Phone Scoop

printed November 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=40

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-6000

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  2  

Average Ratings

3.4
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

the sanyo 6000

 

Apr 28, 2003 by Chris Rathbun

I've had my Sanyo 6000 for quite some time and don't want to get ride of it. It work in places most other phone do not. I love the features such as the call screen and the voice memo. My next phone will be a Sanyo.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Small phones

 

Jun 8, 2002 by Victor Chin

This phone came directly from Japan as a PHS phone. PHS is exclusive in Japan and is a huge success. The reason for the phone to be so small is because the designer is Japanese and Asians have smaller hands. I personally own the phone and love it because the navigation keys can all be controlled by your thumb when surfing the web unlike others phones. The battery life could be better but considering the same phone in Japan running on the PHS system would have a talk time about 3 to 4 hours and standby time of 2 weeks. I have a PHS phone. The interface will get some learning if you are used to Nokia or other brand. Love the design and 2 thumbs up for the Magnesium Alloy Front Plate due to its thinness. Aesthetically pleasing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


SCP-6000 makes most other phones look obsolete

 

Jul 20, 2002 by Dave Moore

Every time I compare this phone to friends phones I am amazed at how advanced this phone really is. I am very impressed at the graphics and the resolution of the screen, the ringtones, the menu system and of course the size. I cant remember anything that I have owned that has gotten this many comments from total strangers. Most people are shocked by the size. Sometimes when I use it I will hear people around me say "Oh my god...look at that guys phone!" This is my sixth phone. My last phone was a Nokia and it was a piece of junk. The phone would turn off by itself in the middle of calls the screen died and the faceplate squeeked when you pushed the buttons. My Sanyo is light years more advanced than that. The downside to such small size is battery life.... its less than what Sanyo states. The good points are too numerous too list: Great reception...much better than my Nokia, ability to create folders for messages, you can change the font size for browsing the web and messages....great feature, vibrating ringer, you can store up to 6 - 18 second voice memos and a really cool feature called "screen call" that lets you create your voicemail greeting that is stored digitally on the phone. You can decide if you want to answer an incoming call with this feature by selecting the meny button and then selecting "screen call".... the phone picks up and mutes the mouthpiece. You then hear the digital message that you recorded on the phone play and you can hear the caller leave a message. If you want to answer the phone you can by pressing talk, or just let the phone save the message digitally. Pretty cool.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I miss you, SCP 6000!

 

Jun 26, 2010 by lars0361

It was so beautiful, stick-thin with an actual metal face. Nice call quality too!

But the times changed. Now it is expected that you should not only be able to receive but also send text messages. And now, a battery should not die after only 2 years and cost more than a new phone to replace.

I rated it at 3.0, but it was a 5.0 back 10 years ago, and 0.5 today.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awsome Phone!!!!!

 

Apr 24, 2008 by jrrab80

I just had to go back and review this phone! This was my favorite cell phone I've ever owned with the Audiovox cdm-9900 in a very close second. Why can't they make a phone like this nowadays? Do we not have the technology anymore? The only bad thing about this phone though is that it is only offered on Sprint and I have nothing good to say about sprint these days.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pretty but Dumb

 

May 24, 2005 by jaykayess

I owned this phone for about two years, and eventually came to hate it. It's a really impressive phone, and it held up well, but it's difficult to use.

PROS:
Good sound quality
Good reception
Cool orange backlight
Thin but very durable: after two years of heavy use, the phone still worked with a cracked screen and missing antenna(!)

CONS:
Even in keyguard mode, you can still push specific buttons. This meant that I'd take it out of my pocket to check the time, only to see "99999" or "#####"

Slow response time when any key is pressed

Backlight can't be lit when in keyguard mode (again, makes it a pain to check the clock at night.)

The clock isn't visible when out-of-range (like when on the subway)

Default number for every phonebook entry is "home," and can't be changed

The antenna has a tendancy to come loose, and requires a special tool (NOT included) to tighten.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SANYO 6000

 

Jul 21, 2002 by JSPPTY

EXCELLENT PHONE ... EASY TO ACCESS MENUS. THE ONLY BAD POINTS I HAVE AGAINST THIS PHONE ARE:

1. QUICK ACCESS MENU BUTTONS SHOULD BE MADE TO BE RE-PROGRAMED TO SATISFY USER'S PREFERENCE.

2. HEIGHT OF THE PHONE IS SOME WHAT A PAIN WHEN YOU CARRY THIS PHONE ON A BELT CLIP.

BUT OTHER THAN THESE MINOR CON'S, I LOVE THIS PHONE AND WOULD DEFINETLY BUY IT AGAIN.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A 5 for beauty, a -4 for ergonomics overall a 1

 

Apr 8, 2002 by David Reply

A little preamble to the Sanyo SCP-6000 review, I have been trying to replace my Denso TouchPoint DualBand because I have run out of slots for phone numbers and have been actively looking for quite a while. With the cooperation of SprintPCS I have had about a dozen phones sent to me and eleven of them have been shipped back. Well, the twelfth is going back this week, here is the review.

A beautifully thin, light stylish phone that is a disaster in ergonomics, the Sanyo SCP-6000 has the worst user interface I have ever used, the engineer who designed this phone must have made a commission on every button they put on this phone! Six buttons and a rocker/mouse button is WAY too many controls, this is a phone NOT a jet fighter! The only item this phone has that the Denso doesn't is voice dial, voice memo, and graphics, nothing I would use, nothing I would miss when the phone goes back. A stainless steel beauty, that is sadly lacking in manners.

-David Reply

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love the size

 

Jan 2, 2002 by Chaz Collett

I've only owned this phone for a few hours but WOW I love it, great sound cool features. It seems to perform better then the Samsung 8500 it replaces. The only downside so far is extra software to buy to use the custom features, i.e. ringtones/images and the lack of an alarm.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


snapsync,multi media master software for sanyo

 

Jun 19, 2002 by dre ste

i have this phone and now i have downloaded ALL the software here www.2bizzare.com/sanyo instead of paying $50 for it i think its a great phone ( but software should come with it )

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1