2004 by tommyz

Well to sum this phone up I have to use the word "IMPRESSIVE"
The features are to numerous to mention, the quality is very good to excellent.
the picture are as good as a cell-phone can produce and even a tad better since the settings are adjustable.
The camcorder is nice, once again, remember it's a cell-phone.
The layout is great, many BELLS & WHISTLES and basically no Cons that are worth mentioning.
I'm really happy and am enjoying this phone .

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo 5500 aka VM4500 The Complete Package!

 

Jan 5, 2004 by SL4

This phone has Ready Link, MO-SMS, SMS anti-theft feature, area code feature, call screening, 1.4 kb download memory, camera/camcorder, 2.1 and 1 inch TFT LCD screens, better UI than previous Sanyos, dam this is a long list of the good stuff. The only bad thing I can say is the camera needs a firmware update to help the camera adjust the auto brightness and white balance better. Still this phone is better then other SPCS phones including the soon to be released toshiba VM4050, and at $379 is better then the A600 for the same price. So try one today or better yet BUY IT and let us READY LINK!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


The Best non-PDA Phone EVER

 

Nov 26, 2003 by ray_rayray123

Great Phone. Just upgraded from the 8100, to this phone and WOW. This phone does everything from video-clips, pictures, two-way radio, and much more... the reception is even BETTER than my 8100. Ringtones are awsome and the memory is alot larger. Speakerphone is really clear and the Readylink is awsome. [...] I think it was money well spent.

Ed. note: removed price

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Okay phone

 

Apr 15, 2004 by cooler7

MY OPINONS
Pros:
-blue color of case hides scratches, and is unique if you are bored of silver.
-available in silver or blue.
-excellent reception most of time.
-color led lights, it's party time!
-external lcd screen, now I can see pictures i associate my callers with.
-32 chord midi, great for ringers, so loud.
-plays qcp voice files, which sound like 30kbs mp3 files.
-speaker phone, works great at lower volume for some calls, otherwise can be loud.(Does the speakerphone need to be broken in?)
-push to talk, if you use it.
-camera to take pics of things
-video camera is kinda fun.
-calculator app for calculating 15% tips at resturants.
-big screen
-has a flash which is good up to about 2 feet away from object.

Cons:
-poor resolution for big screen
-Battery life does not last enough for 3hrs of solitare or black jack.
-costs about 400 bucks, maybe less if you qualify for rebates or are a new customer.
-wap internet slow, annoying to navigate. and often gets errors.
-costs about 400 bucks
-does not play mp3s

Conclusions: Overall this phone is great, but it is costly. I would't buy this phone to show off though, nothing speacial about this phone that other phones can't do for a lesser price. I just thought it looked better than the toshiba 4050.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo 5500

 

Dec 3, 2003 by wldthng842

This is one of the best phones i have used in my life.

The only con is in Sprint's ready-link. The phone has to shut off and turn on ready link before and after any data transfers. This takes only a few seconds, but is slightly annoying.

The camera, video recorder, and reception (Sprint, Kansas City) are amazing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


d--n

 

Nov 27, 2003 by pakirebel19

u guys cant even imagine how good this phone is i traded my samsung a600 phone with this one and oh my god this phone has everything i need and the reception on this phone is like a ROCK. I am probably going to have this phone for a while. I dont think of any cons of this phone because there are NONE!!. I was waiting for this phone forever!!! im glad i have it now. and the price 379.99 is perfect because samsung a600 is 350 so its a good deal.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


phone cool for sprint

 

Jan 21, 2004 by sharps

i have been a nextel subscriber for a long time and recently decided to switch to sprint. overall i really like this phone. it is much more fun than my nextel phone which is primarily designed for buisness. the nextel phone however is much better quality. the case the buttons and the screen on the nextel are much stronger. the reception and call quality are also better with nextel. despite all that i really like the scp 5500 and i dont yet regret switching over to sprint. the camera the games and everything else is really cool. i have yet to try my ready link, i hope it works as good as nextel. if you are a sprint customer and want a cool and fun phone that is easy to use. i recomend this phone. i havent found any cons yet besides the apparent lack of toughness. i am probably just paranoid because i payed too much for it and dont have insurance.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good But Not Best.

 

Jan 18, 2004 by SATANSPERM

I have had this phone for almost a month. It cost me a little over $400.00. I thought I would get it since I kept my crappy Samsung N400 for an entire year. I thought I'd spend a little $$ on myself seeing that my birthday was not too far off also.

The phone has really good reception. The speaker phone is clear as can be. It is blatantly a better phone than any Samsung in every way.
I love how the camera and video recorder takes up the entire screen. I have never had a dropped call since. I still get no reception in Wall Mart when everyone else is walking around on his or her Nokia talking away. I concluded that they are not really on calls but just pretending. That how I find solitude.

One dislike is that the phone feels like it could brake easily. I feel like I'm carrying an egg. I am planning to buy a leather case for it, which should help with my mental state as well as the security of the phone. The menu could be a bit better.
I saw on the Samsung 1000 that there is a rainbow display when the phone is charging. This phone does not let me know when my phone is fully charged or if it is even charging. Obviously some essentials were left out!
I accidentally assigned the left key to settings. As of today, I'm yet to find a way to reset it to something else.

All in all, I'm happy with my new phone and the envy of all my 8100 friends.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo top of the line

 

Jan 12, 2004 by chanway

Pro:
1) speaker loud & clear, you don't need to hold it to talk during driving, definitely hand free, great feature.
2) Best reception, side by side comparing to Samsung 1000, full bars vs half bars.
3) LED indicators, cool!
4) Much lighter weight, compare to Samsung 1000, seems you don't feel it in your pocket. When you hold it, you feel the phone solid and fit with your hand.
5) Package come with tiny little travel charger, among smallest in the market.
6) I returned free Samsung 1000. Paid $150 for this with 2yrs contract, it worth.
7) Video recording, amazing funs with it.

Con:
1) Sub LCD not bright enough, not easy to see sometimes especially under dim light.
2) Dark blue color phone, if Sanyo makes it light blue should be more eye catching.

Anyway, it is a great phone I ever have. Even I don't use the push to talk feature, I still recommend people to buy this phone.
You never go wrong with this.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bow before the SANYO 5500!

 

Dec 10, 2003 by prpapi81

This is the baddest phone to date! BAD definitely meaning good. I moved from a smashed 5300 to a A600 (I really missed my 5300) and I regret the whole 3 weeks I had the Samsung A600. This Sanyo will easily bench-press any Sprint phone that challenges it in terms of Signal (Las Vegas, NV & San Francisco Bay Area), quality of construction, speaker-phone, display...etc. This list can keep going. Trust me. I would easily pay up to $499.99 for this unit w/o rebates! It's rare this quality of a phone comes around. And this is your chance to go buy it! STOP reading this right now, and go get it! Why are you still reading this?? Hurry up!....Ok enough of that...the CONS: Yes i love the phone, but I do have one. No Alarm clock feature? Other than that it still gets a perfect score from me! You won't be disappointed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 456...11

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2