Phone Scoop

printed December 18, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=397&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-A650

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.13
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 45678

Just the little things

 

Apr 2, 2005 by detailoring

I've had this phone for about 7 months, and it seems to hold up fairly well, despite all the abuse it deals with in being dropped, falling off the roof of my car, etc.

I do have a complaint about its reception... or the lack thereof. Talking to other services wasn't a problem, but if I was talking to other Verizon customers, the phone would cut out, I'd get disconnected, the reception wasn't that great. It wasn't the service, because if I used someone else's Verizon phone from the same spot talking to the same number, it was okay.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Yey!

 

Jul 22, 2004 by jegdez

I love my new phone! I just switched from T-mobile. I had nothing but problems with their phones. The last phone that i did have with them was the 6610....anywho...

The only think that i do not like about it is that it does not have the external caller id on it. But other than that i love it!

I love the fact that it is a tri-mode phone, and i hate the idea of Verizon going to an all digital network. I was almost going to buy the LG vx-6000, but then i found out that it was all digital, and that is the reason that i went to Verizon so that i can have more coverage with my phone. Anywho....i love it! yey!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Samsung a650

 

Jul 18, 2004 by petez85

I bought Samsung a650 three weeks ago and I must admit I am satisfied with it.

It is true that you cannot see anything while you are outside and sun is bright, but that's the problem with all color-screen phones. Battery life is OK, however I paid little bit extra and got an extended battery, worry free...

This phone will fit all those who seek a simple, decent, slim and reliable cell phone without any extras.

Overall, this is a decent phone and I'd recommend it to you. Take care!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


EXCELLENT CHOICE

 

Jul 7, 2004 by tmlk

Have had this phone for a week and love it.
Outstanding tri-mode reception in a rural area
with excellent, crisp screen. Voice quality in sending and receiving good. Overall, highly recommended

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


650....nice

 

Jun 28, 2004 by agent1975

this a very solid reliable digital handset with tri-mode capablites. the audio is clear on both ends . except when i talk with someone with a lg(damn echo effect lg problem). I live in northwets ohio and I don't believe in the all digital crap that vzw is pushing . you need tri mode wher i live and this phone gets 3 to 4 bars in the house and about to in a major shopping center. odd though my v120e has 4 bars in the mall hmmmmm

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Owned 5

 

Dec 28, 2009 by narn3049

Very durable phones, let me explain what been going with them

1. I signed onto this phone after having the Kyocera Phantom for nearly 3 years before that, the battery started crapping out on me with the kyocera and it was time for an upgade.

This phone lasted me just 8 months. The phone hardly got service because of the antennae going bad, the backlight did never go out set for 7 secs but i could see it lit up when it was closed through the crack on the phone like u can see the buttons. It was like it never thought it was closed or something. So insurance came through and gave me a new phone.

2. This phone was dropped around so much that the hinge broke and the phone had to pressed and held to get it to work. Verizon again replaced because I had insurance.

3. This phone lasted a good time until it was gotten wet. Inner screen went out on me and the phone had issues dialing like i heard it beep the right numbers and i saw that i dialed them right but i saw i would get the wrong person. i tried taking it apart but instead the little screwdrvier scraped it bad and so i decided to get another one.

4. lasted 4 months tossed it in an argument phone smashed against a wall and bent the bottom never did turn back on again and i upgraded to the a670

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid phone, good battery, but hot and obtuse for voice dialing

 

Dec 1, 2007 by xmenorph

As others have said, this one is not fancy, but mostly gets the job done, and well.

Pros:
Durable: Dropped on asphalt and concrete innumerable times. Never broke.
Signal: Worked serviceably in the hills of Pleasant Hill CA, then worked perfectly - suspect Verizon built a new tower nearby. Extensible antenna seems to help if signal is weak.
Battery: Have had for 3y and charge every 1-2 days. Kept on all the time. A brand new LG225 runs out faster.

Con:
Voice dialing: Very useful feature, but the phone has a hard time understanding me, especially via a headset or when there is ambient noise, such as on a train. Also, the logic of the voice mailing system is obtuse - if you utter a peep after your desired target is identified, the phone asks, "Do you want to call?" and for just about any response ("Yes", "No", "&%^$^%$$#"), the next thing it does is start over with "Please say the name." Frustrating, at times.
Heat: Gets quite warm with extended (20min+) use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Reliable, Simple, Great

 

Nov 8, 2007 by genistas17

Pros: Great sound, good battery life, clear screen, very reliable.

Cons: Non really, just lacking in features.

This phone has had over 3 years of faithful service, and as I sit here looking at it, I wonder if I should just reactivate it rather than buy another junk phone from Verizon. This phone stacks up far superior to many of the newer phone offered by Verizon as long as you're not looking for extra features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pretty good phone

 

Apr 14, 2006 by crzy1_4life

Well well well.. The samsung A-650 was the first cell phone i have gotten other then my parents. I loved it until.. it got hot while on it, and once just cut on by itself in school, and it broke.

Pros:
nice look
small
good sound
notifications loud
battery lasts long

Cons:
no speaker phone
no external display
gets hot
needs more ringtones

If this is your first phone and you are young and you just need something to call your parents on and a couple of friends, get this but if you are a heavy user please look at something else.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


worst phone i ever used!!! period.

 

Apr 6, 2006 by compudude86

id give this thing -5 if i could!!! no signal, no nothing, it was practically a paperweight!!!! dropped calls all the time, first time i dropped it it gave me a "blue screen" didnt know phones had blue screens. anyways, i got a motorola, range everywhere the samsung didnt. DONT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 45678

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2