We're giving away 10 HTC One (M8) harman/kardon edition phones for Sprint! Enter now!
Phone Scoop

printed October 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=400&r=16662

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-5500 / VM-4500

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.92
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1234 5 678...11

Omg

 

Nov 26, 2003 by JAY227

U dont even understand how serious this phone is I can say I will probably have this phone for a while I have had over 20 phones ovr a 3 yr period cause everytime a better one comes out I get it but this one is greatttttt!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


5500 vs 5300

 

Dec 9, 2003 by Hitman

I purchased the 5500 about two weeks ago and I think it is a very nice phone. I also have the 5300 and I have compared the two phones. The 5500 is a great phone it has all the features and much more compared to the 5300. The only problem I have with the 5500 is the camera. The pictures are yellow compared to the clear picture of the 5300. There seem to be lines running on the screen. I wondered why Sanyo didn't use the same or simular camera format. Other than that problem I love it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Unbelieveably Good!!!

 

Jan 18, 2004 by Magnifico4500

This phone has superior sound. Its features,style, toys as well as practical options are unreal.
The camera is good
The camcorder is good
Color and size are a nice plus.

Outside LCD does NOT show text big enough, however can be useful for ID, when pictures are assigned to callers.

There are a few things that could be improved on BUT NOTHING WORTH MENTIONING!

Sanyo did a nice job in providing a QUALITY product WITH VALUE.

This phone is without a doubt superior.

One last thought, If you are buying this phone strictly for the RL feature keep in mind that Sprint does not have this service down pat yet. Yes it works but is not the same as Nextel. Anyway that should be a small if any kind of deterrent for most of us.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Top of the Line

 

Jan 17, 2004 by byhere

I think this is the best phone on the market.The price might seem alittle high, but look at what you are getting. The speaker phone is great,vision is alot faster too, and the camera is quick and easy to use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I like it, but I don't....But I do?

 

Jun 2, 2006 by ou2mame

I've had this phone for a long time, so I guess that means that I like it, right? Well, not quite. I do love Sprint's service, and I do love Sanyo products. But, this phone was very cheaply designed and has been fatally flawed since its release. Of course, back when it first came out, there was a huge problem with the phone resetting and not being able to make calls, and after almost a year Sanyo decided that it was imperative that they fix it. They tried with the software, but that almost certainly failed. Hardware replacements seemed to be the norm at the stores. Since that was resolved, hinges started breaking rapidly.

I myself have replaced the hinge twice, once by Sprint, and once myself. Now my third is going. Two times the phone was dropped and the hinge began to break, and once it broke on its own. Recently, I kneeled on the phone and cracked the LCD, and luckily one of my friends had a spare I could borrow, so I swapped the LCD. In other words, this phone's been through a lot, and its still kicking. I actually dropped it outside of my truck today in the rain, and didn't find it for a half hour. It was literally soaked, but still ringing and lighting up so it was easily findable. In other words, its not a sturdy phone for people who work construction or something, but for the average person, they may have to put up with the hinges breaking every once in a while. Its a $20 fix from Sprint, or you can do it yourself if you can find the parts on ebay and a triwing screwdriver. If its under warranty, they'll fix it for free.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Horrible phone, digital roaming, missed calls, no signal

 

Jun 1, 2006 by nvjusme

I got this phone over 2 years ago and have had some major problems probably for about a year or so now. I have been waiting to change phones because I was on a killer $15.00 a month plan but finally I got fed up and say GOODBYE to Sprint and joined the NETWORK...VERIZON!!!!

This phone had the following problems for me:
--someone would call and the phone would not ring or vibrate and all I would get is the voice mail notice
--digital roaming all the time....when I tried to call someone, the phone would search for a signal and then not find one and then go into digital roaming, so I would have to pay for all those digital roaming minutes when I am making calls from major cities like San Francisco or Oakland or anywhere in the Bay Area.

I think I am going to take out my fustrations on this phone...maybe burn it or take a hammer to it.

:-)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love It Love It LOVE IT!!!!!

 

May 21, 2006 by AshertheDarkKnight

This is by far the best phone i have ever had. and i have had a lot. my boss gave it to me because he traded up to the samsung A920. The only thing it really lacks is that it is not bluetooth compatible. But i got a Bluetooth adapter and it works just a well because the button on the bluetooth device works just like the turbo button on the phone. I love it and no one can change my mind. I give it a 4.5 out of 5 only because of the non bluetooth thing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo is a tooper phone

 

Sep 2, 2005 by Talenus

I have been a Sprint rep for awhile now, and I have seen phones come and go. The one phone i have to rely on (with the exception of the 8200) is Sanyo.

My 5500 preforms very well in most respects.

Pro's;
1.Excellent reception..the best I've seen.
2.Easy to navigate menus
3.Durable...I've dropped it..A LOT
4.Love the speakerphone on it..even though its not Full-Duplex
5. its just awesome!

Con's
Only two..and I have to be fair..the Camera and the video camera are a little fuzzie..but I forgive Sanyo..the quality is understandable given the time frame it was released.

And..yes...sadly..the OEM battery does fall short of expectation. However, the extended batter I bought more than makes up for any short-coming of the original.

All and all...this is a total homerun for sanyo.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I don't get you people or maybe is it just that i have the newer version

 

May 16, 2005 by 4155779312

Many people are really giving this phone a bad rating but most of them are from 1 year ago. I got my phone on March 8th 2005 and i think it is great! It has cool features and an LED light. The only bad thing about this phone is that the videos that you make are a bit fuzzy. But overall a great.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Problems Galore

 

Apr 20, 2005 by Sprinty

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1234 5 678...11

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1